THE Rack List. (What can you do with Racks?)

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Icaro Ferre
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:35 pm
Location: SP / Brazil
Contact:

Re:

Post by Icaro Ferre » Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:26 pm

garyboozy wrote:Sampler Timestretching Racks for Live 7 & 8

Thought this might interest some of you who want time stretching in Sampler.

The crapily-monikered 'VeloStretch' comes in 2 versions, both available in the .zip link below. 'VeloStretch DR' is a drum rack that's designed to be used as a Slicing preset (drop it in Library/Defaults/Slicing), and 'VeloStretch' is the Sampler instrument rack.


>>> Sampler VeloStretch Racks <<<
I like this :D
Really nice rack

stefan-tiedje
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by stefan-tiedje » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:45 am

I made a rack to spatialize sound. Up to 8 speakers. At the moment it is here:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/288305/St.pace.zip

It will move to MaxForLive.com as soon I can upload zips there...

Have fun...

Stefan
Les Ondes Mémorielles-----x---
--____-----------|----------|----
--(_|_ ----|\-----|-----()--------
-- _|_)----|-----()---------------
----------()----------TJ Shredder
http://tjshredder.wordpress.com/

Tone Deft
Posts: 23565
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by Tone Deft » Sun Nov 29, 2009 9:27 pm

wrong steeeky.
oddstep wrote:I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"

nexus-6
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: denmark

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by nexus-6 » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:09 pm

does any1 have the killboy rack posted earlier in this thread,the link is dead?
Nexus-6,Nexus-6-project

djgroovy
Posts: 2025
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by djgroovy » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:38 pm

I posted some free vocoder presets at GroovePacks.

drchoc
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by drchoc » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:59 pm

Ok so my first ever piece of gear was the Korg electribe ER-1 and nostalgia has driven me to attempt a rack for it. Essentially the ER1 is a analogue styled drum synth, its punchy as f*%k and the sounds can be twisted from deep kiks into wacky sirens.

This is by no means complete, I am hoping someone with more ability will be able to tweak it and make it more useful. I would have posted a more permanent link but am currently having some problems with dropbox.

Anyway here goes 8)

https://www.yousendit.com/download/MVNl ... RTVMWEE9PQ

garyboozy
Posts: 2572
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by garyboozy » Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:37 pm

here's another rack...

>>> PianoVerb <<<

its my attempt at recreating PSP's free Pianoverb vst from a few years back, which was pre-intel mac, so doesn't work on my system. thought i'd try making my own stereo version.

if you've ever shouted/clapped your hands/farted in a quiet room with a piano nearby, you'll know the type of verb this makes. the strings inside the piano resonate at the pitch you throw at it and you get this treated-piano thrrrrruuummmmmmmm

this rack uses 24 Resonator devices (12 per channel, 1 per note in the octave) so it can be pretty punishing on the cpu, but you can get some pretty decent, unusual reverberations with it.

arachnaut
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by arachnaut » Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:58 pm

garyboozy wrote: PianoVerb <<<

Very nice.

arachnaut
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by arachnaut » Thu Dec 31, 2009 8:26 pm

A year end reminder for those who may have missed it earlier.

You can download my free special effects racks for Live 7 or 8. These are exotic, extreme, feedback effects and other types of distortion. Many are very CPU intensive.

Description:
http://www.arachnaut.net/audio/Overload/Effects.pdf

For Live 7:
http://www.arachnaut.net/audio/Overload ... _Live7.alp

For Live 8:
http://www.arachnaut.net/audio/Overload ... _Live8.alp

The Live packages are identical, except that the version 8 devices have some of the new re-pitch features enabled in the delays.

Happy New Year!

madlab
Posts: 1381
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by madlab » Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:48 pm

stefan-tiedje wrote:I made a rack to spatialize sound. Up to 8 speakers. At the moment it is here:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/288305/St.pace.zip

It will move to MaxForLive.com as soon I can upload zips there...

Have fun...

Stefan
I'm highly interested in this stuf as I need real surround support for some theater projects. I've been using workarounds for years now. Was it made with MfL or standard live FX ? I can't open it for now because i sticked to 8.09 for stability reasons.
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

i3igTripplets
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Seattle

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by i3igTripplets » Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:20 pm

Jekblad wrote:a repost from the general forum in case you missed it.

Image

LIVE 8 (Suite) if you don't have the suite activate the demo if you want to hear the rack in action, or just place the rack in your "audio effects rack" folder and tweak away on whatever you want.
http://www.zshare.net/info.html?6011682 ... 47f04640d3

An attached Rhythm rack allows you dial in some killer rhythms and stutters. There are two rhythm generators in it with separate controls for velocity and gate and their rates. turning on BOTH at the same time can get you some cool stuff, especially with the random velocity turned on in the first rack.

if you don't have live 8, you should be able to drop the adg file into your Midi effects rack folder and use it no prob. If you don't have operator you can put it into demo mode if you want to hear the little bit i did demo some of the different textures it can create with one simple line.


PS: do not EVER let this rack get in the hands of one of those shady hip hop listeners...
jChords.zip - 0.03MB
Any chance you can get those links back online? Thanks.
Also, how are you adding keywords to files? Love the idea.

stefan-tiedje
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by stefan-tiedje » Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:57 pm

madlab wrote:I'm highly interested in this stuf as I need real surround support for some theater projects. I've been using workarounds for years now. Was it made with MfL or standard live FX ? I can't open it for now because i sticked to 8.09 for stability reasons.
Its a Rack with Max4Live devices. I made this originally in Max and adapted it for Live... If you're in theater I can recommend to get fully into Max/MSP - had some nice shows in Stuttgart completely done in Max, would not have been possible in Live alone. Also great to integrate Video...

Stefan
Les Ondes Mémorielles-----x---
--____-----------|----------|----
--(_|_ ----|\-----|-----()--------
-- _|_)----|-----()---------------
----------()----------TJ Shredder
http://tjshredder.wordpress.com/

lingk
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 5:38 pm

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by lingk » Sun Jan 31, 2010 5:06 pm

davepermen wrote:well, I guess I should add my rack to here:

a 3x equalizer for dj's with 0db at the midpoint, -36db -> 6db full range, all only with ableton racks.

i used the sweeper rack to have non-coloring filters, and such. it's in this thread (with more detail):

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... 48&start=0

and the link directly:

http://davepermen.net/D4L%20CrossFilter.adg

even if it's maybe not that good, it should be a possible inspiration for a little different solutions.
link doesn't seem to work anymore?

davepermen
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:38 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by davepermen » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:41 am

lingk wrote:
davepermen wrote:well, I guess I should add my rack to here:

a 3x equalizer for dj's with 0db at the midpoint, -36db -> 6db full range, all only with ableton racks.

i used the sweeper rack to have non-coloring filters, and such. it's in this thread (with more detail):

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... 48&start=0

and the link directly:

http://davepermen.net/D4L%20CrossFilter.adg

even if it's maybe not that good, it should be a possible inspiration for a little different solutions.
link doesn't seem to work anymore?

indeed. i'll have to host it again. till then, i can give you my eq3 to play around with :)

http://davepermen.net/Random%20Stuff/D4 ... p_Down.PNG

and some of my crazyness in pictures: http://davepermen.net/Random%20Stuff/Effect%20Chain.png

i'll host it by tonight i guess.
http://davepermen.net my tiny webpage, including link to bandcamp.

tb303live
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Rockville, MD
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by tb303live » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:26 am

zalo wrote:
R.A.W. wrote:Hi zalo,
great rack. While I was checking it out yesterday evening I found a better way for you to use stereo. Instead of having seperate chains for left and right you can use one chain. All you have to do is to set the "Phase" of the auto-pans to 0°. That way the left and right channel are processed the same.
thanks! now even more cpu efficient!!!!

i reworked it and also put an eighth note version with no on/off switch, that i have named the Rearranger

http://www.wearerockstars.com/zalo/foru ... ranger.alp
I must be an idiot. But when I try to open this .alp and pick a folder to install it at... I get the message:

"live pack contains a project... and cannot be saved inside another project." someone please point out the error in my ways. thanks. :oops:

edit... nevermind. figured it out by pointing to desktop... dragging into live... grouping and saving as a audio effect rack.

Post Reply