When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
yur2die4
Posts: 6597
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by yur2die4 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:57 am

Curious. It gives you the option for Scene or Clip.

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by lo.key » Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:20 am

a deplorable lack of documentation :[

djcyph
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:10 pm
Location: NJ USA!

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by djcyph » Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:23 am

lo.key wrote:a deplorable lack of documentation :[
there is a whole section just for push in 9 manual

http://cdn2-downloads.ableton.com/manua ... ual_en.pdf

randallp
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:07 pm
Location: SW Florida
Contact:

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by randallp » Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:06 pm

yur2die4 wrote:Curious. It gives you the option for Scene or Clip.
It's explained in the manual
http://www.iam-pcr.com
Live 9, Push, MountainLion

cyclicAMP
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:58 am

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by cyclicAMP » Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:27 pm

Its cool that you can switch between these two modes so easily.

yur2die4
Posts: 6597
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by yur2die4 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:06 pm

Strangely, I read through that part twice, specifically to find info on this and for some reason I have no recollection of 27.10 haha. Oh well. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction :)

Dionysiac
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:50 pm

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by Dionysiac » Fri Mar 29, 2013 11:11 pm

randallp wrote:It's explained in the manual
Sorry, either I am looking in the wrong place or we have different manuals. mine says:
User — All of Push’s built-in functionality can be disabled via User Mode. This allows Push to be reprogrammed to control alternate functions in Live or other software.

I still don't know what workflow does.
I do however know how to expand/contract grouped tracks now so will go share that on the other thread. [hold down select while pressing the track select in track view]

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by lo.key » Fri Mar 29, 2013 11:26 pm

well, here's the problem: the manual linked above is NOT the same manual that opens within live.

In the link above, section 27.10 is Setting User Preferences, which goes into all this. In the document that opens when i open the manual from within lives 'read the manual' help option, section 27.10 is Push Control Reference, which is much scantier information. ;p

yur2die4
Posts: 6597
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by yur2die4 » Sat Mar 30, 2013 6:28 am

Well What the fuck.

Dionysiac
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:50 pm

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by Dionysiac » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:47 pm

lo.key wrote:well, here's the problem: the manual linked above is NOT the same manual that opens within live.

In the link above, section 27.10 is Setting User Preferences, which goes into all this. In the document that opens when i open the manual from within lives 'read the manual' help option, section 27.10 is Push Control Reference, which is much scantier information. ;p
Marvellous. Well at least I have the right manual now. Guess I should go back and read the whole push section again see if there are any more additions.

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by lo.key » Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:09 am

ha, so page 589, anyone know what the passage of what looks to be latin means?

"Fugitiun totaspe ritate dolupta denim facille cteceria nist, si volorem reprepelis ea nullecum elit il
estendunt que voloreptaspe ipsaesto omnisti osaperfero ent alitat.
Obis dus aut ex et res estibus resto bera si odigenianis ium nullorectur acest andae in conse
-
rionsed quia quibus a quidiciis ad quasi ra il inissima aut estium faccusc illabor itiasim illani
omnis rehentiure eum culpa vellit pere lignis et dolo tectemquia nostotatem eatumquatur? Lit assi
omni rae volore offici corecupta quam volectiunt quiaepudit occuptatem aute magnim nis audis
molupti aciisqui volori sequasp erovidis sequidunt pre peruptiur, cum aciis aut officab oremqua
-
must que verro es reiusti rem inveliq uaepeliae necatus eles parum dolo tempor repraeped et"

Valyo
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:47 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by Valyo » Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:33 pm

hahahah
it means roughly: "I'm a generic text and some dude in the doc department forgot to replace me with the real thing"

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by lo.key » Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:45 pm

;D

coleb
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:16 am

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by coleb » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:04 pm

wow, thanks for this! i kept reading through the push section of manual looking for more answers about the user settings. that's wild that there are two different versions of the manual floating around. and the one that comes with live, seems to have less information than the one linked above.

ezelkow1
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:22 pm

Re: When I hold User, what does the 'Workflow' parameter do?

Post by ezelkow1 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:29 pm

Looks like its fixed in the beta manual:

In Scene Workflow:
•Duplicate creates a new scene containing all of the currently playing clips, and seamlessly
switches to playing them back. This is the same as the Capture and Insert Scene command
in Live’s Edit menu (page 93).
•New is identical to Duplicate, except that it does notduplicate the currently selected clip.
Instead, an empty clip slot is prepared, allowing you to create a new idea in the current track.
•the Up/Down Arrows move up or down by a single scene. Playback of the clips in the new
scene begins seamlessly.

In Clip Workflow:
•Duplicate creates a copy of the currently selected clip in a new scene, while continuing
•New prepares an empty clip slot on the currently selected track. Clips in other tracks are
not affected.
•the Up/Down Arrows move up or down by a single scene. Playback of the currently select-ed track’s clip in the new scene begins seamlessly. Clips in other tracks are not affected

Post Reply