[Old, see new thread] Ubermap: Push VST param remapping

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
tom_d
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:20 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by tom_d » Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:04 am

Evengy wrote:
tom_d wrote: Ah cool! So it works on Win 8?
yes!
That's good news! I've got a new version to upload soon with one new feature, I'll update the thread title to reflect that it should work on Windows when I do that :)
Ubermap: simple, free bank and parameter remapping for AudioUnit and VST devices for Push and Push 2: http://ubermap.live

MTG105
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:28 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by MTG105 » Wed Mar 05, 2014 8:23 pm

I made some mappings for TAL UNO-LX and TAL Bassline 101 and Audio Damage Dubstation. Enjoy :)

UNO-LX
[Banks]
[[DCO]]
DCO LFO = LFO
DCO PWM = PWM
DCO PWM MODE = PWM Mode
DCO Pulse = Pulse
DCO Saw = Saw
DCO Sub = Sub Toggle
DCO Sub Volume = Sub Level
DCO Noise Volum = Noise
[[Filter]]
HP Filter = HPF
Cutoff = Freq
Resonance = Res
Filter Env Mode = Env Shape
Filter Env = Env Amount
Filter Modulati = LFO
Filter Keyb = Keyboard
[[Env]]
VCA Mode = Gate Toggle
Attack = Attack
Decay = Decay
Sustain = Sustain
Release = Release
[[LFO]]
LFO Rate = Rate
LFO Delay = Delay
LFO Trigger Mod = Trig Mode
LFO Waveform = Waveform
"Parameter #55" = Invert
LFO Manual Trig = Manual Trig
[[Chorus]]
Chorus 1 = Chorus 1
Chorus 2 = Chorus 2
[[Control]]
Transpose = Transpose
Voices = Voices
Pitch Wheel DCO = Pitch Wheel DCO
Pitch Wheel Fil = Pitch Wheel Fil
Velocity Env = Velocity Env
Velocity Volume = Velocity Volume
[[Arp]]
ARP Enabled = ARP Enabled
ARP Sync = ARP Sync
ARP Mode = ARP Mode
ARP Range = ARP Range
ARP Rate = ARP Rate
Voice Hold = Voice Hold
ARP Sync Mode = ARP Sync Mode
ARP Special Mod = ARP Special Mod
[[Master]]
Volume = Volume
Master Tune = Tune
Master Octave T = Octv +/-
Portamento Mode = PortaMode
Portamento = Portamnto
[BestOfBank]
[[Bank]]
DCO Pulse = Pulse
DCO Saw = Saw
DCO Sub = Sub Toggle
DCO Sub Volume = Sub Level
Cutoff = Freq
Resonance = Res
Filter Env = Env Amount
Filter Modulati = LFO
[Config]
Cache = True
Ignore = False
Dubstation
[Banks]
[[Main]]
Drive = Drive
DelayTim = Time
Regen = Feedback
Low Cut = HPF
Hi Cut = LPF
Loop = Loop
Reverse = Reverse
x2 Time = x2 Time
[[Mix/Sync]]
Mix = Mix
Output = Output
Sync = Sync
[BestOfBank]
[[Bank]]
Drive = Drive
DelayTim = DelayTim
Regen = Regen
x2 Time = x2 Time
Output = Output
Loop = Loop
Reverse = Reverse
Low Cut = Low Cut
Hi Cut = Hi Cut
[Config]
Cache = False
Ignore = False
TAL Bassline 101
[Banks]
[[VCO]]
VCO Modulation = Mod Depth
VCO Range = Range
VCO PWM = PWM
VCO PWM Mode = PWM Mode
VCO Mod Snap = Mod Snap
Ctr VCO = PtchWhlDpth
Ctr Modulation = ModWhlDpth
[[Osc Mix]]
Pulse = Pulse
Saw = Saw
SubOsc = SubOsc
SubOsc Mode = SubOsc Mode
Noise = Noise
White Noise = WhtNoise
[[VCF]]
VCF Cutoff = Freq
VCF Resonance = Res
VCF Envelope = Env Depth
VCF Modulation = LFO Depth
VCF Keyboard = KB Depth
VCF Volume Comp = Vol Comp
VCF Envelope Ra = Env Range
Ctr Filter = ModWhlDpth
[[Env]]
VCA Mode = Env/Gate
ADSR Mode = Mode
Attack = Attack
Decay = Decay
Sustain = Sustain
Release = Release
De-Click ADSR = DeClick AR
[[LFO]]
LFO Rate = Rate
LFO Waveform = Waveform
LFO Sync = Sync Tgl
LFO Trigger = Trig Tgl
LFO Inverted = Inv Tgl
[[FM]]
FM Intensity = Intensity
FM Pulse = Pulse Tgl
FM Saw = Saw Tgl
FM Sub Osc = SubOsc Tgl
FM Noise = FM Noise
[[Master]]
Volume = Volume
Fine Tune = Tune
Transpose = Transpose
Portamento Valu = Porta
Portamento Mode = PortaMode
Poly = Poly Tgl
Velocity Volume = VelVol
Velocity VCF En = VelVCFEnv
[[Bank 17]]
Midi Learn Acti = Midi Learn Acti
Midi Learn Dele = Midi Learn Dele
"Parameter #1" = "Parameter #1"
[[Bank 6]]
SEQ Lock = SEQ Lock
SEQ Hold = SEQ Hold
SEQ Sync = SEQ Sync
SEQ Tempo = SEQ Tempo
[[Bank 7]]
SEQ Steps = SEQ Steps
ARP Enabled = ARP Enabled
ARP Mode = ARP Mode
"ARP / SEQ Sync " = "ARP / SEQ Sync "
SEQ Enabled = SEQ Enabled
SEQ Record = SEQ Record
Portamento Line = Portamento Line
SEQ Reset = SEQ Reset
[[Bank 8]]
Main Sync Mode = Main Sync Mode
"Parameter #59" = "Parameter #59"
Swing = Swing
Noise Floor = Noise Floor
[[Bank 9]]
PANIC = Panic Tgl
[BestOfBank]
[[Bank]]
VCF Cutoff = Freq
VCF Resonance = Res
VCF Modulation = LFO Depth
LFO Rate = LFO Rate
Pulse = Pulse
Saw = Saw
SubOsc = SubOsc
Noise = Noise
Attack = Attack
Decay = Decay
Sustain = Sustain
Release = Release
[Config]
Cache = False
Ignore = False
[/quote]
Last edited by MTG105 on Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MTG105
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:28 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by MTG105 » Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:16 pm

And here's one for the Korg Polysix
[Banks]
[[VCO]]
Vibrato Int = Vibrato
VCO Octave = Octave
VCO Wave Form = WaveForm
VCO PWM Adjust = PWM Depth
VCO PWM Speed = PWM Speed
VCO Sub Osc = SubOsc
[[VCF]]
VCF Cutoff = Freq
VCF Resonance = Res
VCF EG Intensity = EnvDepth
VCF Kbd Track = KB Depth
[[LFO]]
MG Key Sync = Key Sync
MG Tempo Sync = TmpoSync
MG Base Note = Base Note
MG Frequency = Rate
MG Delay Time = Delay
MG Level = Depth
MG Destination = Destination
[[ADSR]]
EG Attack = Attack
EG Decay = Decay
EG Sustain = Sustain
EG Release = Release
VCA Mode = VCA Mode
VCA Attenuator = VCA Lvl
[[Arp]]
Arpeggio = Arp Tgl
Arp Key Sync = Key Sync
Arp Tempo Sync = TmpoSync
Arp Base Note = BaseNote
Arp Times = Times
Arp Range = Range
Arp Mode = Mode
Arp Speed = Speed
Arp Latch = Latch
[[FX]]
FX Mode = FX Mode
FX Spread = Spread
FX Speed = Speed
[[Master]]
Volume = Volume
Tune = Tune
Pan = Pan
Pitch Bend Range = PtchBndRnge
Transpose = Transpose
Pitch Fine = Pitch Fine
Analog = Analog
Unison Detune = Unison Detune
[[Bank 5]]
Hold = Hold
"Parameter #34" = "Parameter #34"
"Parameter #35" = "Parameter #35"
"Parameter #36" = "Parameter #36"
"Parameter #37" = "Parameter #37"
"Parameter #38" = "Parameter #38"
"Parameter #39" = "Parameter #39"
"Parameter #40" = "Parameter #40"
[[Bank 6]]
"Parameter #41" = "Parameter #41"
"Parameter #42" = "Parameter #42"
"Parameter #43" = "Parameter #43"
"Parameter #44" = "Parameter #44"
"Parameter #45" = "Parameter #45"
"Parameter #46" = "Parameter #46"
"Parameter #47" = "Parameter #47"
"Parameter #48" = "Parameter #48"
[[Bank 7]]
Tempo = Tempo
MIDI Sync = MIDI Sync
[[Bank 8]]
MG Times = MG Times
[[Bank 9]]
"Parameter #65" = "Parameter #65"
"Parameter #66" = "Parameter #66"
"Parameter #67" = "Parameter #67"
"Parameter #68" = "Parameter #68"
"Parameter #69" = "Parameter #69"
"Parameter #70" = "Parameter #70"
"Parameter #71" = "Parameter #71"
"Parameter #72" = "Parameter #72"
[[Bank 10]]
"Parameter #73" = "Parameter #73"
"Parameter #74" = "Parameter #74"
"Parameter #75" = "Parameter #75"
"Parameter #76" = "Parameter #76"
Unison Spread = Unison Spread
"Parameter #79" = "Parameter #79"
"Parameter #80" = "Parameter #80"
[[Bank 11]]
"Parameter #81" = "Parameter #81"
"Parameter #82" = "Parameter #82"
"Parameter #83" = "Parameter #83"
"Parameter #84" = "Parameter #84"
"Parameter #85" = "Parameter #85"
"Parameter #86" = "Parameter #86"
"Parameter #87" = "Parameter #87"
"Parameter #88" = "Parameter #88"
[[Bank 12]]
"Parameter #89" = "Parameter #89"
"Parameter #90" = "Parameter #90"
"Parameter #91" = "Parameter #91"
"Parameter #92" = "Parameter #92"
"Parameter #93" = "Parameter #93"
"Parameter #94" = "Parameter #94"
"Parameter #95" = "Parameter #95"
"Parameter #96" = "Parameter #96"
[[Master2]]
"Parameter #19" = "Parameter #19"
[BestOfBank]
[[Bank]]
VCF Cutoff = Freq
VCF Resonance = Res
VCF EG Intensity = EnvDepth
VCO Wave Form = WaveForm
EG Attack = Attack
EG Decay = Decay
EG Sustain = Sustain
EG Release = Release
[Config]
Cache = False
Ignore = False
Last edited by MTG105 on Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MTG105
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:28 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by MTG105 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 1:03 am

Ive been trying for the last hour to figure out how to save custom mappings of the same plugin using instrument racks and I cant do it. Can someone please post step by step instructions on how to do so? I want to make a mapping for Monark. Thanks

Evengy
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:31 am

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by Evengy » Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:29 am

MTG105 wrote:Ive been trying for the last hour to figure out how to save custom mappings of the same plugin using instrument racks and I cant do it. Can someone please post step by step instructions on how to do so? I want to make a mapping for Monark. Thanks
The hash is an md5 hash of all the parameter names the device presents to Live, in the order they are presented. What this means in real terms is that there can be multiple mappings present for the same device, if the device has been loaded with a different set (or order) of parameters exposed (in the "Configure" section of the device) each time.

i think you need a rack and you must change the order or set in rack-mapping mode

Evengy
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:31 am

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by Evengy » Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:36 am

@tom_d

i´ve got the same problem like tedlogan:

Yeah, running into some problems tonight. The community mappings keep getting overwritten as soon as I load a Live device - all the banks are unnamed again - Bank1, bank2 etc, and all the parameter names are back to default and scrambled all over the place.


maybe it´s better to export the community mappings into your .cfg format to have more control.

@all
does anyone have a ubermap diva mapping?

MTG105
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:28 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by MTG105 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:18 pm

Evengy wrote:
MTG105 wrote:Ive been trying for the last hour to figure out how to save custom mappings of the same plugin using instrument racks and I cant do it. Can someone please post step by step instructions on how to do so? I want to make a mapping for Monark. Thanks
The hash is an md5 hash of all the parameter names the device presents to Live, in the order they are presented. What this means in real terms is that there can be multiple mappings present for the same device, if the device has been loaded with a different set (or order) of parameters exposed (in the "Configure" section of the device) each time.

i think you need a rack and you must change the order or set in rack-mapping mode
Ok so I load a VST like Reaktor, load Monark, 'configure' all the params manually be clicking on each one and setting the order, then save the instance within an instrument rack? Then load it again and edit the newly created Realtor cfg file? Or do I edit the instrument rack cfg? Should autopopulate be on or off for this?

Thanks

tom_d
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:20 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by tom_d » Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:33 pm

MTG105 wrote:Ive been trying for the last hour to figure out how to save custom mappings of the same plugin using instrument racks and I cant do it. Can someone please post step by step instructions on how to do so? I want to make a mapping for Monark. Thanks
Yep, as posted above, you need to load the plugin and ensemble you want (in this case load Monark into Reaktor) and then group to an instrument rack, and drag that to your user library. Now whenever you drag in that rack from your library, it'll be loaded up with Monark. Then you can figure out which cfg file corresponds to Monark and you should be sorted.

BTW I already have a Monark mappings included as an example :) https://github.com/tomduncalf/ubermap/b ... cd63a6.cfg

You might need to copy/paste the contents into your file, if the hash is different, but if you have AutoPopulateThreshold set correctly it should be the same hash.
Ubermap: simple, free bank and parameter remapping for AudioUnit and VST devices for Push and Push 2: http://ubermap.live

tom_d
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:20 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by tom_d » Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:34 pm

MTG105 wrote:
Evengy wrote:
MTG105 wrote:Ive been trying for the last hour to figure out how to save custom mappings of the same plugin using instrument racks and I cant do it. Can someone please post step by step instructions on how to do so? I want to make a mapping for Monark. Thanks
The hash is an md5 hash of all the parameter names the device presents to Live, in the order they are presented. What this means in real terms is that there can be multiple mappings present for the same device, if the device has been loaded with a different set (or order) of parameters exposed (in the "Configure" section of the device) each time.

i think you need a rack and you must change the order or set in rack-mapping mode
Ok so I load a VST like Reaktor, load Monark, 'configure' all the params manually be clicking on each one and setting the order, then save the instance within an instrument rack? Then load it again and edit the newly created Realtor cfg file? Or do I edit the instrument rack cfg? Should autopopulate be on or off for this?

Thanks
AutoPopulate on. Then each time you load a new ensemble, it will expose a different set of parameters and a new cfg will be exposed. You shouldn't need to change anything in the Configure screen for Monark.

Just for clarity, exact steps (from memory):

1. Load Live with AutoPopulateThreshold = -1
2. Drag Reaktor on to a track
3. Load Monark inside Reaktor
4. Group this Reaktor into an instrument rack
5. Drag this instrument rack to your user library and call it "Monark"
6. Go to the Ubermap/Devices folder, there should be at least 2 Reaktor5_xxxxx.cfg files. The most recently modified one should be Monark (you can check by opening it up and looking at the params), you can optionally delete the rest of the Reaktor cfgs if you want to keep things clean.
7. Open up the cfg and paste my config in, or create your own.
8. In future, just drag in your Monark rack from the user library. If it being in a rack bothers you (bit annoying as you have to press "In" an extra time every time you want to access the device params), then just ungroup it once you've dragged it in.

Triva: it was actually Monark which inspired me to write Ubermap as I was so blown away by the sound of it and wanted a really intuitive way to program it, I mapped it in the old "Configure" way but was really pissed off with having to pad each bank out with "useless" controls in order to group them together in a sensible way, and then having to remember which bank corresponded to what controls :)
Last edited by tom_d on Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Ubermap: simple, free bank and parameter remapping for AudioUnit and VST devices for Push and Push 2: http://ubermap.live

tom_d
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:20 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by tom_d » Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:35 pm

Evengy wrote:@tom_d

i´ve got the same problem like tedlogan:

Yeah, running into some problems tonight. The community mappings keep getting overwritten as soon as I load a Live device - all the banks are unnamed again - Bank1, bank2 etc, and all the parameter names are back to default and scrambled all over the place.


maybe it´s better to export the community mappings into your .cfg format to have more control.
Are you using the latest version? I thought I'd fixed this, but maybe not. And yeah, exporting the community mappings is on my to-do list :) sadly the list gets longer and my free time gets shorter but we'll get there in the end ;)
Ubermap: simple, free bank and parameter remapping for AudioUnit and VST devices for Push and Push 2: http://ubermap.live

MTG105
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:28 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by MTG105 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 6:24 pm

Ok thanks, I got it. 2 Questions:

1. How can I set Ignore=False by default?
2. Would it be possible to create an ubermap for 2 plugins contained within a single instrument rack? Lets say I wanted to map a Kontakt synth patch using Cytomic's the Drop as the filter (cuz Kontakt's filters blow!) Is there anyway I could get push to see these 2 as one device and access The Drop's filter settings as a bank within the Kontakt instrument?

Cheers
Last edited by MTG105 on Thu Mar 06, 2014 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Evengy
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:31 am

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by Evengy » Thu Mar 06, 2014 6:31 pm

tom_d wrote:
Evengy wrote:@tom_d

i´ve got the same problem like tedlogan:

Yeah, running into some problems tonight. The community mappings keep getting overwritten as soon as I load a Live device - all the banks are unnamed again - Bank1, bank2 etc, and all the parameter names are back to default and scrambled all over the place.


maybe it´s better to export the community mappings into your .cfg format to have more control.
Are you using the latest version? I thought I'd fixed this, but maybe not. And yeah, exporting the community mappings is on my to-do list :) sadly the list gets longer and my free time gets shorter but we'll get there in the end ;)
i downloaded it again and it works, haha ^^ downloaded your file on different computers so it was my fault again (also too much to do in my free time) ;D but now everything is fine, thanks again!

tom_d
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:20 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by tom_d » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:03 pm

?
MTG105 wrote:Ok thanks, I got it. 2 Questions:

1. How can I set Ignore=False by default?
2. Would it be possible to create an ubermap for 2 plugins contained within a single instrument rack? Lets say I wanted to map a Kontakt synth patch using Cytomic's the Drop as the filter (cuz Kontakt's filters blow!) Is there anyway I could get push to see these 2 as one device and access The Drop's filter settings as a bank within the Kontakt instrument?

Cheers
1. You can't do this at the minute - I could make an option to do it if you think it'd be useful, but the idea is that it skips all the Ubermap stuff if you haven't customised a device, which should make it a bit quicker. BTW I'd be interested to know if anyone has noticed any performance/responsiveness impact using the script? It seems OK to me, however a new feature I'm adding makes a noticeable difference so I'll be improving the performance of the code before releasing that :)

2. Was going to say no, but actually I'm not sure! I'll try and find out - my gut feeling is no, but maybe it is possible with a rack...
Ubermap: simple, free bank and parameter remapping for AudioUnit and VST devices for Push and Push 2: http://ubermap.live

MTG105
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:28 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by MTG105 » Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:49 am

Ok now Im having a strange issue mapping Arturia's SEM. I setup the VST within an instrument rack the same way as I did Monark and I do my mapping, but when I play a note, all the param names and the groupings revert back to their original settings, erasing my custom labels. Bank names stay the same and are not affected. Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks

tom_d
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:20 pm

Re: Ubermap (Alpha, Mac-only): Simple Push parameter remapping

Post by tom_d » Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:12 am

MTG105 wrote:Ok now Im having a strange issue mapping Arturia's SEM. I setup the VST within an instrument rack the same way as I did Monark and I do my mapping, but when I play a note, all the param names and the groupings revert back to their original settings, erasing my custom labels. Bank names stay the same and are not affected. Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks
All I can think that would be causing that, is that when you play a note, it changes some of the parameters that are displayed (maybe just changing their name... e.g. "Filter cutoff" might become "Note 1 cutoff" or something). You could test this by seeing if a new config is created when you play a note - delete all but your one config, play a note and see if a new config has been created. Feel free to PM over both the configs if that is the case, as I don't have the plugin in question so can't test myself.

If that is the case, one potential fix would be for me to add an option to disable the md5 hash for a particular plugin (which was something I planned to do, but haven't had the need yet) - so rather than SEM_xxxxxx.cfg, just SEM.cfg and it loads that regardless of what parameters are exposed. Wouldn't be too hard to add that, so let me know if that does seem to be what is happening.

If it's not that, then maybe there's some weird bug! I will see if there is a demo of SEM available. Damn you people, making me download the demos of these plugins that I've been trying to avoid using because I know I'll want to buy them (Diva, SEM...) ;) heh
Ubermap: simple, free bank and parameter remapping for AudioUnit and VST devices for Push and Push 2: http://ubermap.live

Post Reply