Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
mosstet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:22 pm

Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Post by mosstet » Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:26 pm

When i try to assign the knobs to things inside of VSTs, say Kontakt, the fader jumps between two values. Like it's in absolute mode.
I've worked out how to change midi mode for faders inside of ableton, but can't seem to change the behaviour of the knob universally inside of VSTs. And changing the midi mode on a fader inside of ableton doesn't make it behave in that mode in the VST.
HELP!

jeblo05
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:35 pm

Re: Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Post by jeblo05 » Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:03 pm

Push knobs send two MIDI cc., as they are touch sensitive:
1st cc is sent when touched (max) and released (min)
The 2nd cc is sent when turned

mosstet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:22 pm

Re: Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Post by mosstet » Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:07 pm

So how do i change the behaviour of the knob to gradual increase or decrease as opposed to min/max?

mosstet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:22 pm

Re: Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Post by mosstet » Tue Dec 24, 2019 2:19 pm

But i can change the behaviour when assigning the knobs to parameters inside of ableton, for example autofilter cutoff.
I can change the mode to 'Relative Iin 2out' and it works just like it should. :(
Merry christmas by the way.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2122
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Post by [jur] » Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:30 pm

The best solution I think is to use the "configure" button on your vst device to "map" the desired parameters to Push rather than its internal midi mapping system.
Ableton Forum Moderator

mosstet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:22 pm

Re: Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Post by mosstet » Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:34 pm

They don't show up on the configure bit when i press them inside the VST :cry:

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2122
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Post by [jur] » Tue Dec 24, 2019 6:17 pm

Then if you have M4L use something like this or this. There might be other ones but that's what I got from just a quick research.
Ableton Forum Moderator

mosstet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:22 pm

Re: Push Knobs Behaving Like Buttons

Post by mosstet » Tue Dec 24, 2019 7:08 pm

Thanks, will look into this

Post Reply