Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by djadonis206 » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:38 pm

Can I copy and paste midi notes while in the melodic step sequencer?

Example: I dial in a three step note on step 1. I want to copy and paste that note to Step four.

Thanks
Ad!
Ableton | Elektron

Music

rikrak
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by rikrak » Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:16 pm

No. But coming from the Elektron sequencers, it's my most wanted feature.

Duplicate + pad should copy the Note and Automation settings (if any) for that step. Then pressing another, empty pad would paste it to that pad.

Add it to the feature requests. (Where do we submit feature requests for Push2 btw?)
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery

djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by djadonis206 » Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:09 am

hey - what up!

Well that's a bummer but not a deal breaker, I guess.
Ableton | Elektron

Music

Tarekith
Posts: 17333
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by Tarekith » Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:11 am

rikrak wrote:Add it to the feature requests. (Where do we submit feature requests for Push2 btw?)
Just in the Feature Request forum here works.

sporkles
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by sporkles » Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:07 pm

rikrak wrote:No. But coming from the Elektron sequencers, it's my most wanted feature.

Duplicate + pad should copy the Note and Automation settings (if any) for that step. Then pressing another, empty pad would paste it to that pad.
Brilliant and simple solution!

roby
Posts: 931
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by roby » Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:44 pm

To add to that, it would be great to move notes vertically and horizontally in Push, different from the "nudge" feature. Maybe something like press and hold a note, then use the "Page" and "Octave" buttons to shift left/right, up/down.

This plus the copy paste suggested by the OP would be a great way to keep arranging within Push while keeping the note integrity (keep velocity, note length, maybe even automation).

phil71x
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by phil71x » Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:19 pm

I want!

Strangely, if you hold down a pad (drum rack sequencer) and click on Duplicate it says: 'Clip duplicated' but from that I don't manage to do anything!

Am I missing something?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by [jur] » Thu May 05, 2016 10:19 pm

Have a look at the latest beta!!!
Ableton Forum Moderator

roby
Posts: 931
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by roby » Thu May 05, 2016 10:35 pm

[jur] wrote:Have a look at the latest beta!!!
That's great stuff!!! But why only for drum racks??? :cry:

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by [jur] » Thu May 12, 2016 5:37 pm

It also works in melodic sequencer mode...
Ableton Forum Moderator

jbone1313
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:44 am

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by jbone1313 » Mon May 23, 2016 9:21 pm

Does this only work for one note at a time, or is there a way to copy/paste the entire step (all notes; e.g. a whole chord)?

starving student
Posts: 7123
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by starving student » Tue May 24, 2016 5:07 am

so you can copy a note to any pad but can't simply assign a note to any pad?

NoSonic822
Posts: 700
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by NoSonic822 » Tue May 24, 2016 12:49 pm

u can duplicate drumpads too in drumracks

garyboozy
Posts: 2585
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by garyboozy » Thu May 26, 2016 1:08 pm

starving student wrote:so you can copy a note to any pad but can't simply assign a note to any pad?
you can. on the page where 'choke' lives, there's now a 'transpose' feature that lets you choose the note a pad will send.
ideally it should give a readout of which note it's sending (rather than the +/- values there now) but hopefully that'll be added later.

jbone1313
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:44 am

Re: Push 2: Is it possible to copy and paste notes?

Post by jbone1313 » Thu May 26, 2016 1:59 pm

Does this only work for one note at a time, or is there a way to copy/paste the entire step (all notes; e.g. a whole chord)?

For example, on the Octatrack, copying one step copies all notes of that chord.

Post Reply