Freeze effects before building to a drop?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
Brigsy
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:24 pm

Freeze effects before building to a drop?

Post by Brigsy » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:27 pm

Hello all,

I am considering switching over to the Push 2 from Maschine. One of the features that I like on Maschine is the ability to hit lock and be able to change filters and effects to your hearts content, and then release lock to revert the whole track to the state it was in before pressing it in an instant. Is there a similar feature on the Push 2 please? I've been googling but can't spot it.

Many thanks.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Freeze effects before building to a drop?

Post by Pitch Black » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:22 pm

Hi I don’t have Maschine but there are many ways of doing this in Live, not specifically related to Push.
You can use Dummy Clips, or Clyphx, just two off the top of my head.
You can build custom Racks of effects in Live, mangle and twist to your heart’s desire, then just hit the bypass button on the Rack. Or for effects that need to pre-buffer incoming audio (some stutter-type plugins etc) you can just mute/unmute the Rack Chain button. This keeps audio feeding thru the fx/fx chain, but muted/unmuted to the output.

Hope this helps!
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Brigsy
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:24 pm

Re: Freeze effects before building to a drop?

Post by Brigsy » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:47 pm

Hi there, that's some food for thought. Many thanks.

Basically, can you do this on Push 2?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDao9E5X-go

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Freeze effects before building to a drop?

Post by Pitch Black » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:04 am

Watched your video, there isn't anything exactly like the Machine Lock Mode (with transition times etc) but do have a look at ClyphX.

https://isotonikstudios.com/product/clyphx-pro/

I personally don't use ChyphX, but I reckon it'll get you very close to that functionality with a bit of programming.

Any ChlyphX ninjas care to chime in?
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Brigsy
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:24 pm

Re: Freeze effects before building to a drop?

Post by Brigsy » Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:11 am

Thank you. I’ll have a look.

Post Reply