Can a clip send a scale change to push?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
Jeroen
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Sarawak, Malaysia

Can a clip send a scale change to push?

Post by Jeroen » Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:32 am

Hi,

Is there an ability to send a quick scale change from a clip from ableton to push.This would be flexible for live performances. Any other suggestion to get something like that done?

Currently i would need a few seconds to get a scale change done at least.
Life is made of stories not atoms

rabota
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:34 pm

Re: Can a clip send a scale change to push?

Post by rabota » Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:58 am

ClyphX can...have a search in here for it

DuggletonLive
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:57 am

Re: Can a clip send a scale change to push?

Post by DuggletonLive » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:27 pm

rabota wrote:ClyphX can...have a search in here for it
A search on ClyphX returns very esoteric results.
Can you be more specific? If you could post a link to a particular thread that would be really helpful.

panten
Posts: 876
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:02 pm
Location: South of London

Re: Can a clip send a scale change to push?

Post by panten » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:41 pm

A search for ClyphX in Google results in Stray's Beatwise Forum on the 1st hit.

This is what you want.

Once the script is installed it allows you to input [] PUSH SCL as the Clip name. The next time the clip is launched it will 'capture' the current scale you are using and switch to that scale upon every consecutive clip launch thereafter.

jestermgee
Posts: 3322
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Can a clip send a scale change to push?

Post by jestermgee » Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:20 am

panten wrote:A search for ClyphX in Google results in Stray's Beatwise Forum on the 1st hit.

This is what you want.

Once the script is installed it allows you to input [] PUSH SCL as the Clip name. The next time the clip is launched it will 'capture' the current scale you are using and switch to that scale upon every consecutive clip launch thereafter.
So this could be used on a "new" project to also setup your scale used in that project for when you reload it?

Damn, this sounds like something I am missing out on.

DuggletonLive
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:57 am

Re: Can a clip send a scale change to push?

Post by DuggletonLive » Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:13 am

jestermgee wrote:
So this could be used on a "new" project to also setup your scale used in that project for when you reload it?

Damn, this sounds like something I am missing out on.
Correct!
I'm a total newb myself so I'll state what I've just discovered and tested:
ClyphX is a system of scripts which you select like control surface in your Preferences/MIDI Sync
(once you've copied the special folder to a location in your live install)
From here you can trigger events such as change a Push scale setting when a clip is launched (for example, or when a Live set is loaded, etc,etc) This is done by the way the clip is named, and there is a heap of things (Actions) you can do.
Hooray to Everyone, and thanks!

Post Reply