All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 ... 34  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:30 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 360
the trouble is that you would need to set that send for the unfiltered midi up in max itself, not within m4l, because by the time a m4l midi patch sees any midi data from the controller, live has already filtered it out ;p


thats good info on how the py script works, im still trying to get my mind around the structure, where in the script is that handled?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:44 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:28 pm
Posts: 252
Perhaps I misunderstand, but I thought there were externals (such as this one) that allowed you to send/receive directly via MIDI ports in M4L hence bypassing any filtering that would typically happen on the track level.

Anyhow, Sysex.py defines the applicable message and it is employed in Push.py in _on_note_repeat_mode_changed.

_________________
http://www.nativekontrol.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:59 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 360
well bam, consider me out of the loop! That is handy.

thanks again senor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:32 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Posts: 11650
Location: Denmark
good stuff - I do have access to a Push, so for testing would python hackage be needed, or just the employment of that external (thanks for that, btw!)

_________________
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:09 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:16 am
Posts: 40
metastatik wrote:
Perhaps I misunderstand, but I thought there were externals (such as this one) that allowed you to send/receive directly via MIDI ports in M4L hence bypassing any filtering that would typically happen on the track level.

Anyhow, Sysex.py defines the applicable message and it is employed in Push.py in _on_note_repeat_mode_changed.


Wow, I was not aware of this device. Thank you so much! I made a max4live patch last night to convert the pads to CC messages, but kept running into problems because max4live could only access midi data once it has been filtered through live. If this works, it really will allow for awesome design of custom control surface scripts for Push. Going to dive in tonight!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:45 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:28 pm
Posts: 252
Just to be clear, I’ve never used the external I mentioned, I’ve just heard of it and it sounds like it does the job. It’s OS X-only though. For Windows users, a relatively simple Java-based external would suffice. There’s some discussion about that here. Note, however, I don’t find the author’s notes about SysEx messages to be true.
Machinate wrote:
so for testing would python hackage be needed, or just the employment of that external

I would think you'd just need the external. Due to the lack of a MIDI implementation chart for the controller though, it certainly helps to have the Python source on hand so that you can see how certain things are done (such as setting the AT mode).

_________________
http://www.nativekontrol.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:05 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:56 pm
Posts: 2
re8 wrote:
Matt_Quinn wrote:
My APC absolutely does this, and you have just given me one potential reason to replace the APC with a Push (assuming Push doesn't have that god awful noise). I could not effing believe it the first time I plugged it in and heard that horrible noise.
Oh wow, then I'll have to test out the Push in Guitar Center's quiet room first. Makes the Livid Base more tempting... http://lividinstruments.com/hardware_base.php



I have an APC40 and experienced the high pitch hiss, and now have just unboxed the Push and it has a different noise in the form of a hum. Can not really hear a hiss, but when in the Note mode page when all those gorgeous LEDs are lit up the thing sounds like it has some sort of ground loop hum. Turn it to Session mode page where the LEDs are not all lit up and the hum goes away. Could be my Dell laptop soundcard, but I am thinking that others will report this as well :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:24 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Posts: 11650
Location: Denmark
Stoodio wrote:
Could be my Dell laptop soundcard, but I am thinking that others will report this as well :(
I only have about 1.5 hours of testing on it, but I didn't hear a single bit of hum. This was with an external audio interface.

_________________
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:26 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Posts: 11650
Location: Denmark
metastatik wrote:
Just to be clear, I’ve never used the external I mentioned, I’ve just heard of it and it sounds like it does the job. It’s OS X-only though. For Windows users, a relatively simple Java-based external would suffice. There’s some discussion about that here. Note, however, I don’t find the author’s notes about SysEx messages to be true.
Machinate wrote:
so for testing would python hackage be needed, or just the employment of that external

I would think you'd just need the external. Due to the lack of a MIDI implementation chart for the controller though, it certainly helps to have the Python source on hand so that you can see how certain things are done (such as setting the AT mode).

Good to know. Kinda wish I'd gotten into the Python stuff earlier on.

_________________
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 3:41 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Posts: 1401
If you are experiencing a hum untangle your wires :P

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/suburbanthugsoundsystem


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:21 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:58 am
Posts: 14
nonnus wrote:
Jesse wrote:
Quote:
What is the 9th knob along the top?


Master Volume, or Cue volume if you hold shift.


- this sounds dangerous, master volume seems to be too easy to mess with accidentally, not to mention that (at least for me) cue volume is much more useful while browsing sounds, is there any possibility of reversing this behaviour? i.e. make the 9th knob act on cue volume "normally" and master volume with shift pressed, it sounds much safer and more useful


"cue volume is much more useful while browsing sounds"

Yepp, totally with you on this one.. Any news on a solution?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:49 pm 

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:02 am
Posts: 231
Location: Portland, OR
I'm having trouble finding a firm answer on this:

  • Does Push allow for zooming and scrolling of the timeline with hardware knobs on the device?
  • If so, is this an out-of-the-box feature, or something you can enable with mapping/scripts?
  • If not, is there any way to map scroll and zoom to a typical MIDI rotary control? My keyboard controller has two assignable knobs that I would gladly devote to Zoom/Scroll if it were a viable option.

_________________
My SoundCloud | My DAW Specs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:23 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:56 pm
Posts: 2
Machinate wrote:
Stoodio wrote:
Could be my Dell laptop soundcard, but I am thinking that others will report this as well :(
I only have about 1.5 hours of testing on it, but I didn't hear a single bit of hum. This was with an external audio interface.


I should have done more troubleshooting before posting. It seems that using another usb interface has made this a non issue. Back to making music :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:37 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Posts: 375
Any official (Ableton_David, Jesse) word on when and if we will get any of these features? Or if we already have them?

1. Per note pitch shift on step sequencer (in other words: switch a step over to a different drum rack cell from the step-editing menu where you can change velocity, nudge and duration)
2. Step sequencing without a drum rack
3. Turn filters on and off (reverb filter, sampler filter...)
4. Copy/paste drum rack cells


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:01 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 360
aioffermann wrote:
1. Per note pitch shift on step sequencer (in other words: switch a step over to a different drum rack cell from the step-editing menu where you can change velocity, nudge and duration)


the first one just requires adding pitch plugins to the drum cells


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 ... 34  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group