Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
ash1
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:11 am

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by ash1 » Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:44 am

can you explain in more detail why it wont work

v00d00ppl
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:29 am
Location: Fremont, CA
Contact:

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by v00d00ppl » Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:59 pm

ash1 wrote:can you explain in more detail why it wont work
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M85 ... ge_o00_s00

I bought this and it wasn't working for the push 2 adapter. It was dim. The fittings work, but now power. :(
SSL X Desk / Apollo Twin Solo / Sherman Restyler / Ensoniq EPS Classic / Analog Keys / Handsome Audio Zulu

ash1
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:11 am

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by ash1 » Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:40 pm

oh i see i thought you were talking about aminoplacids suggested cable

aminoplacid
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 7:29 pm

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by aminoplacid » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:45 pm

That is the same cord I got. At first it did not give power as well so I pulled out my knife and cut off about 2 mm of plastic from the barrel. If you compare the barrel of the original plug tip to the extension plug tip, you will see that more of the metal tip is exposed on the Ableton version. So just trim to match and you should be in business.
Computer: MacBook Pro (2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM)
OS: Mac OSX 10.13.4
Peripherals: Allen & Heath ZED-10FX, Push 2, VoiceLive Touch 2, Pioneer DJ DDJ-SX2, Abstrakt Instruments Avalon

v00d00ppl
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:29 am
Location: Fremont, CA
Contact:

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by v00d00ppl » Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:47 pm

aminoplacid wrote:That is the same cord I got. At first it did not give power as well so I pulled out my knife and cut off about 2 mm of plastic from the barrel. If you compare the barrel of the original plug tip to the extension plug tip, you will see that more of the metal tip is exposed on the Ableton version. So just trim to match and you should be in business.

Thanks for this info. I will try this out this weekend.
SSL X Desk / Apollo Twin Solo / Sherman Restyler / Ensoniq EPS Classic / Analog Keys / Handsome Audio Zulu

Mr Zeus
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:55 pm

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by Mr Zeus » Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:55 pm

Did anyone find a solution to the cable length problem?

ash1
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:11 am

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by ash1 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:35 pm

the cable i bought just didnt work so i gave up and just bought an extention cable a normal one

Mr Zeus
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:55 pm

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by Mr Zeus » Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:27 pm

ash1 wrote:the cable i bought just didnt work so i gave up and just bought an extention cable a normal one


You mean a standard extension for the wall plug rather than an extension for the ac adaptor cable?

That wouldn't work for me - the Push is on a wheeled stand and needs to move around. Don't really want to pull a power block around with it.

ash1
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:11 am

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by ash1 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:37 am

yes a normal extension mines is on a stand as well i dont think there is any other option not that i have found

fishmonkey
Posts: 4096
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by fishmonkey » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:32 am

you could just DIY an extension power cable...
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

CH7
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by CH7 » Mon May 14, 2018 1:30 pm

v00d00ppl wrote:
ash1 wrote:can you explain in more detail why it wont work
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M85 ... ge_o00_s00

I bought this and it wasn't working for the push 2 adapter. It was dim. The fittings work, but now power. :(
Dam, I've just ordered something like this, eg 2.5mm X 5.5mm extension cable.

If this doesn't work, the other solution would be to simply splice the cable, eg cut the cable and add wire.
It could be that at 12ft, [or 3m] it was too long to carry enough current from the stock supply to the Push 2.

I do wish Ableton supplied specific info on the tip size they used. It could be the tip size is particular to Ableton,
where the outer dimensions seems to match, but the insides of the extension adaptor isn't actually contacting the pin.
In which case a bit of foil inside the extension pin should work.

Meantime i have an apparently useless order on its way to me. ;(

[followup]

So i've just recive this cable x2, and guess what? It doesn't fit at the Push 2 end.

I can't say if i was supplied a 2.1 instead of a 2.5 because i have no way of measuring, and we still don't actually
know the size that the push 2 requires.

As it happens i found a small adaptor which changes the tip size to one which works with the push, so in that regard the extension cables will still find a use.

But right now i can't recommend the extension lead, simply because i can't say for certain if what i ordered as
2.5 X 5.5, was sent as that size, or even what size that adaptor is. ;(
Last edited by CH7 on Thu May 17, 2018 11:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

CH7
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: Push 2 power supply with longer cable?

Post by CH7 » Mon May 14, 2018 1:33 pm

ash1 wrote:the push 2 power supply short cable is very frustrating
how are people getting past this im in the uk
what is the best method
im not sure if the methods above are suitable for the uk or are they
thx in advance
i sent an email to ableton maybe they will have a solution

reply from ableton

At this point, we have only the one model you got with your Push box. As long as you use a third-party AC adapter with the exact same specifications, there should not be any issues with it.

Please follow this link for the specifications, but more importantly, please have a look at the specifications on the AC adapter itself:
https://www.ableton.com/en/push/tech-specs/
This link doesn't supply specific info on the power supply 'tip' dimensions required to fit the push 2.

Post Reply