User colors on your Push!!!

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
sowhoso
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:14 am

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by sowhoso » Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:53 pm

lyovino wrote:I know squat about text editors, coding and formatting and don't want to make a mess for myself.
this is really easy to do. just use the simplest text editor you have on your mac, copy and paste the .py text into it and save as SkinDefault.py into the appropriate folder

on windows 7 i used NotePad, can't get simpler than that

lyovino
Posts: 509
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:29 am

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by lyovino » Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:13 pm

Thanks sowhoso. I just read that Windows Notepad is a basic editor and by default saves files in Plain Text. On. a Mac Text Editor saves in Rich Text. I'm not trying to drag this out, but i have read that for some the script don't work. i would think because of the file format. I just want to make sure..

I'm impressed with some of the results being posted.
I can' t believe Ableton left the color choices out of the promo. It may have saved the huge headache they face now. As a matter of fact it may have never occurred.
iMac, Intel Core i7, 2.8 GHz, 16GB
Yosemite, Live 9.xx Suite (64- bit)
Push, Apogee Ensemble

sowhoso
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:14 am

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by sowhoso » Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:21 pm

there are free online editors that will allow you to save in plain text

http://www.editpad.org/

panten
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:02 pm
Location: South of London

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by panten » Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:40 pm

triant - :o That colour scheme is a thing of beauty :D

lyovino
Posts: 509
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:29 am

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by lyovino » Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:40 pm

Thanks, I just tried it. I also tried it with Text Edit and the coding on both looked entirely different.
Like I said I don't know the difference but the software will if it's not right.
iMac, Intel Core i7, 2.8 GHz, 16GB
Yosemite, Live 9.xx Suite (64- bit)
Push, Apogee Ensemble

triant
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:05 pm

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by triant » Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:09 pm

panten wrote:triant - :o That colour scheme is a thing of beauty :D
thanks! :mrgreen:

drez
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by drez » Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:43 pm

triant wrote: curious, though, what you used to decompile the code (never know when i might need to tackle something like this again). my version of uncompyler only works on python 2.7 code, which the remote scripts were evidently not written in.
Well, this took me a bit to figure out as I'm not a python coder. I used this decompiler:

https://code.google.com/p/fupy/

But the issue I was running into wasn't the decompiler, it was the fact that I wasn't using the right version of python to do the decompile. I found this page to help me out:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7807 ... s-compiled

This showed me that the version of python the .pyc was created in was 2.5c2. So i went here to download that specific version:

http://www.python.org/ftp/python/2.5/prev/

Was working in a windows VM, so I downloaded python-2.5c2.msi and used that to run the script.

I did have to comment out a couple lines at the bottom of the decompiler script as they were blowing it up:

# except PythonDecompilerError as z:
# print("Error: " + str(z))
http://www.twitter.com/dreznicek
http://www.soundcloud.com/dreznicek
MacBook Pro Retina Laptop, 2.7Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM, 500G SSD, Live 9, Push, Novation SL25 Mk2, iPad (TouchOSC, Lemur, Touch-Able), Reason

turbomartin
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:48 am

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by turbomartin » Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:43 pm

I don't understand what I am doing and what I am supposed to do, and will wait in agony until ableton will come up with a 1 button color adjustment fix.

sowhoso
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:14 am

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by sowhoso » Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:56 pm

turbomartin wrote:I don't understand what I am doing and what I am supposed to do, and will wait in agony until ableton will come up with a 1 button color adjustment fix.
sux, i know

try it again and this time jot down what you did, step by step, then post that here. we'll get you sorted

deva
Posts: 1685
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:32 pm

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by deva » Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:40 pm

drez wrote:Ok, I've got a new version of the SkinDefault.py file for 9.0.5. To coin a developer phrase, "Works on my Push" :D

https://github.com/dreznicek/AbletonLiv ... Default.py

WARNING: Make sure you copy your existing SkinDefault.pyc to a safe location BEFORE you drop the .py file in the directory just in case you need to go revert back or things get wonky. I would even back it up to a directory called 9.0.5 somewhere so you had it versioned out as you upgrade.

Enjoy!

Thanks for that... works for me too...

mono808
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:03 pm

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by mono808 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:59 pm

Hey triant, i must say your seapunk color scheme really looks dope!!! Any Chance you could share the pyhton file for it?

Greetz,

mono808

WISH1
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 1:02 am
Location: CALIFORNIA
Contact:

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by WISH1 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:11 pm

I'd love to get this on my push, but I'm having trouble with it as well. I tried the text edit and text wrangler on mac but each attempt is a fail, help?

drez
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by drez » Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:50 pm

WISH1 wrote:I'd love to get this on my push, but I'm having trouble with it as well. I tried the text edit and text wrangler on mac but each attempt is a fail, help?
We can help! :)

Can you post step by step what you are doing?
http://www.twitter.com/dreznicek
http://www.soundcloud.com/dreznicek
MacBook Pro Retina Laptop, 2.7Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM, 500G SSD, Live 9, Push, Novation SL25 Mk2, iPad (TouchOSC, Lemur, Touch-Able), Reason

WISH1
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 1:02 am
Location: CALIFORNIA
Contact:

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by WISH1 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:48 pm

1. I 1st copied the SkinDefault.pyc to a saved location for safety (thanks so much for the tip)

2. Went to the link https://github.com/dreznicek/AbletonLiv ... Default.py

3. Copy paste the code to a new Text Wrangler document since Text Edit app wasn't saving the document.
Saved as SkinDefault.py

4. Drag/drop the new SkinDefault.py to the push folder in the midi remote scripts folder.

5. Restart laptop and Ableton Live = frozen push.

Glad I saved the default .py!

deva
Posts: 1685
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:32 pm

Re: User colors on your Push!!!

Post by deva » Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:02 pm

WISH1 wrote:1. I 1st copied the SkinDefault.pyc to a saved location for safety (thanks so much for the tip)

2. Went to the link https://github.com/dreznicek/AbletonLiv ... Default.py

3. Copy paste the code to a new Text Wrangler document since Text Edit app wasn't saving the document.
Saved as SkinDefault.py

4. Drag/drop the new SkinDefault.py to the push folder in the midi remote scripts folder.

5. Restart laptop and Ableton Live = frozen push.

Glad I saved the default .py!

What version of live are you using? I guess it has to be 9.0.5... the script changed from 9.0.4 to 9.0.5

Post Reply