APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
DVIZION
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:42 pm
Contact:

APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Post by DVIZION » Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:54 pm

I am picking up the Ableton Push 2 in a few days. I also wanted to run an APC40mkII along with it but the Push 2 seems pretty easy to navigate through out tracks and switch between clips and instruments. I am curious if anyone
Is currently running this setup (Push And APC40 In general) and also curious to see if your Apc40 Makes the experience better or if it just collects dust and looks pretty. Thanks!

bosonHavoc
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Post by bosonHavoc » Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:47 am

on stage I use a push and APC 40 combo (plus Quneo) and I love that set up

in the studio the APC 40 stays with my live rig collects dust, except when i practice my set.
I do use the Push daily in the studio and love it.
I also have an ipad with touchable next to my push
mainly for the auto updated track faders and clip launch grid.

DVIZION
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Post by DVIZION » Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:46 am

bosonHavoc wrote:on stage I use a push and APC 40 combo (plus Quneo) and I love that set up

in the studio the APC 40 stays with my live rig collects dust, except when i practice my set.
I do use the Push daily in the studio and love it.
I also have an ipad with touchable next to my push
mainly for the auto updated track faders and clip launch grid.
Interesting... What is the advantage using both with live versus Live with just Push 2?

Tagor
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Post by Tagor » Fri Feb 12, 2016 6:07 am

I would stay with the APC40mk1&Push2 if they Fix the Velo-Bugs

and i have the same setup - push1 & Apc4o - its just the bread & butter things - specially because
zhe APC40 is build like a tank (exept the faders) and its versatile in midi-amppings- what push is not.

bosonHavoc
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Post by bosonHavoc » Fri Feb 12, 2016 6:47 am

DVIZION wrote:
bosonHavoc wrote:on stage I use a push and APC 40 combo (plus Quneo) and I love that set up

in the studio the APC 40 stays with my live rig collects dust, except when i practice my set.
I do use the Push daily in the studio and love it.
I also have an ipad with touchable next to my push
mainly for the auto updated track faders and clip launch grid.
Interesting... What is the advantage using both with live versus Live with just Push 2?
On stage the APC 40 is my clip launcher, scene launcher, Volume, and Effect controls

The Push 2 is my instrument

Quneo is an effects pad

While performing everything has a dedicated function and I can just be fluid and expressive.

login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Post by login » Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:30 pm

Personally I would pick a mixer surface instead of APC, like the Livid DS1.

bobbyduracel
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:07 pm
Location: Durango, CO
Contact:

Re: APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Post by bobbyduracel » Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:02 pm

Old thread, I know - but has anyone actually been able to order a DS1 in the past year or two? I've tried a few times. It looks like the right box for the job alongside Push 2, but no luck with actually finding one available to order.
#livefullycharged

blof_eld
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:59 am

Re: APC40mkII & Push 2 Worth it?

Post by blof_eld » Mon May 14, 2018 6:46 am

Novation LaunchControl XL looks similar and probably cheaper.

Post Reply