Change default scale layout

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
torbenscharling
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:29 am

Change default scale layout

Post by torbenscharling » Wed May 23, 2018 10:06 pm

Howdy, new'ish Push 2 (and 1) owner here. I would like to change the order (layout) of the default scales, so that I can easily switch between say, "melodic minor" and normal minor" but they are so far apart, that it takes time to scroll back and forth..If I could change the order, those two scales for instance, could be right next to eachother, and thus morph back and forth easily while playing !

Is this possible, if so how do I do it on Push 1 and how do I do it on Push 2 ? i'm on OS X and can do simple scripting if told what/where/how to change :P

Also, I find it so frustrating having to hear everything in C when previewing files

I cannot think why Ableton would design it in such a way when it's a "Live" tool...if I'm jamming in a completely different tone/root note, and browse sounds, samples etc. why not design it so the root note/key of the preview corresponds with the current key you're actually in.... ?! Please tell me Ableton is looking into these kind of things, I have many other gripes but I'll leave it at that for now...

blof_eld
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Change default scale layout

Post by blof_eld » Thu May 24, 2018 5:34 am

A simpler option might be to have two channels next to each other using the different scales.

I'm not at home now so can't check, but I believe the scale mode is remembered per-channel.

You could even have the MIDI output from both channels going to a single instrument channel.

Tarekith
Posts: 17282
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Change default scale layout

Post by Tarekith » Thu May 24, 2018 1:40 pm

Yes, in Live 10 it is remembered per track.

scheffkoch
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Change default scale layout

Post by scheffkoch » Thu May 24, 2018 2:44 pm

...do you have m4l?...then this here is the solution...:

http://maxforlive.com/library/device/4197/scale-o-mat
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

S4racen
Posts: 5160
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Change default scale layout

Post by S4racen » Thu May 24, 2018 5:46 pm

ClyphX Pro allows this to be recalled per clip....

https://vimeo.com/271067657

Cheers
D

torbenscharling
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:29 am

Re: Change default scale layout

Post by torbenscharling » Thu May 24, 2018 8:53 pm

I better talk to my bank and get that sh, thanks so much for the suggestions guys, you rock :D

Post Reply