MIDI issue- DEAD IN THE WATER! Help?

Discuss Live-ready controllers other than Push.
Beatzart

MIDI issue- DEAD IN THE WATER! Help?

Post by Beatzart » Thu Jan 05, 2023 4:24 pm

TLDR; I'm a composer getting into soundtracks. I have all the expensive libraries (Albion etc) to do this and a degree in composition. I'm an outreach worker so I dont have money to throw around however. So - good computer (good enough)
quad i7 3.8GHZ with 32Ram and 1TB SSD
and what I think is an overlooked controller- the
M-audio Code 48

My PROBLEM is:

- I do not know how to properly set up the MIDI in both the controller, Ableton and the computer as at the moment to have a sound come out of the computer I must use 1, Omni, or MPE;
I usually use Omni or MPE depending on the articulations required. Obvious problem is that when I get to track 8 and want the brass to swell THE CONTROLLER CHANGES THE EXPRESSION FOR ALL TRACKS USING THIS INSTRUMENT! (Obviously "Instrument" means Kontakt or Opus etc.) So if I have 5 orchestral sections coming from Albion One, therefore all coming from Kontakt. when I put that swell in it changes all the Kontakt tracks.
I do not know which setting is correct or how to apply it in the applications, some help here would be awesome!

So to summarize:

Using an M-Audio Code49 with Ableton I can only set the instruments (Opus/Kontakt etc) themselves to MIDI Omni, MPE or only channel 1.
If I proceed logically and set one sound for channel 2 when it is either stacked simultaneously or is alone in a track[, then set a track input to channel 2 I get silence from the software instrument and in Ableton. Just silence. I can hear ppl saying RTFM for the Code - and I went through it and there is no plain English "this does that" part which seems to apply.