All times are UTC

 
 



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: (55466994) Playing Clips with Keybord and Recording
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:03 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:35 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Germany
- Record an Audio Clip in the session view
- pressing ctrl + M and assign the clip to the midikeyboard with a range of playable keys (i.e. C3 root, C2 low, C4 high)
- go to the arrange page and press record
- play C3, G3, G2, E3 and stop
- now play and hear

totally rubbish pitch for every clip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Playing Clips with Keybord and Recording rubbish the pitch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:32 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 515
Hi,

I could not reproduce this with Live 9.0.5 on OSX 10.8
- Do you have any remote scripts enabled?, and can you reproduce once these are deactivated?.
Ideally send us a set at beta@ableton.com to illustrate the problem.

best,
mads


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Playing Clips with Keybord and Recording rubbish the pitch
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:13 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:35 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Germany
Hi mads,

i'm on 10.6.8 and 9.0.5 64 bit.
ok the scenario let space for "doing it right"

- take a live piano instrument in the session view
- record and hold 1 bar C2 in a 1 bar clip
- freeze the clip
- move the clip to a audio track
- cmd + M and assign C2 for root and C3 for high and C1 for low
- go to the arrangeview press "back to arrangement" button, arm the audio track and than press record
- play 1 bar c2, 1 bar g2, 1 bar g1 and 1 bar d1 and press the spacebar for stop
- press the " back to arrangement" button and the stop button to scroll back to bar 1
- press the spacebar for play and you will hear, that the first note is not C2 rather than d1 (the last note you played while recording)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Playing Clips with Keybord and Recording rubbish the pitch
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:56 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:59 am
Posts: 97
Location: House atop a Tree
I can testify that this is a long-standing issue since at least 2010.
It is Live 8.4 x64 I use now and the bug is there.

I described the problem back then in detail here:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=137211

After that post I got confirmation by an Ableton employee (I forgot the name) to the effect that the behavior has been reproduced on Ableton's own computers and has been turned over to the developers as a bug to be fixed.

Please, do something about it as this bug must be considered a major MIDI showstopper.

_________________
i7-2600 PC 3.40 GHz quadcore, Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3, 8 GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD5450 1 GB, system and project SSDs, Windows 7 x64, Ableton 9 x64, Cubase Studio 5, Komplete 7, Waves Silver, RME HDSP 9632


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: (55466994) Playing Clips with Keybord and Recording
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:05 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 515
Hi,

The last repro description was the last clues we needed.
Now tracked internally as 55466994

Best,
Mads


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: (55466994) Playing Clips with Keybord and Recording
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:26 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:59 am
Posts: 97
Location: House atop a Tree
thanks, mads, for taking this bug seriously.

however, is there any chance that even for live 8 we will still get a fix, or will that be only for live 9?

this session clip midi keyrange mapping is such a beautiful feature, i'd love to work with it in live 8...

_________________
i7-2600 PC 3.40 GHz quadcore, Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3, 8 GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD5450 1 GB, system and project SSDs, Windows 7 x64, Ableton 9 x64, Cubase Studio 5, Komplete 7, Waves Silver, RME HDSP 9632


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: (55466994) Playing Clips with Keybord and Recording
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 7:24 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:59 am
Posts: 97
Location: House atop a Tree
i developed a workaround for this issue/bug:

after you have finished your recording, you must go into midi map mode, delete the midi keyrange mapping of the pertinent session clip (the clip itself can remain), save set and reload.
this helps to the extent that when you now play back the recorded arrangement, what you hear will correspond to the notes you see in the arrangement.
so, this procedure resets the faulty note shift which occured while the mapping was in place.

perhaps this is a clue for the developers as well...and please, i want this bug corrected for live 8 also.

_________________
i7-2600 PC 3.40 GHz quadcore, Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3, 8 GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD5450 1 GB, system and project SSDs, Windows 7 x64, Ableton 9 x64, Cubase Studio 5, Komplete 7, Waves Silver, RME HDSP 9632


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group