Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by lo.key » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:05 pm

why would you want to have multiple pitches on a single pad anyway?

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by aioffermann » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:09 pm

lo.key wrote:well not in a 'stepwise' manner, but using the existing clip automation recording...
Exactly.
lo.key wrote:why would you want to have multiple pitches on a single pad anyway?
For synths. Set down a sequence of bar of straight C1 16th notes and then choose a step, change the pitch, choose another step change the pitch... 303 bassline!

Stuff like that would be the main application.

Also I wouldn't call it multiple pitches on the same pad. I'd call it a request for a feature that allows for the allocation of one step to another pad.

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by lo.key » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:27 pm

but you can already do that by turning on repeat and playing the pads corresponding to the pitch you want...

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by aioffermann » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:33 pm

lo.key wrote:but you can already do that by turning on repeat and playing the pads corresponding to the pitch you want...
Sure! But that's not step sequencing.

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by lo.key » Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:00 pm

well, if you want to get hung up on the approach, i guess youre out of luck. l think you're splitting hairs.

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by aioffermann » Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:48 pm

lo.key wrote:well, if you want to get hung up on the approach, i guess youre out of luck. l think you're splitting hairs.
I don't think I'm hung up on the approach. Presently I just draw notes directly in and use mouse + arrow keys - no Push. Way faster than putting down the sequence, deleting a note, finding the next one, and remembering which step you deleted to throw it in. Remember this was a question to Ableton about when and if such a feature will be implemented :lol:

manutech
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:59 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by manutech » Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:51 pm

Sorry if this has been answered but can we mix clips in session mode in push? thanks

#1thelark
Posts: 985
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by #1thelark » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:25 pm

@Jesse or @bleton:

1. please implement scrolling of long device- or parameternames, 8digits is simply to short
Image

2. can we have polyphonic aftertouch please?

SuburbanThug
Posts: 1478
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Contact:

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by SuburbanThug » Mon Apr 15, 2013 8:12 pm

#1thelark wrote:2. can we have polyphonic aftertouch please?
Now you're talking.

humnumb
Posts: 636
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:27 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by humnumb » Mon Apr 15, 2013 8:40 pm

aioffermann wrote:
lo.key wrote:well, if you want to get hung up on the approach, i guess youre out of luck. l think you're splitting hairs.
I don't think I'm hung up on the approach. Presently I just draw notes directly in and use mouse + arrow keys - no Push. Way faster than putting down the sequence, deleting a note, finding the next one, and remembering which step you deleted to throw it in. Remember this was a question to Ableton about when and if such a feature will be implemented :lol:
Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s

Don't mind lo.key too much. He seems to be getting a bit defensive, having taken on a role of being an Ableton/Push apologist, and will lecture you about not being "prepared to do what's necessary to get the most out of your purchase", how he doesn't "understand all of you who just want it to work out of the box", and will question why you bought a "flexible and adaptive audio environment, only to use the default behavior".

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by lo.key » Mon Apr 15, 2013 8:54 pm

dude there's a difference between me telling you to stop flooding the board with irrelevant marketing materials, and me being an ableton apologist. I have repeatedly taken them to task for their poor documentation and flawed implementations. I am simply trying to provide people with practical solutions to address the current shortcomings of live. Feel free to do the same.

SuburbanThug
Posts: 1478
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Contact:

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by SuburbanThug » Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:01 pm

humnumb wrote:Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s

Don't mind lo.key too much. He seems to be getting a bit defensive, having taken on a role of being an Ableton/Push apologist, and will lecture you about not being "prepared to do what's necessary to get the most out of your purchase", how he doesn't "understand all of you who just want it to work out of the box", and will question why you bought a "flexible and adaptive audio environment, only to use the default behavior".
humnumb wrote:Hopefully Ableton is taking notes on how other existing tools have implemented zoom/scroll from the hardware, like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6z1gDGgULA&t=01m21s
humnumb wrote:Yeah, what a glaring omission of a feature commonly found on many existing tools.

For example, here's how it's done on Maschine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdE60Gr1xII&t=02m30s

You hold down ERASE + PAD (which ever pads you want to erase) will erase notes as you hold them down as the pattern plays through.
humnumb wrote:If you're wanting to browse presets of NI products like Reaktor from hardware, you may want to take a look at Maschine which has exclusive support for Komplete where all presets from all of Komplete can be browsed and loaded directly from the Maschine hardware and all the parameters are automatically mapped in a logical way (even more improved now with Komplete 9): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcWIW6Muw9U
humnumb wrote:That's a shame. You don't have to worry about doing anything like that just to play chords on Maschine's pads.
humnumb wrote:MPC users are disappointed in general by how lacking Akai pads are in comparison to what's available nowdays:
Falox wrote:I'm not really feeling how stiff and insensitive the Studio drum pads are. Is there a parameter I can change to increase the sensitivity?
Coz wrote:When I had the 2500 I thought the pad response was super sharp until I had it side by side with Maschine with the same kit loaded. As a playable instrument there was no comparison. It was easy to confidently bounce between 1/2 or a 1/3rd of full velocity, ghost notes and rolls were easy to pull off and sounded like a regular drum kit etc. At the same tempo the 2500's pad response sounded clunky.

It's probably not that important to the average hip hopper, but it's one of the few things I like about Maschine.
Coz wrote:Maschine's pads are stunning for expressive playing.
humnumb wrote:Nope, you can't open/close plugin GUIs from Push. You can with Maschine though: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSeouoCF92A&t=49s
humnumb wrote:Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s
humnumb wrote:No doubt. When it comes to sampling workflow, Maschine is a no-brainer. Especially if you've been on hardware like MPCs before, you know just how super fast and fun, hands-on sample chopping workflow can be:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySW7JthAt3E
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZFY5oRrY8A&t=01m08s
humnumb wrote:Here's a little something to help inspire a solution for implementing zoom/scroll on the Push: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6z1gDGgULA&t=01m21s
humnumb wrote:Here are some examples of what Live cannot do compared equivalent features in Maschine, especially in the context of Push:

- sample into pads from the hardware
- duplicate drum rack pads from the hardware
- access drum rack's sends and mixer from Push
- browse and load audio samples or pattern clips from the hardware
- slice samples from the hardware
- automapping of plugins (Push requires setup beforehand)
- the ability to be mouseless (and even computer screen-less) for pretty much every control of its software
- preview/pre-hear samples in browser from the hardware before loading them
- show things like waveforms on its display since Push's display is only text-based, not graphical.
- add/remove slices from the hardware
- step sequence regular midi tracks from the hardware without workarounds
- edit start/end points for unwarped audio clips
- make multiple selection of notes from the hardware
- step automation (aka step parameter locks/p-locks)
- open/close plugin GUI from the hardware
- open a project or even start a new project from the hardware
- make custom names to show up in the hardware's displays when used as a midi controller
- Push is less useful as a general MIDI controller since it has no editor, you can't change notes, and you can't have MIDI mapping templates
- and obviously, Push doesn't have the Komplete integration like Maschine where all presets can be browsed and loaded from the hardware.
...etc.
These quotes are just from the past six days. If this isn't a salesman, it's someone in true need of psychiatric evaluation.

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by agent314 » Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:48 pm

loooool owned.

blinkeye
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 7:28 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by blinkeye » Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:16 pm

SuburbanThug wrote:
humnumb wrote:Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s

Don't mind lo.key too much. He seems to be getting a bit defensive, having taken on a role of being an Ableton/Push apologist, and will lecture you about not being "prepared to do what's necessary to get the most out of your purchase", how he doesn't "understand all of you who just want it to work out of the box", and will question why you bought a "flexible and adaptive audio environment, only to use the default behavior".
humnumb wrote:Hopefully Ableton is taking notes on how other existing tools have implemented zoom/scroll from the hardware, like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6z1gDGgULA&t=01m21s
humnumb wrote:Yeah, what a glaring omission of a feature commonly found on many existing tools.

For example, here's how it's done on Maschine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdE60Gr1xII&t=02m30s

You hold down ERASE + PAD (which ever pads you want to erase) will erase notes as you hold them down as the pattern plays through.
humnumb wrote:If you're wanting to browse presets of NI products like Reaktor from hardware, you may want to take a look at Maschine which has exclusive support for Komplete where all presets from all of Komplete can be browsed and loaded directly from the Maschine hardware and all the parameters are automatically mapped in a logical way (even more improved now with Komplete 9): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcWIW6Muw9U
humnumb wrote:That's a shame. You don't have to worry about doing anything like that just to play chords on Maschine's pads.
humnumb wrote:MPC users are disappointed in general by how lacking Akai pads are in comparison to what's available nowdays:
Falox wrote:I'm not really feeling how stiff and insensitive the Studio drum pads are. Is there a parameter I can change to increase the sensitivity?
Coz wrote:When I had the 2500 I thought the pad response was super sharp until I had it side by side with Maschine with the same kit loaded. As a playable instrument there was no comparison. It was easy to confidently bounce between 1/2 or a 1/3rd of full velocity, ghost notes and rolls were easy to pull off and sounded like a regular drum kit etc. At the same tempo the 2500's pad response sounded clunky.

It's probably not that important to the average hip hopper, but it's one of the few things I like about Maschine.
Coz wrote:Maschine's pads are stunning for expressive playing.
humnumb wrote:Nope, you can't open/close plugin GUIs from Push. You can with Maschine though: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSeouoCF92A&t=49s
humnumb wrote:Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s
humnumb wrote:No doubt. When it comes to sampling workflow, Maschine is a no-brainer. Especially if you've been on hardware like MPCs before, you know just how super fast and fun, hands-on sample chopping workflow can be:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySW7JthAt3E
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZFY5oRrY8A&t=01m08s
humnumb wrote:Here's a little something to help inspire a solution for implementing zoom/scroll on the Push: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6z1gDGgULA&t=01m21s
humnumb wrote:Here are some examples of what Live cannot do compared equivalent features in Maschine, especially in the context of Push:

- sample into pads from the hardware
- duplicate drum rack pads from the hardware
- access drum rack's sends and mixer from Push
- browse and load audio samples or pattern clips from the hardware
- slice samples from the hardware
- automapping of plugins (Push requires setup beforehand)
- the ability to be mouseless (and even computer screen-less) for pretty much every control of its software
- preview/pre-hear samples in browser from the hardware before loading them
- show things like waveforms on its display since Push's display is only text-based, not graphical.
- add/remove slices from the hardware
- step sequence regular midi tracks from the hardware without workarounds
- edit start/end points for unwarped audio clips
- make multiple selection of notes from the hardware
- step automation (aka step parameter locks/p-locks)
- open/close plugin GUI from the hardware
- open a project or even start a new project from the hardware
- make custom names to show up in the hardware's displays when used as a midi controller
- Push is less useful as a general MIDI controller since it has no editor, you can't change notes, and you can't have MIDI mapping templates
- and obviously, Push doesn't have the Komplete integration like Maschine where all presets can be browsed and loaded from the hardware.
...etc.
Ironically, humnumb has done more than most people here in providing vital information that would help improve Push by pointing out some of its glaring omissions and shortcomings..

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Post by lo.key » Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:28 pm

again, its not really sufficient to keep posting a list of missing features, without a solution in hand.

Post Reply