All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:55 pm 

Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 6:57 am
Posts: 4
Thanks for making the video @rikrak Hope we can get this issue fixed.
I like the display and the sampling features in the push 2, but I really like the playability of the push 1.

I don't feel like I have not good control over the aftertouch and the velocity while playing push 2 from a performance standpoint.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:03 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
Yeah, the playability of the pads is the main reason I got a Push. I don't do much with samples and I could live without the fancy graphics.

I'm tempted to send it back and get a second-hand Push1 while the prices are so low. I keep hearing how the Push1 pads are fine so long as you are not too bothered about colour consistency.

Hopefully Ableton will address the issue officially, one way or the other, soon.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:10 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
I'm pretty confident Ableton will fix this. If it starts looking, for whatever reason, that they cannot or will not, then I will have to disappoint my brother and not sell my old Push to him, and skip on Push 2.

It's paramount that the pads are at least as good as Push 1 for expressive playing without any weirdness, otherwise it will be a downgrade for me. Push 1 with -9 sensitivity is perfect for me.

_________________
artstation
soundcloud
youtube


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 6:57 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
Just had an update from Support.

The Push 2 devs have confirmed it is a bug and that it affects all units. They have promised to address it in a future update, although it may not make the upcoming 9.5.1.

That's good news. If you are experiencing this problem, your Push 2 doesn't have a hardware defect and it's only a temporary annoyance.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 9:07 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Posts: 7133
Location: right here
way to go rikrak..... thank you!

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aalWO_NsyRY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 9:18 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Excellent, thanks for the update

_________________
artstation
soundcloud
youtube


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 11:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 6:57 am
Posts: 4
That's an awesome news @rikrak..!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:26 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:30 pm
Posts: 1
rikrak wrote:
Here's the video I'm sending to Support to illustrate the problem with unwanted Max Pad Velocity:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QskR9t2mtw

If everyone's Push 2 behaves like this I will try to work around it until it may be fixed by a firmware update. (eg using a Chain to ignore any velocity over, say, 120).

If it's a manufacturing fault only apparent on some machines, I would rather return my Push 2 and get a replacement.

Apologies for hijacking your thread doomdev. I agree on your other point, that the aftertouch has a narrow range of pad movement and is difficult to use from a performance point of view.


What software are you using for the MIDI monitor?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:57 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
>>What software are you using for the MIDI monitor?

I can't check right now but it was a free VST which I downloaded for the purposes of the demonstration. (i usually monitor using my Midipal).

EDIT: It was this one - http://www.kvraudio.com/product/midimonitor-by-insert-piz-here

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:28 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:23 pm
Posts: 1
is the bug fixed?
played on a push2 at a music-store and sometimes a drum i didn't hit came.
maybe it's because that push got pushed to hard.
is it worth buying push? does it fasten your workflow? or is it making music more intuitive?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:31 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:50 am
Posts: 6
I'm still having this issue and it's quite annoying. When working with others, this happens, then I get a stabbing look like "wtf are you doing?". When you're jamming live this is sooo unacceptable. The maxed velocity all of a sudden causes a great deal of disruption, offends everyones ears and screws up the whole vibe.

Trying to explain it is usually pointless, cause they look at it like "damn, you spent that much on a controller that doesn't even work properly". And this has been a KNOWN problem for how f'ing long now...

Fix it already...christ, man. Shoulda be a friggin urgent update, or else people can't even play the god damn thing live.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:48 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
I returned my Push 2 with a view to picking one up again once this bug was fixed. The fact that it hasn't been fixed yet could mean that it is a fault with the physical hardware itself or just that Ableton have limited developer resources and a backlog of stuff to code. I assume most people are working around it by adjusting their playing style but for me it was a deal breaker.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 11:08 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:50 am
Posts: 6
Yeah, no one should have to alter their style due to a hardware or software defect in a unit that costs this much...

Am I alone in thinking that it kinda seems to me that they worked/partnered with Akai for the Push1 in order to gather their engineering/software/intellectual concepts behind the MPC, then cut them out of the deal altogether when they came out with this unit...?

It's a great piece of equipment, but even though they built it "from the bottom up" as I have read, they really could not have done it without the concepts or building blocks of the MPC technology.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:33 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 6:47 pm
Posts: 6
This has been fixed in the 9.7 beta.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Velocity on Push 2: Bug???
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:54 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
antoinevg wrote:
This has been fixed in the 9.7 beta.


That's good to know, thanks.

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group