Page 1 of 1

(52868237) hotswap annoyance

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:08 pm
by peeddrroo
- load a sample in Simpler
- click on the sample hotswap button
- click on any parameter (for instance "transpose")
=> it activates the hotswapping for the whole device (which was not my intent at all, i just wanted to transpose the sample)
and most importantly, if you use the arrows of your computer keyboard, you can't adjust the parameter you just clicked, you're just browsing through device presets.
that's a real workflow killer when you're going through lots of samples.

Re: (52868237) hotswap annoyance

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 12:55 pm
by [mal]
Hi Peeddrroo,

Have added a request for this. Thanks for bringing this up, and since it is a request, i will leave it open for others to share their opinion about this.

Best,
mads

Re: (52868237) hotswap annoyance

Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:44 am
by peeddrroo
thanks for taking this under your consideration.
but to me, not being able to change a parameter with the arrows as soon as i've clicked on it is not a request, it's a bug.

i just don't see the logic behind this "new feature": if i'm hotswapping a sample and want to change the volume/pitch, does that mean i want to hotswap the whole device? no, it means i want to change the volume/pitch. it should exit hotswapping straight on.

i hope this is not going to take months of decision taking to get fixed.

Re: (52868237) hotswap annoyance

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:37 pm
by garyboozy
if that's by design, it's a very odd choice. of what possible use would this be? :?
it should either stay on sample hotswap or exit out of it, rather than skip to device hotswap.

Re: (52868237) hotswap annoyance

Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 1:05 pm
by re:dream
Yup, it should be fixed.
i just don't see the logic behind this "new feature": if i'm hotswapping a sample and want to change the volume/pitch, does that mean i want to hotswap the whole device? no, it means i want to change the volume/pitch. it should exit hotswapping straight on.
Yes, it should either exit hotswapping completely
OR remain in hotswapping samples

Re: (52868237) hotswap annoyance

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:21 am
by peeddrroo
this is so irritating.
dear ableton, can you please fix that asap?

Re: (52868237) hotswap annoyance

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:46 pm
by Valiumdupeuple
+ 1