Recording to a pad on Push 2

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
cut'n'mute
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:29 pm

Recording to a pad on Push 2

Post by cut'n'mute » Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:08 pm

It seems like there's no way to record external sound directly to a pad in a Drum Rack. Am I right?

P.S. If so, I'm selling this sh*t and go back to MPC.
Damn, it's XXI century out there.

jestermgee
Posts: 3058
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am

Re: Recording to a pad on Push 2

Post by jestermgee » Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:35 pm

Well you can record an input to a clip then convert that to a drum rack so you could record a loop[ or break then create a sample kit from it all with Push:

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... rom-vinyl-

If you want to just record a single sample you could do it that way.

If you are hell bent on sampling direct to a drum pad then may need to bag your sh*t.

cut'n'mute
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:29 pm

Re: Recording to a pad on Push 2

Post by cut'n'mute » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:45 am

Thanks a lot.

Yes I know that I can record into a clip and then convert it to Drum Rack or sampler. But I still hope there's a workaround.
Because the hell breaks loose when you need to add one sound from an external source to an existing drum rack.

You have to:

a). Record your sound to a clip
b). Convert a clip into drum rack (this will add a new channel), WHY?
c). There's no way to copy a pad from one Drum Rack to another from Push 2, so you have to grab your mouse and drag-n-drop the pad from new Drum Rack to old.
e). Delete the new track;

That was really my disappointment of the month. :-(((

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1358
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Recording to a pad on Push 2

Post by [jur] » Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:34 am

Do you have M4L?
Ableton Forum Moderator

herrreinholt
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:52 pm

Re: Recording to a pad on Push 2

Post by herrreinholt » Sat Feb 16, 2019 5:17 pm

cut'n'mute wrote:
Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:45 am
Thanks a lot.

Yes I know that I can record into a clip and then convert it to Drum Rack or sampler. But I still hope there's a workaround.
Because the hell breaks loose when you need to add one sound from an external source to an existing drum rack.

You have to:

a). Record your sound to a clip
b). Convert a clip into drum rack (this will add a new channel), WHY?
c). There's no way to copy a pad from one Drum Rack to another from Push 2, so you have to grab your mouse and drag-n-drop the pad from new Drum Rack to old.
e). Delete the new track;

That was really my disappointment of the month. :-(((
You don't have to create a new drum rack, just drag the recorded file to an empty slot on the drum rack you´re working with.
Anyway, I´d love to see the possibility to sample to a drum rack cell myself.

cut'n'mute
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:29 pm

Re: Recording to a pad on Push 2

Post by cut'n'mute » Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:04 pm

[jur] wrote:
Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:34 am
Do you have M4L?
I've got Ableton 10, it has M4L onboard.
Do you know any devices that are able to do that?
You don't have to create a new drum rack, just drag the recorded file to an empty slot on the drum rack you´re working with.
Anyway, I´d love to see the possibility to sample to a drum rack cell myself.
Yes, I know that. But this is a Push discussion. Isn't it?
And there's no way to do that from Push without touching a mouse.

cut'n'mute
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:29 pm

Re: Recording to a pad on Push 2

Post by cut'n'mute » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:24 pm

It seems that the only way to have a desired workflow with external samples recording is to use Session view as a Drum Rack.

So you set a default launch mode to trigger with no quantisation and then you can record clips and play them instantly.
Also removing stop buttons helps if you want to play clips from the same track simultaneously.

The only limitation is that you can't have FX set per clip, only per channel. But this really speeds up the process of creating Drum Racks for fingerdrumming when creating sounds with external sources (f.i. synths).

Post Reply