Page 1 of 1

Showstopper-How do I get Push Recognized w/o Restart'g Live?

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 4:48 am
by annadyne
My Fellow Pushers -
How can I get Push recognized with re-starting Live? Manual says Live can do it. Manual lies.
Even if Push has AC power, nothing seems to work, short of re-booting Live.
Version 9.1.7.

Tried Push Power-On + hold Push Shift key = nope.

Push Power-on + Push's Play button = nope. Just get multi-light-up in popsicle colors - still no recognition.
Obviously, this is literally a show stopper if Push drops out of recognition in middle of a Live set.

Poops.

Is there a way to transition from either of these initial start-up modes to a recognizable state?

Use Max for Live? I have 9 Suite.
Clyphx?
PXT or PXT plus?

Reboot Bome MT-player or Audio/MIDI in Mac?

Try to re-scan and refresh USB ports?

Am really enjoying working with this thing - despite its current limitations, I've become a Push-a-holic! Except for this one thing. Actually a bunch of thingies but this is the biggest for me since I'm already using it in shows, despite being such a newbie.

I've tried and tried to find a forum answer but no luck!

FRRRRRustrated, and big thanks in advance!
Liz (Ableton yewser since version 2)

PS It'd be SUPER HANDY to operate all Push functions one-handed - per strangeangle's 4/24/15 post!!

Re: Showstopper-How do I get Push Recognized w/o Restart'g Live?

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 3:54 pm
by towers of silence
I've had a similar issue lately, I solved it by using a new USB cable. I'm not sure exactly what the issue was since I tried the cable that had started working intermittently with my Push with other devices and it seems to work fine when connected to, say, my printer, but whenever i swapped back to it from the new cable that I was using with my Push it would stop being recognized so clearly there was some issue with it! So try a new cable

Re: Showstopper-How do I get Push Recognized w/o Restart'g Live?

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:04 pm
by login
Mine has always reconnected after turning it off/on.

[FIXED] Showstopper-How to Get Push Recognzd w/o Restart'g L

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:58 am
by annadyne
UPDATE:

FYI Ableton Support was very gracious in personally responding to me!

I updated to 9.1.10 (since I can't yet switch to 9.2 without doing Apple OS X upgrade)
and BY JOVIAL I've got my Push on/off NO-REBOOT-LIVE functionality!

While Push is still far from perfect this fix moves my user and Live Performance experience into a different stratorsphere ~~~

Thanks, Abes!!

-Liz

Re: Showstopper-How do I get Push Recognized w/o Restart'g Live?

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:57 am
by doghouse
Just wanted to add that after years of frustrations with USB devices not always being recognized I do two things:

Always connect everything before powering up the computer.

Never let the computer go to sleep.