Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Mikhailmusic
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:32 am

Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Mikhailmusic » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:09 am

Hey guys I was an owner of the first push. I loved everything about it but I sold it because I use a lot of audio samples in my workflow. I picked up Maschine Studio and it works perfect for my sampling needs. Now with Push 2 catering to my workflow with the support of audio samples AND full integration with Ableton Live...I wanna sell my Maschine Studio and get back on the Push wagon.

With Maschine Studio, I love how I can see all my custom audio samples on the box, load 3rd party plugin vsts//fx, and manipulate my audio samples easily. What I didn't like was arranging within the Maschine software. I still ended up going back to the computer, drag and stem out to Logic Pro X for mixing/arranging. I like how now I can make a full production just by looking at Push 2.

I would love some opinions with those who have experience in Maschine Studio and Push 2. Are there noticeable differences you like/dislike between the two? Just from my research alone, Push 2 seems to be the answer to all my needs.

Thanks!
Mik

Dillinger63
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:12 am

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Dillinger63 » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:28 am

I have both Maschine Studio and Push 2. If you have the $ for both I'd keep the Studio as I'm sure there are updates being worked on as we speak that if you sell your Studio you will regret it once they came out.

Buleriachk
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Buleriachk » Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:43 am

There is no Push 2 vs. Maschine Studio.
There is only Push 2 AND Maschine Studio.

Machinesworking
Posts: 11105
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Machinesworking » Thu Nov 12, 2015 2:55 am

Buleriachk wrote:There is no Push 2 vs. Maschine Studio.
There is only Push 2 AND Maschine Studio.
OR is an option as well. :x

Until PXT General comes out for Push 2 it's Maschine AND Push 1 for me. :x

Tarekith
Posts: 17370
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Tarekith » Thu Nov 12, 2015 7:16 am

Personally if you're worried about arranging songs then I think Maschine Studio as the slight edge, as Push 2 doesn't really have support for arrange mode built in. I still find I go to the mouse with either MS or P2 when it gets to that point.

starving student
Posts: 7123
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by starving student » Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:53 am

I'd rather go to a nest of mice than arrange a song in maschine

muthafunka
Posts: 2233
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by muthafunka » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:49 pm

P1 just sold.
MS in auction.
P2 in the post.

That's just me.

Buleriachk
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Buleriachk » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:59 pm

I kept my Maschine Studio. I have K10 U, and the Arturia Collection, and the NKS browsing is really good, especially with Maschine as a VST in Live 9.5.1b1 + Push 2.

I am really happy, even though I did have to sell my grandmother and all her good silver... :)

(IMO, the sounds of K10U are way beyond those in Suite, although there are some nice things in the latter... And Maschine has all those Midi patterns to go with their kits as starting points...)

kb420
Posts: 2740
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Cydonia on the 4th Planet

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by kb420 » Fri Nov 13, 2015 2:14 am

Buleriachk wrote:There is no Push 2 vs. Maschine Studio.
There is only Push 2 AND Maschine Studio.
Image
H20nly wrote:fuck Bitwig.

lyovino
Posts: 509
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by lyovino » Fri Nov 13, 2015 2:17 am

Buleriachk wrote:I kept my Maschine Studio.

(IMO, the sounds of K10U are way beyond those in Suite, although there are some nice things in the latter... And Maschine has all those Midi patterns to go with their kits as starting points...)
I pretty much have the same set up only I'm still working with push one and the added edition of the S 49 keyboard plus maschine studio. I'd have to agree having all the additional midi grooves that you can purchase for machine is a big plus to help you get going. If they did that for push I think I would just resort to the S 49 and push 2 and sell maschine studio. I'm not what you would consider a finger drummer by no means, and having the patterns for the kits is really great. Just drop one in adjust a few notes if you want to come up with different groove. Push 2 is on its way… I hate hoarding gear, I'm through with all that, I just like having in front of me what I need to work with productively. Amen brother! :mrgreen:
iMac, Intel Core i7, 2.8 GHz, 16GB
Yosemite, Live 9.xx Suite (64- bit)
Push, Apogee Ensemble

JonSolo
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:00 am

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by JonSolo » Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:01 am

Nevermind... :roll:
Windows 10 | Intel i7 4770 | 24 GB RAM | Scarlett 6i6 | Dual 27" monitors
Nektar Panorama P6 | Korg Kronos 88 | Push 2 | Maschine Mk2 | Blue Baby Bottle | JBL LSR308/310
Cubase Pro 8.5 | Ableton Live 9.7 | Reason 9 | FL Studio 12.3

Chingy
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Chingy » Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:09 am

What about compared to Maschine 2? I've been watching the Push 2 videos Ableton has and it has some pretty nice workflow for a number of things. The biggest gap (for me) for Push 1 was the browse ability in terms of loading in samples / sounds, especially from your own library - Maschine is quite good at that. However, that seems to be resolved with Push 2? What else does Maschine do better?

Buleriachk
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Buleriachk » Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:15 am

Wait'll Maschine/Komplete (NKS) and Push2 can browse each others' presets, not just vst's ... :)

.. and then there's Sampletank 3 .... :)

andyhsong
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:28 am

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by andyhsong » Sat Nov 21, 2015 9:35 am

kb420 wrote:
Buleriachk wrote:There is no Push 2 vs. Maschine Studio.
There is only Push 2 AND Maschine Studio.

sorry for not saying anything useful, but this setup is Dope! :mrgreen:

for what its worth, I sold my maschine mk2 a while ago and now I use Reason 8 and Ableton, with Push2 and an Akai MPK261 as my controllers. I think they make for a great combo. I have also had an MPC Studio at some point, but definitely prefer my current setup over all of them so far.

Mikhailmusic
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:32 am

Re: Push 2 vs Maschine Studio

Post by Mikhailmusic » Fri Dec 18, 2015 12:58 am

Just put my order in for Push 2 :). I decided to keep my Maschine Studio and see how I can fit it into my push 2/live 9.5 workflow. Anybody have experience on this? I've seen some posts lately where people are having issues using Maschine with the new 9.5 update.

Post Reply