How do increase XP memory size to 3GB to stop out of memory?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
RD444
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:59 pm

How do increase XP memory size to 3GB to stop out of memory?

Post by RD444 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:44 pm

i am reading this article

http://www.ableton.com/articles/how-to-out-of-memory
Windows XP Professional 32 provides a /3 GB flag. If this is set, Live can address memory up to 3 GB:
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/pl ... AEmem.mspx
but I don't understand what i have to do and is there a risk?

will in muck something up at a later date?

Cheers
"Plugin Delay compensation -PDC WARNING - Ableton Live 9 does not sequence all information correctly in time"
The bigger the project the more out of time it will be.

cotdagoo
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: How do increase XP memory size to 3GB to stop out of memory?

Post by cotdagoo » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:27 pm

Open boot.ini (likely in the root of C:\)

Add /3GB to the line that boots your OS, save file and reboot.

Can't see it mucking anything up.. I ran my old laptop like this with 4gb ram - but really only 3.25 would be seen by Windows.

May or may not help with out of memory issues.. I still found some of my projects crapping out at 1.7-1.9gb ram in use, even with the /3GB switch (there was still free memory available).

RD444
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: How do increase XP memory size to 3GB to stop out of memory?

Post by RD444 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:32 pm

cheers bud

I'll give it a try
"Plugin Delay compensation -PDC WARNING - Ableton Live 9 does not sequence all information correctly in time"
The bigger the project the more out of time it will be.

RD444
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: How do increase XP memory size to 3GB to stop out of memory?

Post by RD444 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:53 am

cotdagoo wrote:Open boot.ini (likely in the root of C:\)

Add /3GB to the line that boots your OS, save file and reboot.

Can't see it mucking anything up.. I ran my old laptop like this with 4gb ram - but really only 3.25 would be seen by Windows.

May or may not help with out of memory issues.. I still found some of my projects crapping out at 1.7-1.9gb ram in use, even with the /3GB switch (there was still free memory available).
I'm getting crapping out at 1.3 so its gotta be better.

Thanks again bud


.

.
.

====================

For anyone else with the problem:

solutions for anyone else on XP

takes 2 mins
can mess things up.

--
what live is doing:

http://www.ableton.com/articles/how-to-out-of-memory

---

change the boot ini file to get more RAM

http://www.maxi-pedia.com/3GB+switch+Wi ... t.ini+3+GB

---

How to edit the boot ini

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/289022

---

"Plugin Delay compensation -PDC WARNING - Ableton Live 9 does not sequence all information correctly in time"
The bigger the project the more out of time it will be.

Locked