Drum Rack for external hardware drum machine?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
Faldoe
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:31 am

Drum Rack for external hardware drum machine?

Post by Faldoe » Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:47 pm

I have a Alesis Hr-16 and I'd like to be able to create a Drum Rack and midi map the midi notes into the rack to trigger the sounds on the HR-16. And be able to save this Rack as a preset for future use - and I also be able to utilize the sequencer function on the Push 2.

Is this possible?

Mark Williams
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Kent

Re: Drum Rack for external hardware drum machine?

Post by Mark Williams » Sun Aug 16, 2020 3:13 pm

Dnno bout the HR16 specifically, but generally yes it is possible.
Live 10,Push 2, KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind12D, Eventide H9, Komplete 12, Hydrasynth, NDLR, Bass Station2, MircoFreak, Alesis Multi Strike Pad

Richie Witch
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:10 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Contact:

Re: Drum Rack for external hardware drum machine?

Post by Richie Witch » Sun Aug 16, 2020 4:35 pm

I tried this for my classic Electribe ER-1 and I wasn't very happy with the result. The only way I could figure to do it was to drop an External Instrument on each drum slot of the drum rack. Technically, that worked fine, but it also had the effect of cumulatively adding the noise from the drum machine for each drum channel, so the noise level went from a whisper to a roaring ocean.

If anybody figures out a better way, I'd love to hear it. For now, I just a use single instance of External Instrument and the piano roll allows me to play each drum sound as a note.
"Watching the Sky" ~ A 4-track EP of piano, strings, and Native American flute

gross9978
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: Drum Rack for external hardware drum machine?

Post by gross9978 » Sun Aug 16, 2020 7:01 pm

If you turn down the gain on all but the first external instrument the volume won’t be an issue👍

Faldoe
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:31 am

Re: Drum Rack for external hardware drum machine?

Post by Faldoe » Sun Aug 30, 2020 8:31 pm

Thanks. How would I do this for a VST drum machine like Superior Drummer?

Post Reply