Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
karlbergenator
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:07 pm

Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Post by karlbergenator » Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:55 am

i hope i can make this clear, heres an example.

if i have 3 soft synths (predator, sylenth and M1 for example) . say they all play the same midi notes but on their 3 different tracks. i group all 3 tracks and treat them as one sound. NOW the combined sound is what i like and would like to use as ONE preset next time i open up a session. is there a way of combining and controling all 3 synths together acting as one????

love. j

UnCL0NED
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:43 am
Location: Latitude: 52° 4' 60 N, Longitude: 4° 17' 60 E

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Post by UnCL0NED » Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:18 am

Just drag the group you just created into your instruments library and save it as an instrument rack and give it some cool name. Next time you open a new session and you need this combined synth, just double click it or drag it onto an empty miditrack...

If you want it every time you start a new project, you can save it in your template, so it will appear when you start it up.

To control it as 1 synth, you can map certain parameters to macrocontrols in the same group! But I recommend you read the manual on this...
soundcloud
"everything you read on the internet is true!"

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Post by JuanSOLO » Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:33 pm

There is also ClyphX, and maybe you could look into Kore, even though it is discontinued.

karlbergenator
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:07 pm

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Post by karlbergenator » Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:37 am

ok im not sure if you understood me correct. im talking about 3 different tracks with different synths all being able to be played as one. sorry.

i want to be able to control all 3 synths at same time with so ig i play a G on my midi keyboard it will play a G on all 3 synths (on all 3 tracks) at the same time. preferably also writing midi on all 3 tracks at same time if i was to record and play...

i guess the easiste way to do this would be to be able to put 3 synths on the same midi track and play them all together btu as far as i know you cant do that in ableton right???

j

BlackMath
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:16 am

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Post by BlackMath » Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:01 am

Open a blank instrument rack
Drag synth into chain area and create a chain for each one
Rename and save the rack

You will have a rack where all 3 synths can be played with one midi track

or you could just change the input of each synth track to receive the same midi track

dna598
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Post by dna598 » Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:04 am

instrument rack + rtfm
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

Post Reply