Page 1 of 1

Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 8:40 am
by ojuss
I'm new to Ableton & Push2 (using Ableton 10) & for the life of me can't figure out how to do a simple toggle between Play & Pause.
If I press Play while arrangement is playing then it stops it. But hitting play again starts it right from the beginning (or wherever I'd set the start pointer earlier).
This is super frustrating.

Searching online showed me that I can achieve this on the keyboard using Shift+Spacebar but how do I do it with Push2 ?
Please help !

Re: Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:01 pm
by pottering
Push 2 also has a Shift key.

It is the key with "Shift" written on it.

https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/using ... -reference

Now seriously, stop using the word "retarded", makes you look like an backward-looking retrograde, and can get you banned from serious forums.

I bet some people even skipped helping you in this post because of that. I myself thought twice before posting this.

Re: Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:16 pm
by jestermgee
Yeah I love all these noobs that cannot just ask for help, they have to complain how stupid everything is because they cannot simply press play and understand everything.

Kids these days have no patience or desire to self educate.

Re: Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:13 am
by ojuss
- the fact that @pottering provided a response (though it was incorrect) to the question along with etiquette advice shows maturity & some tolerance (thanks for that)
- the fact that @jestermgee indulged in mere bashing of a newcomer without providing any useful info is almost tantamount to trolling
- the fact that I edited the post soon after the first response shows I possess the valuable skill of learning from mistakes
- the fact that the answers provided did not help my issue shows that we can all learn...

I'd already considerably researched this issue online & before posting & had found the links below but thought I was missing something since it seemed so roundabout (or impossible) to achieve something so simple (I do love Ableton already but Arrangement view Play / RESUME through the Push2 is an utterly basic function & hence the frustration of not finding any straightforward way to achieve this)...

Basically, in Ableton 10's Arrangement view, one can stop and resume playback from the stopped point by pressing Shift+Spacebar
But I still haven't found the equivalent of this for the Push2.
Pressing the Shift on Push2 along with the play / stop button still starts the track from the beginning & not from the last stopped point.

(see bosonHavoc's & related answers )
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=225706
Similar info here...
http://loopcommunity.com/blocks/softwar ... rrangement

Re: Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:50 am
by jestermgee
ojuss wrote:the fact that @jestermgee indulged in mere bashing of a newcomer without providing any useful info is almost tantamount to trolling
Yes, because it is far too common for someone like me who has been on forums for 10+ years and reads posts daily to see FAR too many newcomers forget their own manners and start spewing how "frustrating" and "stupid" and "game breaking" things are because it doesn't work the way they want/wish/believe/prey it should. I personally actually skipped over your post initially as I typically do BECAUSE of the way you conducted your first post on the forums. Questions can be asked simply without expressing to everyone how frustrated you personally feel.

Now to redeem my own lack of manners and offer some actual help:

If the SHIFT button does not do what you want, try hold the SELECT button (right next to shift) and press Play. Might just work.

EDIT: Scratch that, just managed to test and it does not resume playback either. Might be a Max device that could change how it works but not sure it can be done. I use an MCU for arrangement so have proper transport functions there and have never noticed you can't do this.

Re: Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:11 am
by ojuss
Ok thanks for the explanation.
Nope, Select+play doesn't work either - still starts playback from the beginning.
I'll dig into this as I learn more of Live & post here if I find a solution.

Edit: the links I'd posted earlier had a mention of using a keystroke-to-MIDI convertor (essentially I could generate a MIDI signal that emulates Shift+Spacebar & send that from Push2 to Live10) which is why I'd felt that things were getting too complicated for something simple...but maybe there isn't an Occam's razor to this...

Now, I've used MIDI-Pipe for MIDI filtering from Push/Live to external hardware, so will see if I could setup a keystroke-to-MIDI in that at some point...

Re: Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:50 pm
by Valiumdupeuple
You might want to check Push-Arrangemode m4l device.
The current version doesn't do what you're asking for, but the upcoming update does, and adds many keyboard shortcuts.
I'll probably release it before the end of the week.

Re: Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 3:09 pm
by shadx312
It makes sense to think Shift-Play would play from where the current selection is, and not from the beginning. This should be in script.
It's odd that you have to create a custom device to do this.

Re: Push2 - Play/Pause function in Arrangement view ????

Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:58 am
by miyaru
+1 for Push Arrangement M4L device.....

I have it, and works like a charm......... :D