All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 7:15 am 

Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 6:57 am
Posts: 4
So I was playing with push 1 and push 2 side by side. I just noticed that if you just keep your finger on the pad (not triggered) and press it hard on the push 2, it gives a high velocity note. So far my assumption for velocity was the harder you hit on the pad, the higher will be the velocity of the note, but here, even if you are not hitting hard on the pad, just pressing it hard will give a high velocity note. Is this a feature or a bug?

Secondly if feel like the range of aftertouch from min pressure to max pressure is pretty low. It is very hard to slowly modulate the aftertouch and stay in between the range. Mostly you will get to the extremes of the aftertouch range. you also have to press really hard to really activate aftertouch on the pads.

Is anybody else noticing this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:48 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
Yes, exactly the same on my Push2. I hope these things can be fixed with a firmware update. The max volume when pushing on a pad you are already touching is very annoying because it causes occasional spikes in amplitude when you are trying to play softly and slowly.

I read that Push1 had some extra Settings, so there is a good chance the Aftertouch will be adjustable in an update. This may fix both issues.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:03 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
They'll probably address this in a firmware update.

I do hope its aftertouch will be at least as good as Push 1's. Push V1's initial AT was pretty poor, but after 9.2, the default was very good (for me at least), with it being adjustable as well.

Same thoughts on velocity.

Strange, everyone is raving about how much easier and better Push 2 is to play, yet how can this be with these issues?

I do not find Push 1 hard to play at all btw, in fact it is perfectly fine.

_________________
artstation
soundcloud
youtube


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:33 am 

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 47
I haven't got a Push 2 but I'm also surprised by some comments that I've read saying the Push 1 is hard to play.

The only reason I can come up with for that is that those people haven't discovered the menu to adjust the sensitivity. I found mine pretty unresponsive at the default which I believe was zero, but I've got it set on -15 now, and it is very sensitive with no stuck pads. -17 and below I believe gives me stuck pads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:51 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Posts: 7133
Location: right here
did you guys report this and if so what was the response?

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aalWO_NsyRY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:59 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
Yes, I reported it yesterday. Support response was to ask if I had Accent engaged. Obviously, this is not the cause of the issue but I imagine they get a lot of support tickets that are down to basic user-error.

I plan to make a video later to show them what is happening.

Just to reiterate here: if I place my finger lightly on a pad such that it doesn't trigger and then press down suddenly, a midi note with velocity of exactly 127 is generated. This is regardless of Accent and Pad settings.

I would like to know if this is happening on everyone's Push2 or whether I have a defective unit.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:47 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:49 pm
Posts: 9
Yep exactly the same on mine rikrak.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:56 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
Here's the video I'm sending to Support to illustrate the problem with unwanted Max Pad Velocity:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QskR9t2mtw

If everyone's Push 2 behaves like this I will try to work around it until it may be fixed by a firmware update. (eg using a Chain to ignore any velocity over, say, 120).

If it's a manufacturing fault only apparent on some machines, I would rather return my Push 2 and get a replacement.

Apologies for hijacking your thread doomdev. I agree on your other point, that the aftertouch has a narrow range of pad movement and is difficult to use from a performance point of view.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:14 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 544
Location: Oklahoma City
rikrak wrote:
Here's the video I'm sending to Support to illustrate the problem with unwanted Max Pad Velocity:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QskR9t2mtw

If everyone's Push 2 behaves like this I will try to work around it until it may be fixed by a firmware update. (eg using a Chain to ignore any velocity over, say, 120).

If it's a manufacturing fault only apparent on some machines, I would rather return my Push 2 and get a replacement.

Apologies for hijacking your thread doomdev. I agree on your other point, that the aftertouch has a narrow range of pad movement and is difficult to use from a performance point of view.


Good video mate - I'll double-check tonight but I was certainly getting that exact behavior a week ago (over the weekend I was mostly playing with Accent engaged so I wouldn't have noticed this).

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/shiftgorden


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:39 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 6:47 pm
Posts: 6
Seeing the same issue here.

Paradoxically it seems to particularly jump out when I'm pressing notes with my little finger as I tend to hit a lot softer with it.

I've submitted a bug report on https://ableton.centercode.com - will update if I hear anything back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:44 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 1200
Location: Ableton
Hi everyone!
What pad settings are you using?

_________________
Ableton Forum Moderator


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 6:14 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
It is nothing to do with Pad Settings, as we have said in this thread, the other threads, the video and the support tickets.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 6:32 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 6:47 pm
Posts: 6
[jur] wrote:
Hi everyone!
What pad settings are you using?


I've tried with a wide range of pad settings but the behaviour stays the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:49 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:01 pm
Posts: 227
same here, no matter off the settings...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:10 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
I just received a response from Support. They were able to reproduce the issue. They are not sure whether it is a bug or expected behaviour but the developers are going to take a look at it.

If it is expected behaviour, I am hopeful that a future update will give us more control over the Pad Settings so that we can choose to turn the Pressure->Velocity mapping off or lower it significantly.

I'll post back here if Support get back to me with any comment from the developers.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group