Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by lo.key » Wed Feb 27, 2013 6:31 pm

for those who havent seen it yet,

http://www.reddit.com/r/abletonpushvideos/

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by lo.key » Wed Feb 27, 2013 6:32 pm

just for shits and giggles, i whipped up a size comparison, between the maschine, the push and a 15" macbook pro. Not all that much wider than the maschine, and not as tall...

http://www.sizeasy.com/page/size_compar ... s-maschine

panten
Posts: 876
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:02 pm
Location: South of London

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by panten » Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:06 pm

JimConley wrote: ps - great video Quantize. Probably the most comprehensive start from scratch demo I've seen out there.
Agreed, but what you can't see is his 3rd hand mousing around like mad, just off camera ;) /jk

Cheers for the vid Quantize, nice to see more of these showing up on YouTube now.

Quantize
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:27 pm
Location: London

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by Quantize » Thu Feb 28, 2013 1:38 pm

JimConley wrote: ps - great video Quantize. Probably the most comprehensive start from scratch demo I've seen out there.
Thank you for the kind words.
lo.key wrote:
Agreed, but what you can't see is his 3rd hand mousing around like mad, just off camera ;)
Ha ha, I had to film it like a magician with my hands always in view....

CancerRidden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:50 am

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by CancerRidden » Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:16 pm

So I have a MacBook Pro, it only has 2 USB ports.

One USB port is for the Mouse/Keyboard, the other USB port is for the MIDI controller I currently use.

I have Push pre-ordered. Will my MIDI controller be able to plug into the push, thereby saving a USB Port?

Or will I have to just find some way to consolidate some ports/buy a USB hub?

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by lo.key » Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:34 pm

you're using an external mouse and keyboard, on a laptop? That seems a little redundant.

But in answer to your question, no, push is not a usb hub.

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by agent314 » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:16 pm

Word on the street from my buddy who works at a local audio shop says ~3 weeks after Live 9 is out is when Push drops

skatr2
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by skatr2 » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:24 pm

CancerRidden wrote:So I have a MacBook Pro, it only has 2 USB ports.

One USB port is for the Mouse/Keyboard, the other USB port is for the MIDI controller I currently use.

I have Push pre-ordered. Will my MIDI controller be able to plug into the push, thereby saving a USB Port?

Or will I have to just find some way to consolidate some ports/buy a USB hub?

Powered USB hub for those situations. theres a decent belkin 7 port hub I use. Power isn't necessary, but will give you tons of expandability.

ezelkow1
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:22 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by ezelkow1 » Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:06 pm

agent314 wrote:Word on the street from my buddy who works at a local audio shop says ~3 weeks after Live 9 is out is when Push drops
Thats what every music distributors website says as well, i.e. musiciansfriend/guitarcenter/music123/etc. Ive stopped paying attention to local shop guys, they know just as much as everyone else, the local shop jockey doesnt have some inside info that no one else has

re8
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 11:17 pm
Location: Earth>USA>CO>Denver
Contact:

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by re8 » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:12 am

skatr2 wrote:Powered USB hub for those situations. theres a decent belkin 7 port hub I use. Power isn't necessary, but will give you tons of expandability.
That is what I do as well.

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by agent314 » Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:42 pm

the local shop jockey doesnt have some inside info that no one else has
Except he's a certified trainer, and that's what Ableton told him

ash
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:31 am
Location: Port Macquarie, Australia

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by ash » Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:58 pm

0
Last edited by ash on Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
OS X 10.10.2, Live9 Suite, More Waves plugs than I can use,
Push, RME Babyface, APC-40, Akai LPK,
Novation X Stat 49 and Zero ReMote SL,
iMac 27" quad, MacBook Air,
Old guitars ('63 Strat, '68 ES-335),
Custom acoustics.

long live the small fish

StefanoMDj
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:09 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by StefanoMDj » Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:13 pm

"Have Push the 'push' option on the knob? It's very useful when you want to set a parameter back to the original value, i missed it in the Akai Apc 40, the knob should have the ability of being pushed and return the value to 'zero', like the 'gain-push-knob' on the Kontrol S4"

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by ansolas » Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:17 pm

Is it possible to open and close plugin GUIs with Push ?

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by agent314 » Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:44 pm

I sure hope so. That's one thing I have long wished the APC40 could do

Post Reply