What are the rules for auto-populating VST/AUs

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
JiggyWig
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 8:35 pm

What are the rules for auto-populating VST/AUs

Post by JiggyWig » Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:35 am

Some of my plugins are auto-populating with parameters, but most of the ones I actually want to use don't. They need a whack of the configure button and a knob twiddling flurry.

I may have missed it in the manual, but I can't see any guidance on this.

login
Posts: 1817
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: What are the rules for auto-populating VST/AUs

Post by login » Fri Jul 22, 2016 3:30 am

By default Live autopopulates only if the plugin has 32 or less parameter. You can change this and set a different threshold or make Live to populate to the Max always (128) using the options.txt file. For more info google "how to use options.txt Ableton Live"

JiggyWig
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: What are the rules for auto-populating VST/AUs

Post by JiggyWig » Fri Jul 22, 2016 3:07 pm

Okay thanks, I'll look that up.

Why is this threshold set so low, none of my instrument plugins have that few controls?

login
Posts: 1817
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: What are the rules for auto-populating VST/AUs

Post by login » Fri Jul 22, 2016 6:33 pm

JiggyWig wrote:
Why is this threshold set so low, none of my instrument plugins have that few controls?
IMHO it is because plug in developers don't order the parameters in any logical way, you will see once you change to autopopulate, so even if you get the first 128 parameters you still have to order them to make them usefull.

jestermgee
Posts: 3546
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: What are the rules for auto-populating VST/AUs

Post by jestermgee » Sat Jul 23, 2016 12:57 am

Yeah I have found in almost every case (especially with Push) it is simply quicker to manually map based on how you use anyway.

JiggyWig
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: What are the rules for auto-populating VST/AUs

Post by JiggyWig » Sat Jul 23, 2016 2:46 am

Is this what Isotonik PrEditor seeks to improve? Anyone have opinions on it?

lovelight
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: What are the rules for auto-populating VST/AUs

Post by lovelight » Sat Jul 23, 2016 8:57 am

Get more than 150+ vst racks for Push, all manually midi mapped for perfomance and sound design in mind. Easy preset browsing in sound catogory,s

join in here and get the first 2 for free

https://www.facebook.com/AbletonPushVstRacks/

Post Reply