Launchpad and Control_surface

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
Post Reply
technog0d
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Philly
Contact:

Launchpad and Control_surface

Post by technog0d » Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:24 pm

I am currently trying to illustrate some techniques for connecting the Launchpad to Live through M4L. I am trying to use the control surface object, which gives me the following info from the getinfo command:

Code: Select all

print: info id 4
print: info type Launchpad
print: info description Script for Novation's Launchpad Controller
print: info children components ControlSurfaceComponent
print: info children controls ControlElement
print: info property canonical_parent NoneType
print: info function application
print: info function build_midi_map
print: info function can_lock_to_devices
print: info function connect_script_instances
print: info function disconnect
print: info function handle_sysex
print: info function instance_identifier
print: info function lock_to_device
print: info function log_message
print: info function receive_midi
print: info function refresh_state
print: info function request_rebuild_midi_map
print: info function restore_bank
print: info function schedule_message
print: info function set_appointed_device
print: info function set_device_component
print: info function set_enabled
print: info function set_pad_translations
print: info function set_suppress_rebuild_requests
print: info function show_message
print: info function song
print: info function suggest_input_port
print: info function suggest_map_mode
print: info function suggest_needs_takeover
print: info function suggest_output_port
print: info function supports_pad_translation
print: info function toggle_lock
print: info function unlock_from_device
print: info function update_display
print: info done
The problem is that i do not have the info for the proper arguments that it is expecting for the functions. I may have to illustrate the direct midi method. Oh well... Just thought it was interesting. IF any one has any thoughts then please feel free to comment.


Mike
Websites:
Max For Live Community site:
http://www.max4live.info
http://www.noisemakers.info

Controllers: Lemur, Ohm 64, Monome, APC40, Launchpad
Daw: Live 8 Suite
Audio Interfaces: Apogee Ensemble & Duet
Monitors: JBL LSR 4300

hoffman2k
Posts: 14718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Launchpad and Control_surface

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Nov 01, 2009 3:04 pm

The only thing I got to work so far was locking and unlocking to a device which is rather useless with the launchpad. The most useful thing we could get at the moment is the message that tells which mode the unit is in.
Otherwise you'll have to deal with conflicts when switching between modes.

technog0d
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Philly
Contact:

Re: Launchpad and Control_surface

Post by technog0d » Sun Nov 01, 2009 3:33 pm

Yeah, I am slowly learning that until it is really documented we will have to use the old school midi methods. :-(
Websites:
Max For Live Community site:
http://www.max4live.info
http://www.noisemakers.info

Controllers: Lemur, Ohm 64, Monome, APC40, Launchpad
Daw: Live 8 Suite
Audio Interfaces: Apogee Ensemble & Duet
Monitors: JBL LSR 4300

S4racen
Posts: 5842
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Launchpad and Control_surface

Post by S4racen » Sun Nov 01, 2009 4:39 pm

Boo!! There's so much i want to get at within the APC!!

Cheers
D

hoffman2k
Posts: 14718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Launchpad and Control_surface

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 pm

hoffman2k wrote:The most useful thing we could get at the moment is the message that tells which mode the unit is in.
I solved this part of the puzzle. I assume the same applies for the APC.
This patch requires the Launchpad to be the first remote control surface.

Code: Select all

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
441.3ocsTssTCBCD8Y3qHSdt1gKRu3a5ugSmNAXKMNPBCInnc5+tIAnzpnEr
xCDfydRlyd1M6AaKbHuBDXzCnmQVVGrsrLPZ.ql+svYjpnThvPCmABAIAvyp
iIgJYMNOF1RYwPExoMXJkAQ7RlggWC3NNSJne.ZLWm4NMvrxLJKEjhy4p.4k
xVT2FzbhLZOkkrs.hj0ZOXs5fPttd5WA5SE4sbtCZSyVpOE464PMeL9THZrQ
+7vWtaE9LMxHYFx3GKnjTzS7zXrN5Qaa8xrazuR.IpyyvSp4X7iEl0UKMF0h
Q6MdASf4vf2Tm827lT5qvbU.cFLkFy5ZKYgoootCZ0nMF2onqIrTJ4LbeYo6
XyR+6MYl4pgmS65OmkgDVR+Y5x+6ZrRs6QQJaqfmtUTVriDABjiBJKmy.UIu
aXxP5.52a7ul23atT345OfVfYMO8YP9inSvreyDxuL90nRM9kdpfWVD0ph19
NTmRiAgjxHRppsoijli6IN6owwfIbq6kQiy4TlrQCnM8VfGrjVN.I4eAmoVR
5wVWURewJuplTyJBTyMbzqqO88MpT+KJU+hP+q0S0OGs+D.ExqcP
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

S4racen
Posts: 5842
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Launchpad and Control_surface

Post by S4racen » Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:05 pm

I get a no property called mode_index error in my window, trying to get the answer for the APC connected... I'm thinking my Max doesn't work very well the amount of strange error messages i get even when the patches work!

Cheers
D

technog0d
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Philly
Contact:

Re: Launchpad and Control_surface

Post by technog0d » Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:28 pm

I can run the getinfo command on both the APC and Launchpad. One is just index 0 and the other is index 1.
Websites:
Max For Live Community site:
http://www.max4live.info
http://www.noisemakers.info

Controllers: Lemur, Ohm 64, Monome, APC40, Launchpad
Daw: Live 8 Suite
Audio Interfaces: Apogee Ensemble & Duet
Monitors: JBL LSR 4300

Post Reply