Is anyone else having occasional cpu spikes on Windows?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Is anyone else having occasional cpu spikes on Windows?

Post by ark » Sun May 06, 2018 3:06 pm

I would like to know whether anyone else has the following symptoms:
  • After Live has been running a while, audio becomes choppy and then the cpu meter rises above 100%
  • During cpu spike, task manager shows significant cpu taken by the Ableton Index process, even though nothing has changed lately that would require reindexing
  • Disconnecting Push 2 makes the cpu meter return to normal after a few seconds
  • Problem occurs on one computer but not another
  • Ableton suggested updating to the latest graphics driver, which made the problem less frequent but did not eliminate it
  • Problem becomes less frequent when the computer is connected to a port replicator, but does not go away completely
Needless to say, this situation has made Push useless for live performance, so I am eager to find a solution.

jestermgee
Posts: 3308
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Is anyone else having occasional cpu spikes on Windows?

Post by jestermgee » Mon May 07, 2018 10:20 pm

Might actually help to post your system specs of both machines in a case like this.

No spike issues as you describe that I have noticed. For reference:

OS: Win10
CPU: i7-4820k 4.2Mhz
RAM: 16GB GAM
SSD: 2 x 512GB SSD
GPU: GTX1080
PSU: 1000W Corsair PSU
AUDIO: Roland OctaCapture
LIVE: Live 10.0.1 + Beta

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Is anyone else having occasional cpu spikes on Windows?

Post by ark » Fri May 11, 2018 5:01 am

OK...

The machine where I'm getting CPU spikes:

OS: Win7 x64
CPU: i7-2820QM 2.3GHz
RAM: 32GB
SSD: 512GB
GPU: NVIDIA Quadro 3000M
Audio: Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6
Live: 10.0.1 + Beta

The machine with no CPU spikes:

OS: Win7 x64
CPU: E5-1650 v3 3.5 GHz
RAM: 32GB
SSD: 512GB
GPU: NVIDIA Quadro K2200
Audio: Roland Octa-Capture
Live: 10.0.1 + Beta

I am quite confident that the problem is not a genuine cpu overload, because I can reproduce the problem on a Live set with a single MIDI track with no instruments on it, playing a single, trivially simple clip.

Mark Williams
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: Is anyone else having occasional cpu spikes on Windows?

Post by Mark Williams » Fri May 11, 2018 6:30 pm

My guess is there is a task running in the background on one of the machines causing a spike, i.e virus scanner/cortana/index searcher etc.
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, K-2,Roland MC-707, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

yur2die4
Posts: 6408
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Is anyone else having occasional cpu spikes on Windows?

Post by yur2die4 » Sun May 13, 2018 3:54 am

Do you have your power profile in Windows set to keep your cpu running at max settings?

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Is anyone else having occasional cpu spikes on Windows?

Post by ark » Sun Jun 03, 2018 5:06 am

yur2die4 wrote:Do you have your power profile in Windows set to keep your cpu running at max settings?
Yes.

Post Reply