Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
adh82
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:22 am

Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Post by adh82 » Thu May 02, 2013 8:59 am

How does push assign parameters with devices?
Most ableton devices seem logically organized in banks that make sense.
But there are some max devises that don't seem to be automatically organized logically...
Is this on pushes behalf or the max device?
How can I change the device mapping with a max device???

Because789
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:26 pm

Re: Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Post by Because789 » Thu May 02, 2013 10:27 am

It's on the behalf of the max device.
Open the patch, go into the inspector of the knob you want to assign, set "Automapping index" (1-8 for Push), save, maybe reload device.
You might want to adjust the "Short Name" too (the name shown in the Push screen).
Last edited by Because789 on Fri May 03, 2013 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Live 9.5 (64bit), Max 7.0.6, Windows 10, Push 2, Korg electribe2, Bass Station II, Launch Control XL, Faderfox DJ3

M4L

adh82
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:22 am

Re: Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Post by adh82 » Fri May 03, 2013 5:49 am

Ok great!!!
I'll try that later...
One more question, is there a way to choose banks as well?

Because789
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:26 pm

Re: Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Post by Because789 » Fri May 03, 2013 11:05 am

I'm not a 100% certain that I understand what you try to accomplish. If you mean "Is there a way to set the automapping index of a drop down menu?" then the answer is yes. But it depends on the object used. If the M4L device uses "umenu", you have to replace it by "live.menu" to set an automapping index. If this wasn't your question an example would be helpful.
Live 9.5 (64bit), Max 7.0.6, Windows 10, Push 2, Korg electribe2, Bass Station II, Launch Control XL, Faderfox DJ3

M4L

adh82
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:22 am

Re: Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Post by adh82 » Fri May 03, 2013 2:12 pm

What im trying to get at is:

Once i reach the 8 paramater knobs for assignments, im guessing push starts to create "banks"?????
do i just continue to move up in numbers eg. 9-16 would become bank 2?
or do i have to define the banks? 1-1,1-2,1-3,1-4........2-1,2-2,2-3,2-4..... and so on?
if i would like to leave some knobs blank(unsued) in some banks, can i? its just so i can group parameters.
cheers,
Adrien.

S4racen
Posts: 5232
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Post by S4racen » Fri May 03, 2013 2:39 pm

It works how youve suggested bank 1 = 1-8 Bank two = 9-16 for the APC40 so that should be the same for the Push.... 0 should be the device on off i've found...

Cheers
D

Because789
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:26 pm

Re: Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Post by Because789 » Fri May 03, 2013 3:15 pm

S4racen wrote:It works how youve suggested bank 1 = 1-8 Bank two = 9-16 for the APC40 so that should be the same for the Push....
Just checked, it is the same with Push. Leaving knobs unused is also no problem. Access to the banks you get with Selection Control in Device Mode.
Live 9.5 (64bit), Max 7.0.6, Windows 10, Push 2, Korg electribe2, Bass Station II, Launch Control XL, Faderfox DJ3

M4L

queglay
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:15 am

Re: Push device assignment??? Auto or manual???

Post by queglay » Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:00 am

on the topic of this automapping index, i would love to know how to set this dynamicly.

I know its possible to set other "hidden" parameters using a message like

Code: Select all

_parameter_range 0 3
but I cannot find what the equivalent parameter name would be for the automappping index, which like range is a hidden parameter.
Load VST Presets from Push's Browser!
http://www.audiomodder.com

Post Reply