Crossfade

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
Syncretia
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Crossfade

Post by Syncretia » Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:57 pm

In the process of moving from APC40 -> Push.

On the APC40 crossfading is automatically mapped to the crossfader. But, Push doesn't have a cross fader. How can cross fading be achieved with Push? Do I have to do a midi map or something? If so, how?
Download and listen @ http://www.syncretia.com

Syncretia
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Crossfade

Post by Syncretia » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:00 am

So, I've discovered one really crap way. The method requires switching to User Mode. Here:

https://www.ableton.com/en/articles/push-user-mode/

I can then map the Midi CC of a knob on Push to the cross fader. This is really crap because I need to switch to user mode to do this.

But, also...

Crossfading from left to right seems to move smoothly, however when I fade back from right to left it jerks across to the left in one fell swoop so I can't fade properly. Very annoying. Is this is a problem with midi CC sending from Push?
Download and listen @ http://www.syncretia.com

Syncretia
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Crossfade

Post by Syncretia » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:04 am

Mapping to the pitch bend works really nicely except that you have to jump out of user mode before you let go or the fader will jerk back to the middle.
Download and listen @ http://www.syncretia.com

Syncretia
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Crossfade

Post by Syncretia » Thu Oct 03, 2013 3:29 am

What is the standard way of using the Live crossfader with Push?
Download and listen @ http://www.syncretia.com

irrelevance
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:31 pm

Re: Crossfade

Post by irrelevance » Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:14 am

The touch strip is currently limited to controlling the pitch bend/range or drum bank. Pxt-live provides a last parameter touched function which can assign the cross fader to touchstrip. Before pxt-live I was having to use my nocturn and automap just to be able to do that! Maybe ableton will implement something similar?

Syncretia
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Crossfade

Post by Syncretia » Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:12 pm

No. I can use the touch strip for cross-fading. I just do this in user mode.

The big problems are:

a) I have to switch to user mode
b) If I let go of the strip before I switch back to session mode, the crossfader jumps back to the middle position

What is pxt-live?

So, am I to understand that Push does not offer a standard way of performing cross fades?

BTW: I have been doing gigs with Push. I currently have cross fade mapped to a knob which is less than satisfactory. I miss the APC40 in this regard. I have made several mistakes while playing live. I found out the other day that the knob I had mapped was the master volume and I inadvertently turned down my master volume several times because I was in the wrong mode. :cry:
Download and listen @ http://www.syncretia.com

PremEye
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:10 am

Re: Crossfade

Post by PremEye » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:51 am

Check this out!
http://shop.lividinstruments.com/master-fader/
It is new. It is only $29 and I believe it will work with PUSH.

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Crossfade

Post by TomViolenz » Sat Nov 02, 2013 2:16 pm

PremEye wrote:Check this out!
http://shop.lividinstruments.com/master-fader/
It is new. It is only $29 and I believe it will work with PUSH.
This seems great!
But is it motorized? Would be a steal at 29USD, if it were!

fishmonkey
Posts: 4093
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Crossfade

Post by fishmonkey » Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:37 pm

definitely not motorized...

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Crossfade

Post by TomViolenz » Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:37 pm

fishmonkey wrote:definitely not motorized...
Yeah, it seemed like a deal that's too good to be true.

JES
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 5:52 pm

Re: Crossfade

Post by JES » Mon Nov 11, 2013 4:45 am

Also, it appears to have a quarter inch plug. How exactly would you hook that up with Push?

Syncretia
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Crossfade

Post by Syncretia » Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:43 am

So, basically Ableton left pretty much the most important control for DJ'ing off their flagship performance controller.

Why?
Download and listen @ http://www.syncretia.com

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Crossfade

Post by TomViolenz » Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:07 am

Syncretia wrote:So, basically Ableton left pretty much the most important control for DJ'ing off their flagship performance controller.

Why?
I think they just intended a different use for Push. But you're right, it feels kinda silly to leave it out!

lyovino
Posts: 509
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Crossfade

Post by lyovino » Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:45 am

Is there any reason you don't use both APC 40 and Push?
iMac, Intel Core i7, 2.8 GHz, 16GB
Yosemite, Live 9.xx Suite (64- bit)
Push, Apogee Ensemble

ShelLuser
Posts: 3610
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Crossfade

Post by ShelLuser » Sun Sep 08, 2019 3:58 pm

I apologize for digging up a 6 year old conversation but... I also noticed the same thing and it seems weird. Even Push 2 does not provide cross fading, which I noticed while working on an old (ever ongoing) project of mine. Go-go-gadget-crossfade :mrgreen:

However.... this appears to be a limitation by design, not necessarily something limited to Push. I looked into Max for Live (which is the to-go-to tool when something cannot be done) and I noticed that the "crossfader" child of the MixerDevice class only provides a "get" access, not "set". In other words: I can check the current value but not control it. Which seems to be confirmed by early experimentation using my LOM.Navigator. And something odd considering that the device itself can be midi-mapped (as mentioned above). (edit): This is using the latest version of Live at the time of writing: Live 10 (and Max 8).

Another weird part is that I can control the A - B settings on the individual tracks using a LOM ("max for live") function.

I'm going to do more experimentation this evening but... yah, this really looks like a bit of an oversight to me and a limitation by design, not a choice because Push was to focus on other parts of mixing.

In all honestly: I don't really miss out on cross-fading myself, also because I kinda b0rk the fader on my APC40 (still wondering if I should sell my APC40 as-is for a few bucks or try to get a new crossfader and continue using it from time to time).

To be continued :)
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Komplete 12.
Blog: SynthFan

Post Reply