All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:01 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Posts: 1401
humnumb wrote:
Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s

Don't mind lo.key too much. He seems to be getting a bit defensive, having taken on a role of being an Ableton/Push apologist, and will lecture you about not being "prepared to do what's necessary to get the most out of your purchase", how he doesn't "understand all of you who just want it to work out of the box", and will question why you bought a "flexible and adaptive audio environment, only to use the default behavior".

humnumb wrote:
Hopefully Ableton is taking notes on how other existing tools have implemented zoom/scroll from the hardware, like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6z1gDGgULA&t=01m21s

humnumb wrote:
Yeah, what a glaring omission of a feature commonly found on many existing tools.

For example, here's how it's done on Maschine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdE60Gr1xII&t=02m30s

You hold down ERASE + PAD (which ever pads you want to erase) will erase notes as you hold them down as the pattern plays through.

humnumb wrote:
If you're wanting to browse presets of NI products like Reaktor from hardware, you may want to take a look at Maschine which has exclusive support for Komplete where all presets from all of Komplete can be browsed and loaded directly from the Maschine hardware and all the parameters are automatically mapped in a logical way (even more improved now with Komplete 9): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcWIW6Muw9U

humnumb wrote:
That's a shame. You don't have to worry about doing anything like that just to play chords on Maschine's pads.

humnumb wrote:
MPC users are disappointed in general by how lacking Akai pads are in comparison to what's available nowdays:
Falox wrote:
I'm not really feeling how stiff and insensitive the Studio drum pads are. Is there a parameter I can change to increase the sensitivity?
Coz wrote:
When I had the 2500 I thought the pad response was super sharp until I had it side by side with Maschine with the same kit loaded. As a playable instrument there was no comparison. It was easy to confidently bounce between 1/2 or a 1/3rd of full velocity, ghost notes and rolls were easy to pull off and sounded like a regular drum kit etc. At the same tempo the 2500's pad response sounded clunky.

It's probably not that important to the average hip hopper, but it's one of the few things I like about Maschine.
Coz wrote:
Maschine's pads are stunning for expressive playing.

humnumb wrote:
Nope, you can't open/close plugin GUIs from Push. You can with Maschine though: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSeouoCF92A&t=49s


humnumb wrote:
Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s

humnumb wrote:
No doubt. When it comes to sampling workflow, Maschine is a no-brainer. Especially if you've been on hardware like MPCs before, you know just how super fast and fun, hands-on sample chopping workflow can be:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySW7JthAt3E
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZFY5oRrY8A&t=01m08s


humnumb wrote:
Here's a little something to help inspire a solution for implementing zoom/scroll on the Push: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6z1gDGgULA&t=01m21s

humnumb wrote:
Here are some examples of what Live cannot do compared equivalent features in Maschine, especially in the context of Push:

- sample into pads from the hardware
- duplicate drum rack pads from the hardware
- access drum rack's sends and mixer from Push
- browse and load audio samples or pattern clips from the hardware
- slice samples from the hardware
- automapping of plugins (Push requires setup beforehand)
- the ability to be mouseless (and even computer screen-less) for pretty much every control of its software
- preview/pre-hear samples in browser from the hardware before loading them
- show things like waveforms on its display since Push's display is only text-based, not graphical.
- add/remove slices from the hardware
- step sequence regular midi tracks from the hardware without workarounds
- edit start/end points for unwarped audio clips
- make multiple selection of notes from the hardware
- step automation (aka step parameter locks/p-locks)
- open/close plugin GUI from the hardware
- open a project or even start a new project from the hardware
- make custom names to show up in the hardware's displays when used as a midi controller
- Push is less useful as a general MIDI controller since it has no editor, you can't change notes, and you can't have MIDI mapping templates
- and obviously, Push doesn't have the Komplete integration like Maschine where all presets can be browsed and loaded from the hardware.
...etc.


These quotes are just from the past six days. If this isn't a salesman, it's someone in true need of psychiatric evaluation.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/suburbanthugsoundsystem


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:48 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am
Posts: 1426
loooool owned.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:16 pm 

Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 7:28 pm
Posts: 164
SuburbanThug wrote:
humnumb wrote:
Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s

Don't mind lo.key too much. He seems to be getting a bit defensive, having taken on a role of being an Ableton/Push apologist, and will lecture you about not being "prepared to do what's necessary to get the most out of your purchase", how he doesn't "understand all of you who just want it to work out of the box", and will question why you bought a "flexible and adaptive audio environment, only to use the default behavior".

humnumb wrote:
Hopefully Ableton is taking notes on how other existing tools have implemented zoom/scroll from the hardware, like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6z1gDGgULA&t=01m21s

humnumb wrote:
Yeah, what a glaring omission of a feature commonly found on many existing tools.

For example, here's how it's done on Maschine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdE60Gr1xII&t=02m30s

You hold down ERASE + PAD (which ever pads you want to erase) will erase notes as you hold them down as the pattern plays through.

humnumb wrote:
If you're wanting to browse presets of NI products like Reaktor from hardware, you may want to take a look at Maschine which has exclusive support for Komplete where all presets from all of Komplete can be browsed and loaded directly from the Maschine hardware and all the parameters are automatically mapped in a logical way (even more improved now with Komplete 9): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcWIW6Muw9U

humnumb wrote:
That's a shame. You don't have to worry about doing anything like that just to play chords on Maschine's pads.

humnumb wrote:
MPC users are disappointed in general by how lacking Akai pads are in comparison to what's available nowdays:
Falox wrote:
I'm not really feeling how stiff and insensitive the Studio drum pads are. Is there a parameter I can change to increase the sensitivity?
Coz wrote:
When I had the 2500 I thought the pad response was super sharp until I had it side by side with Maschine with the same kit loaded. As a playable instrument there was no comparison. It was easy to confidently bounce between 1/2 or a 1/3rd of full velocity, ghost notes and rolls were easy to pull off and sounded like a regular drum kit etc. At the same tempo the 2500's pad response sounded clunky.

It's probably not that important to the average hip hopper, but it's one of the few things I like about Maschine.
Coz wrote:
Maschine's pads are stunning for expressive playing.

humnumb wrote:
Nope, you can't open/close plugin GUIs from Push. You can with Maschine though: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSeouoCF92A&t=49s


humnumb wrote:
Yeah, really surprised they didn't think to implement that on Push but I think it's a limitation of Live itself? Abes should learn from how Maschine does it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdJh4FMNhNE&t=05m20s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsuSiUCek4g&t=52s

humnumb wrote:
No doubt. When it comes to sampling workflow, Maschine is a no-brainer. Especially if you've been on hardware like MPCs before, you know just how super fast and fun, hands-on sample chopping workflow can be:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySW7JthAt3E
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZFY5oRrY8A&t=01m08s


humnumb wrote:
Here's a little something to help inspire a solution for implementing zoom/scroll on the Push: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6z1gDGgULA&t=01m21s

humnumb wrote:
Here are some examples of what Live cannot do compared equivalent features in Maschine, especially in the context of Push:

- sample into pads from the hardware
- duplicate drum rack pads from the hardware
- access drum rack's sends and mixer from Push
- browse and load audio samples or pattern clips from the hardware
- slice samples from the hardware
- automapping of plugins (Push requires setup beforehand)
- the ability to be mouseless (and even computer screen-less) for pretty much every control of its software
- preview/pre-hear samples in browser from the hardware before loading them
- show things like waveforms on its display since Push's display is only text-based, not graphical.
- add/remove slices from the hardware
- step sequence regular midi tracks from the hardware without workarounds
- edit start/end points for unwarped audio clips
- make multiple selection of notes from the hardware
- step automation (aka step parameter locks/p-locks)
- open/close plugin GUI from the hardware
- open a project or even start a new project from the hardware
- make custom names to show up in the hardware's displays when used as a midi controller
- Push is less useful as a general MIDI controller since it has no editor, you can't change notes, and you can't have MIDI mapping templates
- and obviously, Push doesn't have the Komplete integration like Maschine where all presets can be browsed and loaded from the hardware.
...etc.

Ironically, humnumb has done more than most people here in providing vital information that would help improve Push by pointing out some of its glaring omissions and shortcomings..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:28 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 360
again, its not really sufficient to keep posting a list of missing features, without a solution in hand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:30 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:51 am
Posts: 536
Location: The Antipodes
blinkeye wrote:
Ironically, humnumb has done more than most people here in providing vital information that would help improve Push by pointing out some of its glaring omissions and shortcomings..

Ironically some people just don't get that when a topic is about a certain piece of hardware, most reasonable people want to hear about/discuss that piece of hardware, not a different piece of hardware. They especially don't want to hear multiple never ending bloody posts not related to the hardware under discussion from someone who hasn't even laid their hands on it!
8O :roll:

_________________

“... it was just to make an average listener go: ‘What the fuck is this?’ That’s a real inspiration for me and something that I will explore more on upcoming recordings.”
- Wally De Backer (Gotye) quoting Ween's intention behind making records


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:49 pm 

Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 7:28 pm
Posts: 164
lo.key wrote:
again, its not really sufficient to keep posting a list of missing features, without a solution in hand.
Are you seriously suggesting that people shouldn't point out any problems, bugs, or glaring omissions unless they already have the solutions???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:07 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Posts: 1401
blinkeye wrote:
lo.key wrote:
again, its not really sufficient to keep posting a list of missing features, without a solution in hand.
Are you seriously suggesting that people shouldn't point out any problems, bugs, or glaring omissions unless they already have the solutions???

Irrelevant. Buying a Maschine is not a solution to having issues with the Push. It's only got sixteen pads. I can't play any kind of complex melodic arrangement on that.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/suburbanthugsoundsystem


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:21 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 360
blinkeye wrote:
lo.key wrote:
again, its not really sufficient to keep posting a list of missing features, without a solution in hand.
Are you seriously suggesting that people shouldn't point out any problems, bugs, or glaring omissions unless they already have the solutions???



i'm suggesting that to keep copypasting a list after its been received and appreciated, without any additional contribution, is a waste of everyones time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:15 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:32 pm
Posts: 1549
SuburbanThug wrote:
#1thelark wrote:
2. can we have polyphonic aftertouch please?

Now you're talking.



BIG +1

_________________
Musings - A Diva soundset


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:42 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1
Is it possible to lock Plug to Push not with the mouse on Live but With Push.
I really need an easy way to lock/unlock Plug to Push when i'am playing live !!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:53 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:02 pm
Posts: 760
Location: South of London
lo.key wrote:
i'm suggesting that to keep copypasting a list after its been received and appreciated, without any additional contribution, is a waste of everyones time.
this humnumb character gets a kick out of this but we're not alone in enduring it. humnumb = emptysea = noiserot.
Quote:
POST DELETED (by MPC-Tutor): Emptysea, stop trying to turn nearly every topic around here into a Maschine vs Ren debate. If you want to debate Maschine vs Ren, start a topic in the Comparison forum, and leave it at that. This isn't a Maschine forum.
taken from the MPCForums.

Ironically he's also had his account suspended from the NI forums.

If you want proof of his fantastically trollastic behaviour just do a search for:
emptysea - MPCForums
Noiserot (account suspended) - NI user forums

Who knows how many other unfortunate boards suffer this incessant behaviour, I've seen at least two times where he's just copy & pasted an entire post from one forum to another.

It's the same thread derailing, Maschine spamming, attention seeking nonsense everywhere he goes but unfortunately for this forum the mods don't care to step in.

The best one can do is to try and make light of it and not take it all too seriously.

..or maybe we could turn every thread into being about humnumb and/or Maschine.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:35 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 360
ha, good good, mans got his modus down all right. Thanks for digging that up panten, i was in need of a laugh ;D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:02 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:00 pm
Posts: 1
hey guys loving my new toy (push) traded my maschine launchpad and axiom pro 49 and have not regreted anything!!..........BUT can u please enable touch strip to quick scroll up/down for session view some of us may have fairly large projects and pressing shift and arrows bit shit cheers guys keep up the excellent work

ps disco skin is dope

:o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:40 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
laurymikzy wrote:
hey guys loving my new toy (push) traded my maschine launchpad and axiom pro 49 and have not regreted anything!!..........BUT can u please enable touch strip to quick scroll up/down for session view some of us may have fairly large projects and pressing shift and arrows bit shit cheers guys keep up the excellent work

ps disco skin is dope

:o


Bookmarked for later ;-)

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 9:07 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:42 am
Posts: 77
Location: BNA
I read on the first page of this thread that there is not map editor at present. Any update on that?
I was wondering if the ribbon controller can be assigned to other parameters than pitch/scroll, e.g. modulation, cutoff, arpeggiation, etc.. Love the arp ribbon on my EMX-1.
Pre-ordered last night. Had to part ways with my Maschine MK2. Sold in on eBay in a record 30 minutes! Proud yet sad at the same time. Counting the days...
Thanks.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/regrind


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group