All times are UTC

 
 



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:42 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:15 pm
Posts: 33
Hello,

Ever since the first Live 9 betas, when changing the soundcard buffer size through "hardware setup" inside ableton always crashes the program, causing live to stop responding and losing the ASIO drivers altogether, having to restarting the program and select the proper drivers again.

My soundcard is an RME HDSPe AIO, and this behaviour never happened in live 8. Some help?

_________________
Live 9.6.2
Windows 10 HP zbook
RME Babyface Pro
http://www.soundcloud.com/camplaix


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 7:07 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:35 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Germany
i have the same problem with my Fireface 800 on Live 9. The support knows it and has no idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 1:04 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:15 pm
Posts: 33
is windows 8 related to it? it's driving me mad cause happens everytime

_________________
Live 9.6.2
Windows 10 HP zbook
RME Babyface Pro
http://www.soundcloud.com/camplaix


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:01 am 

Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:14 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Germany
Quote:
is windows 8 related to it?


I guess not. It happend on OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion with my RME Fireface UCX as well.

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/tecgen
http://www.dj-tecgen.com

Releases: BeatPort, Amazon, iTunes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:57 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 515
Hi,

Please list:
- Operating system
- Driver version
- Audio card company

I tried reproducing this with a 10.6 macbook and a RME babyface with no luck. Same for the Presonus 1818 VSL



Best,
Mads


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:44 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:15 pm
Posts: 33
RME HDSPe AIO, driver 3.35 (latest), windows 8

_________________
Live 9.6.2
Windows 10 HP zbook
RME Babyface Pro
http://www.soundcloud.com/camplaix


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:54 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 4767
Location: France
same here, with either the built-in soundcard or EMU0202 (latest driver).
each time i change the buffer size the sound gets really nasty, i have to relaunch the application.
OSX 10.8.3

_________________
KB Live Solutions
Ableton Certified Trainer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:03 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 12:32 am
Posts: 1
Same problem here. My RME UCX worked fine until one day I came home, booted up, and crash...crash...crash...So I turn it off and load up Live 9. Basically sneak into the project which is 3/4 done, turn on my UCX, and then select it in the preferences. I've done this about 100 times...no exageration. I've gotten this way to work about 10 times. Now, I can load up Live 9 with my UCX on and it doesn't even see it. So I go in and select it...9 times out of ten...crash! So I had to basically bounce all my parts out without having audio, and load them up into another DAW which at this point I am switching to completely. This is ridiculous. All my other DAWs, (Cubase, Studio One 2, Audacity, Reaper) no problems what so ever. Its RME for F's sake...solid as a rock ALWAYS. And just FYI, all of my firmware and drivers are up to date. Which once this problem happened, I updated them and double and tripled checked they were working fine every where else, I actually think updating my AI made the problem worse. But oh well, I love Live for writing...always have and probably always will. Mixing down in Live sucks so I don't do it there anyway and as much as I"m digging Studio One 2, I think this may just put them over the top for me. Ableton...please fix this crazy bugs..Awesome DAW, but it has ruined my workflow and I have completely missed two deadlines now because of it.

Oh well..hopefully it gets fixed soon!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:47 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 515
Hi,

The only assumption I had that could lead to this crash was even buffersize in the RME settings (64 samples) and setting uneven sample size in the ableton audio settings (65 samples).
When loading template sets with AU's that did not dynamically set the buffer size I saw a crash, but not the problems described here.
I looked for this problem using the babyfac and the Fireface 400, without luck.

- Do you have AU's in your template set?
- Do you have even buffers set in the RME panel and uneven buffers in the ableton audio settings?

In all cases please send in a status report to beta@ableton.com

Best,
Mads


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:06 am 

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:31 am
Posts: 452
same problem here with a komplete audio 6 when i change the sample rate or the buffer size. it´s not possible to play a clip or my arrangement and sometimes a reboot is necessary because reopen live doesn´t change anything.

windows 8 x64
live 9.0.4
native instruments komplete audio 6 (version: 3.1.0, firmware: 1.1.0)

_________________
D16 Drumazon - Drum Rack for Push 1.0 (Max for Live)
D16 Nepheton - Drum Rack for Push 1.0 (Max for Live)
Sonic Charge Microtonic - Drum Rack for Push 1.0 (Max for Live)

Music Theory Template


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9 not playing well when changing soundcard buffer size
PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 12:56 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 515
Hi Evengy,

If I remember correct you can set both USB buffer and Audio buffer in the NI audio control panel.
Can you tell me what your settings are?

Best,
Mads


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group