Push Latency

Discuss Push with other users.
kodaro

Push Latency

Post by kodaro » Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:12 pm

I recently got a Push and am enjoying the interface. I am pretty new to Ableton but have a decent number of years producing on Protools, working with Midi, etc.

My only issue right now is that the Push has waay to much latency for actually using it to record directly from or for playing live with. What I mean by this is that if I want to record direct from the device (for example a keyboard sound), the latency is so bad that everything ends up way behind where it should or where it is actually being played.

I am not sure I need to change some settings (aside from the obvious low latency selection in the pulldowns in Live).

I am using a brand new Dell Precision M4600 Laptop with a 256 GB SSD drive, 16 GB RAM, and a i7 Quad Core Extreme 2920XM processor, NVIDIA Quaddro 2000M (2GB Dedicated RAM), Windows 7 64 bit. I am assuming there should be no issues with the hardware side of things but haven't started researching that yet. I also have not connected an audio/midi recording device. Literally the only thing on this brand new machine (other than bloat ware from Dell) is Ableton Live 9 Suite and a variety of Packs.

Any thoughts would help.

Thanks.
Rob K.

greaterthanzero

Re: Push Latency

Post by greaterthanzero » Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:54 pm

Your specs didn't mention what audio interface you're using. The built-in soundcard on a Windows machine is notoriously slow.

(if you try other MIDI controllers, you'll experience the same latency. it has nothing to do with Push)

ASIO drivers will help, if you're not using those.
http://www.asio4all.com/

A dedicated audio interface will help more.

I recommend searching the rest of the forum for latency suggestions, or perhaps asking again in a different area. Limiting yourself to the Push discussion is going to prevent experts who might be able to help (but don't own Push) from seeing your question.

kodaro