Push 2 lags when loading a project

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
alex.buga
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:46 pm

Push 2 lags when loading a project

Post by alex.buga » Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:02 pm

Am I the only one who has to wait like 4-5 seconds or more until Push 2 initializes?
Every time I open Live or a new project it lags a lot. Also when loading waveforms on screen while switching between pads it lags a little. Might be the cable ?

TvR69
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 8:53 am

Re: Push 2 lags when loading a project

Post by TvR69 » Sun Nov 15, 2015 8:54 am

Here also a long waiting time after loading a project or start a new project...

Jbvdb
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Push 2 lags when loading a project

Post by Jbvdb » Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:39 pm

Same here it is no where near as immediate as old push!

dataf1ow
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:28 pm

Re: Push 2 lags when loading a project

Post by dataf1ow » Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:57 pm

4-5 seconds is not really that long, you save more time than that during the first few minutes of using the Push 2 with Live. I am almost certain it has to do with the display. It also affects other things, the script takes much longer to initialize for instance (tested with M4L devices).
Not really a big deal, IMO.

alex.buga
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:46 pm

Re: Push 2 lags when loading a project

Post by alex.buga » Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:23 pm

Yup, got a reply from tech support. It's normal due to the high data transfer between Push and Live.
Oh well, I'll just have to deal with it. It's too awesome :)

TheTechnobear
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:41 pm

Re: Push 2 lags when loading a project

Post by TheTechnobear » Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:35 pm

alex.buga wrote:Yup, got a reply from tech support. It's normal due to the high data transfer between Push and Live.
this is not strictly true... the time to send the data to the LCD is < 5ms.
I suspect, what is taking the time, is Live now sends a lot of state and model information to the process (Push2DisplayProcess) which communicates with the Push 2, using json. all this encoding/decoding is probably taking a long time, and its only when this is finally 'resolved' that it can then send the first image to the Push.
Hopefully in a later release they may be able to optimise this a bit.

(The push 1 by comparison, simply had to draw the current view, and was all done within the Ableton process)

Post Reply