Too Many Loops?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
GDOGG
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:12 pm
Location: Falmouth/Newcastle
Contact:

Too Many Loops?

Post by GDOGG » Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:06 am

So i'm messing around with Live and its loops n stuff trying to make songs that are my own but im worried that im relying too much on the various loops and i dont feel like im creating a track thats really mine. I can make my own beats but as soon as i throw a loop or two i feel like im losing any creativity to a loop someone else made. What should i do? Concentrate more on manipulating the loops or more on making my own sounds in other ways.

Thanks
http://soundcloud.com/jgrrr
For the gearslutz:13.5 Macbook Pro, Ableton Live, Behringer DDM4000, Allen & Heath Xone K2 x 2, Novation Launchpad, Akai LPD8, KRK Rokit 5s, M-Audio Firewire, Vestax VCM 600, Alesis Q49 Keyboard, Sennheiser HD205s

simpli.cissimus
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Too Many Loops?

Post by simpli.cissimus » Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:34 am

You're answering your self...

Do what you feel is best and makes you feel good.
No! I'll never use the Push-App Live 9 !!!

ChiDJ
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: CHick-A-Go!
Contact:

Re: Too Many Loops?

Post by ChiDJ » Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:04 am

Loops?
Sounds?

Weva.


If you have a gift, you will make it your own.

nuff.
"Let you're body feel the sound! Let it cover you up and down!"

Image

Tone Deft
Posts: 23787
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Too Many Loops?

Post by Tone Deft » Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:25 am

if nothing else it's good to go through the process of finishing a track. many of us suffer from that demon. don't ever tell yourself to stop, unless it's preventing you from moving forward. who knows, by the time you get to the end of the process you might have tweaked it beyond recognition.

if the track's good and you play it for people then tell them it was from loops they really wouldn't care. for those of us that do this siht we'd probably just appreciate that you're honest about it but we wouldn't care.

let the muses run free.

good artists copy
great artists steal

it's what you do with it that matters.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

d.reamonn
Posts: 1176
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:24 pm

Re: Too Many Loops?

Post by d.reamonn » Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:06 am


4.33
Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Too Many Loops?

Post by 4.33 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:58 pm

d.reamonn wrote:It's all part of the process...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7dS8YWq ... r_embedded#
omg please make me unsee that you fucker

a8leton
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:56 am
Location: Belfast

Re: Too Many Loops?

Post by a8leton » Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:19 pm

Hi, i had the same views as you, but after using slice and a few effects through the loop i found that the work i had done made it feel like my own re-creation. Plus it sounded nothin like the loop i had started with.

Be creative with loops and N'joy :D
A8leton

Post Reply