Set default note length for melodic step sequencing?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
ObtuseMoose
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:51 am

Set default note length for melodic step sequencing?

Post by ObtuseMoose » Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:28 pm

When doing melodic step sequencing with Push (1 or 2), is there a way to set the default note length for new notes? I know I can adjust the length of individual notes either as I add them or after they've been added, but that's tedious for patterns of more than a few notes.

--
Moose
"all the musical ability of a blocked nostril"

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Set default note length for melodic step sequencing?

Post by Stromkraft » Sun Nov 15, 2015 5:08 pm

ObtuseMoose wrote:When doing melodic step sequencing with Push (1 or 2), is there a way to set the default note length for new notes? I know I can adjust the length of individual notes either as I add them or after they've been added, but that's tedious for patterns of more than a few notes.
ObtuseMoose, RTFM! :mrgreen: : 27.3.3 Step Sequencing Beats

If you're asking if you can change this default, then please be more clear on what you're asking.
Make some music!

djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: Set default note length for melodic step sequencing?

Post by djadonis206 » Sun Nov 15, 2015 6:09 pm

ObtuseMoose wrote:When doing melodic step sequencing with Push (1 or 2), is there a way to set the default note length for new notes? I know I can adjust the length of individual notes either as I add them or after they've been added, but that's tedious for patterns of more than a few notes.

--
Moose
I don't think it's possible but it's an awesome idea to set note lengths prior to inputting them.
Ableton | Elektron

Music

ObtuseMoose
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:51 am

Re: Set default note length for melodic step sequencing?

Post by ObtuseMoose » Sun Nov 15, 2015 6:20 pm

OK, let's see if I can be a bit more clear. :-)

I'm in melodic step sequencing mode. I hit the 1/8 button, so I have 8 steps per measure. By default, each note I enter sustains for the entire duration of its step. I don't want that. I want each of the 8 notes to only sustain for the duration of a 1/16th note.

I can press and hold each pad and use the encoders to change the note length to be 0.50 step, but I must do that press/hold/adjust for each note in the sequence, which is tedious. I could set the grid to 1/16 and just use every other step, but that gets unwieldy for something like four 1/32 notes per measure.

I would like to be able to tell Live that I want 8 steps per measure, but each step should only sustain for the length of a 1/16 note.

If this were a hardware step sequencer, I'd be asking about how to change the gate time.

More better?

--
Moose
"all the musical ability of a blocked nostril"

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Set default note length for melodic step sequencing?

Post by Stromkraft » Sun Nov 15, 2015 10:33 pm

ObtuseMoose wrote:OK, let's see if I can be a bit more clear. :-)



I would like to be able to tell Live that I want 8 steps per measure, but each step should only sustain for the length of a 1/16 note.
If this were a hardware step sequencer, I'd be asking about how to change the gate time.

More better?
Yes. I think I solved this kind of experience by ignoring the stupid sequencer and using PXT Live instead. Now, I don't know if you can do this there nor if you can in the melodic sequencer, but it's an interesting question.
Make some music!

Post Reply