All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 7:05 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:01 am
Posts: 168
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
For a certain set I only use push note mode for one midi track. Otherwise I'm muting/fading/modulating the other audio tracks.

The problem is that I can only focus one track at a time, and it takes too much time to scroll back and find+arm my one midi track to play in note mode. If I set the midi track's midi input to Push and monitor to 'in', Push's grid still won't light up until I focus the midi track. I don't use the grid for anything else so it would be nice to have it lock on the midi track or something similar.

Thanks!

_________________
Web | Mobile | Audio
http://vedanamedia.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:36 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:13 am
Posts: 333
Bump. This needs to be addressed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 7:01 am 

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:45 pm
Posts: 381
you could map another midi control (if available) to select that one track...
this would allow you to select that channel with just one button, but it still would be VERY annoying.
and you wouldn't be able to change any of the other channel's parameters while playing the pads.
this sucks, totally agree...

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/nemoylive look!
http://www.facebook.com/nemoylive like!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:14 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Posts: 6286
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
This feature is pretty much my number one issue.

In some cases it is handy, but when you want to use more than just Push, everything is beyond fucked. There is no real workaround.

I think it would be very beneficial for users of Ableton invented a way for this to be more forgiving in different situations.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 2:29 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:13 am
Posts: 333
Yeah it's ridiculous.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:29 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 5843
Do it ableton! Quit monkeying around with other nonsense! (I ran into this today) :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:05 pm 

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Posts: 380
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven
+1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:00 am 

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Posts: 2539
Location: UK
+1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 2:19 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 5843
Did this change in 9.1.3?

It seems almost like this is a new problem I'm having :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:31 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:13 am
Posts: 333
Bump, push is almost unusable with this :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:30 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:13 am
Posts: 333
bump


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:09 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Posts: 2539
Location: UK
just noticed this:
you can lock to the track you want by selecting 'Ableton Push (Live Port)' as the input for the track, and selecting IN / AUTO / OFF
for other tracks select IN / AUTO / OFF

switching track focus with Push will still let you adjust params of other tracks, but the notes stay locked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:30 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm
Posts: 6854
garyboozy wrote:
just noticed this:
you can lock to the track you want by selecting 'Ableton Push (Live Port)' as the input for the track, and selecting IN / AUTO / OFF
for other tracks select IN / AUTO / OFF

switching track focus with Push will still let you adjust params of other tracks, but the notes stay locked.


You could make a switch matrix using clyphx that would automatically change the routing upon triggering of a button.
(or as many buttons as you have tracks that you would like to lock this way)
Would be most sensible with another controller, though PXTs acessory mode could be used that way too.

_________________
A New Kind Of Science: Six wondrous excursions into a brave new world made of sound...

Enhanced Push community mapping for native Live devices


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:16 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 5843
Thanks Gary.

I think though that unless you want to go through all your projects and do this it's time consuming?

@Tom: It's a good idea, definitely sounds to me like you are the guy for the job :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:38 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm
Posts: 6854
eyeknow wrote:
Thanks Gary.

I think though that unless you want to go through all your projects and do this it's time consuming?

@Tom: It's a good idea, definitely sounds to me like you are the guy for the job :mrgreen:


I could write here a template for the Acessory mode of PXT, I just wonder if that is really useful since you would always need to switch to PXT first.
It's pretty quick though, since PXTs Acessory mode is under the same USER button you used to get to PXT.

So it would be: USER button toggle(to PXT)--->USER button press, and keep pressed (PXT Acessory mode)--->TrackState or TrackSelect buttons to change track and routing (Via Clyphx) ----> Let go of USER button (Leave Acessory mode)--->Toggle USER Button (Leave PXT).

If that's a workflow you can live with I could suggest what to put into PXTs User setting.
You need to install Clyphx first though!

You want a solution with two buttons (leaving the other 14 free for other functions using clyphx) where you move the track to play left and right? (Means you would scroll through the tracks) Or to go directly to a track from the current one? More convieniant but obviously limited to 16 tracks and you wouldn't have any buttons left for other functions.

Report back after you installed clyphx (that's were usually the interest from the people asking about something ends for some weird reason ;-)), and I'll cook it up for you.

_________________
A New Kind Of Science: Six wondrous excursions into a brave new world made of sound...

Enhanced Push community mapping for native Live devices


Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group