Polyrhythm (Not Polymeter) Step Sequencing on Push?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
cabletone
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:55 pm

Polyrhythm (Not Polymeter) Step Sequencing on Push?

Post by cabletone » Fri Nov 06, 2015 6:29 pm

Is it possible to step sequence polyrhythms on Push?

An example of the type of polyrhythm I'm talking about below--which shows 3,4, and 5 beats per bar, rather than just different length bars.

I don't have a Push but I'm thinking about getting one, however polyrhythms are a big part of my music, I am interested in having hands on control of them--being able to adjust each note like I've seen done on Push with more common 4/4 beats.

Image

Ark1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:36 pm

Re: Polyrhythm (Not Polymeter) Step Sequencing on Push?

Post by Ark1 » Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:32 am

I'm also trying to figure this out. I know there is a work around with the clips on the DAW screen (stretch notes). But I can't workout how to do with this within push 2, live/on the fly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

garyboozy
Posts: 2606
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Polyrhythm (Not Polymeter) Step Sequencing on Push?

Post by garyboozy » Tue Mar 29, 2016 4:04 pm

it's not possible natively, but Skinnerbox's Time & Timbre pack (Max for Live add-on) has the excellent Time sequencer device which is great for polyrhythms and works with Push (soon to work with Push 2 too)

https://www.ableton.com/en/packs/time-t ... kinnerbox/

sbx
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Polyrhythm (Not Polymeter) Step Sequencing on Push?

Post by sbx » Sun Apr 03, 2016 9:05 am

actually, time and timbre already works with push 2 :)

Post Reply