Page 39 of 39

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 10:55 pm
by fishmonkey
ramona falls wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 5:58 pm
Does the Push2 offer control over Split Stereo Pan (two knobs per track)
or does it only work with the default Pan control (one knob per track)
?
Thanks very much!
- Brent
yes, in Track Mix mode you get individual pan pots for the L and R channels...

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:03 pm
by grenzfrequence
I like to move scenes and tracks in session mode of push. Is that possible?

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:05 pm
by Japie
Quick question here since I gather it will be rather simple to answer.

I am considering buying a Push, however I use a prefer a midi keyboard for playing any instruments other than drums. Can I use Push to arm tracks, record clips, editing parameters and DAW control in general while using my midi keyboard for playing the actual notes? Without switching between the two, i.e. can I edit the cutoff of a filter with Push while playing on my midi keyboard?

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 12:46 pm
by jigsaw-neil
Japie wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:05 pm
Quick question here since I gather it will be rather simple to answer.

I am considering buying a Push, however I use a prefer a midi keyboard for playing any instruments other than drums. Can I use Push to arm tracks, record clips, editing parameters and DAW control in general while using my midi keyboard for playing the actual notes? Without switching between the two, i.e. can I edit the cutoff of a filter with Push while playing on my midi keyboard?
Absolutely, you can modify knobs while playing with a MIDI keyboard. With some midi controllers you can also map the controllers on the knobs to do the same as those on the push moving them closer to your hands. You can also play notes on both the push and your keyboard at the same time, although not necessarily on different tracks.

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 12:47 pm
by jigsaw-neil
grenzfrequence wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:03 pm
I like to move scenes and tracks in session mode of push. Is that possible?
Is this possible? It's one thing I keep having to reach to my Laptop for.

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:19 pm
by spacebyrdz
Hello,
Does anyone know if you can set push 2 to record drums to adaptive grid narrowest?

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:31 pm
by ShelLuser
jigsaw-neil wrote:
Fri Sep 27, 2019 12:47 pm
grenzfrequence wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:03 pm
I like to move scenes and tracks in session mode of push. Is that possible?
Is this possible? It's one thing I keep having to reach to my Laptop for.
Sort off. You can clone a scene thus copy it somewhere else. If you then remove the original scene you basically moved it around.

spacebyrdz wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:19 pm
Does anyone know if you can set push 2 to record drums to adaptive grid narrowest?
No, when you record something then that's it. The grid as shown on the screen is mostly cosmetic. Of course there's always the option to quantize things later.

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 5:25 pm
by spacebyrdz
Hello,
Can you set Push to Adaptive Beat Grid Narrowest?

Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 5:55 pm
by ShelLuser
How to 'Kong' on Push :lol:

This is probably a well known trick but I still figured I'd share. Also because I'm not sure if this is actually already known or has been mentioned in here already (it's kinda hard to go over a megathread such as this).

How to 'Kong' using Push

As we all known Push has several modi in which it can operate; note mode for your standard midi track in which you can also change the layout in a sequencer (either stand alone or with the bottom half dedicated to playing notes), there's 'session' mode in which you can control the clips and of course... drum mode in which you control a drum rack.

Unfortunately you can't manually trigger 'drum mode'; it triggers automatically whenever you pull in a drum rack onto a midi track. So far, so good.

But what if you want to control an external instrument using the drum mode? In my example that would be Reason's Kong drum designer (I love that critter!) but it can just as easily be NI's Battery or any other drum-pad VST like thingie.

The solution turns out to be ridiculously simple:

Image

So:
  • Pull in the instrument you want to play, in my example this is the 'External instrument' device.
  • While having the device selected press ctrl-g to 'group' it; this will move all selected devices into an instrument rack.
  • Now it's easy: add an empty drumrack and leave it empty.
Done! If you don't trust this then you can even turn off the 'drumrack chain' to ensure that no sound can be generated. But this is an ideal way to force Push into drumming.

Of course... you can also get yourself a Maschine and be done with it entirely, but that's a whole different story :twisted: