Push Knob Resolution (Feature Request)

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Cuv
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 9:32 am

Re: Push Knob Resolution (Feature Request)

Post by Cuv » Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:28 pm

I think I know what you mean:

- When shift is held down, you get ~10 times more resolution.


If that is the case, how does it work with automation. Does it get recorded at that resolution in the clip etc?


Your insight is much appreciated ....
MSI GE60 | Intel i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz (3.40GHz turbo) | Windows 10 | Live 9.6.2 | Push 2

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Push Knob Resolution (Feature Request)

Post by TomViolenz » Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:35 pm

Cuv wrote:I think I know what you mean:

- When shift is held down, you get ~10 times more resolution.


If that is the case, how does it work with automation. Does it get recorded at that resolution in the clip etc?


Your insight is much appreciated ....
the 10 times was an approximation on my part and yes thats how it works.
What is recorded is determined by what you set the parameter in Live at, so yes it gets recorded.

Parameters can obviously only be as precise as the parameter allows, if the parameter only has 127 discrete points (or less) in an envelope in Live, then Push can not change that.

Cuv
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 9:32 am

Re: Push Knob Resolution (Feature Request)

Post by Cuv » Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:57 pm

That explains it perfectly. I'm not sure why Ableton haven't implemented this themselves yet.

Many thanks to you
MSI GE60 | Intel i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz (3.40GHz turbo) | Windows 10 | Live 9.6.2 | Push 2

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Push Knob Resolution (Feature Request)

Post by TomViolenz » Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:14 pm

Cuv wrote:That explains it perfectly. I'm not sure why Ableton haven't implemented this themselves yet.

Many thanks to you
You're welcome :-)

Once you buy Push (which you will not regret, I'm sure!), this question will cross your mind on many occasions!

For more chances of this:

Install the community mapping: viewtopic.php?f=55&t=198946
(But not before being frustrated by the one Ableton supplied ;-))

and buy PXT Live (the incredible script by Stray, the maker of the mod we are talking about here): http://www.nativekontrol.com/PXT-Live.html

Cuv
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 9:32 am

Re: Push Knob Resolution (Feature Request)

Post by Cuv » Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:40 pm

Nice - looks like a nice bunch of mods. Will investigate further :D

Cheers man
MSI GE60 | Intel i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz (3.40GHz turbo) | Windows 10 | Live 9.6.2 | Push 2

Imbecillen
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:47 pm

Re: Push Knob Resolution (Feature Request)

Post by Imbecillen » Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:09 pm

Is there a way to reduce the knob resoution? I can only find higher resolution been solved. Is there a way to make it half the amount or so? For live performances the knobs doesn't feel as hands on as they could!

Post Reply