Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
koranek
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:51 am
Location: You got to be somewhere

Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by koranek » Sun Mar 31, 2013 3:45 am

If I'm playing in scale mode, I'm getting lots of channel pressure events in the 50 range just by trying to gently sustain a note. For patches that use aftertouch for stuff like vibrato, trying to sustain a note without vibrato is almost impossible.

We need a way to set a lower threshold on aftertouch on Push so that channel pressure doesn't kick in until we press hard enough.
Licensed Counselor
johnkoranekcounseling.com
https://soundcloud.com/johnkoranek

Mac Pro 3.33 Ghz 6 core Xeon, 32 G ram, OS 10.12.6
Push 2
Novation Impulse
iConnectAudio 2+, iConnectMidi 4+
Live 10 Sweet

BobTheDog
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:04 pm

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by BobTheDog » Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:23 am

It's mad isn't it, I just looked and I have huge amounts of aftertouch being recorded when I play the surface.

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by Jekblad » Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:24 pm

Yes! so necessary.

Right now Mapulator is a good solution but overboard. Native Kontrol has a script for it somewhere but you have to be in User mode. Any other ideas?
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

koranek
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:51 am
Location: You got to be somewhere

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by koranek » Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:20 pm

Stray from Native Kontrol also made a M4L device called AT_Scaler. Search for it on the web and then just stick it in your device chain before your VST. Works great.

Stray is cool.
Licensed Counselor
johnkoranekcounseling.com
https://soundcloud.com/johnkoranek

Mac Pro 3.33 Ghz 6 core Xeon, 32 G ram, OS 10.12.6
Push 2
Novation Impulse
iConnectAudio 2+, iConnectMidi 4+
Live 10 Sweet

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Sun Nov 24, 2013 2:53 pm

Yep, a native definable threshold is much needed. Right now aftertouch is almost unusable.

Bucephalus
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:26 pm

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by Bucephalus » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:30 pm

I think this is desperately needed too. It's near impossible to play synths that modulates sound on aftertouch. If I leave my finger on the pad to hold a chord I have a VERY narrow pressure range between note-off and aftertouch.

Can someone from Ableton let us know if they consider this a problem or if we're doing something wrong.

Leave Trace
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:46 am

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by Leave Trace » Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:16 pm

Bucephalus wrote:I think this is desperately needed too. It's near impossible to play synths that modulates sound on aftertouch. If I leave my finger on the pad to hold a chord I have a VERY narrow pressure range between note-off and aftertouch.
Here's a great M4L solution, http://www.subaqueousmusic.com/producti ... aftertouch. It works perfectly for me.

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by Jekblad » Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:54 pm

the sub aqueous device is where it's at.
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

Bucephalus
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:26 pm

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by Bucephalus » Tue May 06, 2014 9:36 pm

Leave Trace wrote: Here's a great M4L solution, http://www.subaqueousmusic.com/producti ... aftertouch. It works perfectly for me.
Thanks so much and cudos to the creator of this M4L solution :D

Analog4Science
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:10 am

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by Analog4Science » Wed May 07, 2014 11:43 pm

great workaround but for those that don't own M4L something needs to be done about this. Thankfully, i just upgraded to suite.

zerocrossing
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by zerocrossing » Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:29 pm

URG! I'm pretty frustrated about this... almost return Push frustrated. I just got Push and while in many ways I can see it being pretty amazing, I find it pretty much impossible to use in it's current form. Who let this out of the lab this way? Hitting a note always triggers aftertouch? Who would want this? I mean, it flies in the face of what aftertouch is: a way to modulate your note with pressure AFTER the initial note strike.

I don't own MFL, and I don't intend to. Has Ableton made any statement as to fixing this bug?

Martyn
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:22 am
Location: UK

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by Martyn » Sun Jun 22, 2014 11:13 pm

I made a utility to turn aftertouch off or scale it, it also gives you a 'modwheel' controller, so you can see it from push's device panel.

Download here > http://www.maxforlive.com/library/device/1854/putility

Just put an instance of it before any instrument you're having aftertouch issues with.

zerocrossing
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Need a threshold setting for aftertouch

Post by zerocrossing » Tue Jun 24, 2014 4:45 pm

Martyn wrote:I made a utility to turn aftertouch off or scale it, it also gives you a 'modwheel' controller, so you can see it from push's device panel.

Download here > http://www.maxforlive.com/library/device/1854/putility

Just put an instance of it before any instrument you're having aftertouch issues with.
Right, and thanks for that. I just got a response from Ableton and it seems that their official take on this bug is, "Well our users developed a work around, so suck it and upgrade to Suite."

Not quite what I wanted to hear after buying a $600 controller. :x

Post Reply