Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
TinAxe106
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:12 am

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by TinAxe106 » Sun Feb 19, 2017 9:31 pm

Worked it out - had not followed Tom's instructions carefully enough.

Just sent the great man a tenner as thanks to him, I am now programming my VSTs like hardware and at lightspeed on Push 2 (once you change BANK for a meaningful word like Filter, sound design is a breeze).
Have copied my donation email below - we need to look after people like Tom since Ableton (perhaps inevitably) cannot please all of us all of the time - BUT PLEASE, ABLETON, INCLUDE THIS ESSENTIAL, FUNCTIONALITY AS STANDARD.

---------------------

Hi Tom,

Here's a tenner to say thank you for taking the time to work out how to make Push 2 show bank names, parameters etc. when using third party VSTs. It absolutely transforms their usability, quickness to programme etc.

Cannot believe that this functionality is not built into Live and worried about updated versions changing the python code and you not having the time/inclination to adjust your code/"fix" accordingly. Please keep up the great work - forever!

Kind regards, Charlie.

Chingy
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by Chingy » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:31 am

TinAxe106 wrote:Worked it out - had not followed Tom's instructions carefully enough.
What ended up being the issue? I am trying to get it to work on OS X and having some trouble with Live 9.7.1. I believe the install worked as expect because I'm getting cfg files generated in the Ubermap directory, but they don't contain any parameter names at all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated - thanks!

doublestop
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:04 am

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by doublestop » Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:52 pm

Chingy wrote:
TinAxe106 wrote:Worked it out - had not followed Tom's instructions carefully enough.
What ended up being the issue? I am trying to get it to work on OS X and having some trouble with Live 9.7.1. I believe the install worked as expect because I'm getting cfg files generated in the Ubermap directory, but they don't contain any parameter names at all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated - thanks!
For what it's worth, I was successful in getting it to work! My main difficulty turned out to be my own confusion about where the editable configuration file is located. If you are looking in the wrong library location, you could be editing a file that is not making any difference because it is not being "read" by Ubermap. In my case I had several Use library locations from past configuration. Once I found the correct location I discovered that the changes I made worked, as documented.

Chingy
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by Chingy » Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:27 am

doublestop wrote:
Chingy wrote:
TinAxe106 wrote:Worked it out - had not followed Tom's instructions carefully enough.
What ended up being the issue? I am trying to get it to work on OS X and having some trouble with Live 9.7.1. I believe the install worked as expect because I'm getting cfg files generated in the Ubermap directory, but they don't contain any parameter names at all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated - thanks!
For what it's worth, I was successful in getting it to work! My main difficulty turned out to be my own confusion about where the editable configuration file is located. If you are looking in the wrong library location, you could be editing a file that is not making any difference because it is not being "read" by Ubermap. In my case I had several Use library locations from past configuration. Once I found the correct location I discovered that the changes I made worked, as documented.
I ended up going with PrEditor instead. Costs money, but is working great so far.

Sarrova-Q
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by Sarrova-Q » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:20 am

Hey. Is there any possibility to prevent Ubermap from making new .cfg files?

I created a few mappings for my favourite software, but I don't want Ubermap to make hundreds of automatic files for ALL my plugins.

Thank you!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:34 pm

Sarrova-Q wrote:Hey. Is there any possibility to prevent Ubermap from making new .cfg files?

I created a few mappings for my favourite software, but I don't want Ubermap to make hundreds of automatic files for ALL my plugins.

Thank you!

It's too long ago I used it, but to me this sounds like you need to read the documentation. Because this scenario is in there.
Make some music!

Sarrova-Q
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by Sarrova-Q » Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:45 pm

Hmmm nope, sorry I couldn't find it. Thanks anyway! If anyone can point me to the solution, I would be really grateful.

Sarrova-Q
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by Sarrova-Q » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:06 am

Sarrova-Q wrote:Hey. Is there any possibility to prevent Ubermap from making new .cfg files?

I created a few mappings for my favourite software, but I don't want Ubermap to make hundreds of automatic files for ALL my plugins.

Thank you!

Nobody?

Would really love to have this possibility. Thanks!

cohamill
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:37 am

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by cohamill » Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:45 pm

[deleted]

XPM
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 1:20 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by XPM » Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:30 pm

Is ubermap still an active tool? I've tried to install it on Windows 10 and live 10, using the installation guide, but had no luck.

Given the time since the last post on here and the last update on the github, I was just wondering if it was still functioning OK?
Image

Lovelights
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:09 pm

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by Lovelights » Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:26 pm

I just saw this post is still running, so I will in that case just let new people know that there has been made a lot of new Push Vst Racks since 2017, updates etc. So if you want to control your favourite VST with Push 1 or 2 without mousing for presets and looking at your computer all the time, why not try out some vst racks for your Push here, there are also free racks to try out:

https://www.facebook.com/AbletonPushVstRacks/

http://www.lovelight.biz

Trigonometrie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:16 pm

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by Trigonometrie » Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:19 pm

Hi there is this still alive?
Anyone still using it successfully?
Been thinking of installing it with my push 2 and live 10 but don't want to mess up things so wanted to double check before installing...

alenauta
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:36 am

Re: Ubermap for Push 2 (VST/AU parameter remapping)

Post by alenauta » Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:41 am

I've just fixed the compatibility with Live 10.1
I did that for my personal use, if anyone wants to use the modified Ubermap the link is: https://github.com/alenauta/ubermap
As always no guarantees of any kind, but it's working for me with Push 2 and Ableton 10.1

Post Reply