Akai MPK Mini Script

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
puzzlefactory
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by puzzlefactory » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:04 pm

Has anyone noticed that this script doesn't work with 8.3.4? Anyone know why or how to get it working?

Edit: Nevermind, i got it working. 8)

leida
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Grenoble, French alps

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by leida » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:24 am

Hye
Thanks for your script.
I tested it yesterday but i may do something wrong.
Are the 8 buttons of the mini automatically mapped for any macros instruments ?
For me, it's very important to be able to do that, as i was able to do it via the 8 knobs of my ex APC40.
Cheers
Eric

leida
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Grenoble, French alps

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by leida » Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:57 am

I reply to...myself ! ;-)
I 've tested the script yesterday and it's very cool to have the 8 knobs automaticcaly mapped to any instrument or drum rack.
I just had to modify the scrpit to change the encoder value to -1 to 1,2,3...8.
One thing is not working: the play/stop/record when you press on the bank pad1, while the cc button activated.
I have nothing...
I also have 2 questions:
- is it possible to program the metronome on/off
- is it possible to activate the gui on/off of a vsti ?
thanks by advance
Eric

mothergarage
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by mothergarage » Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:54 am

The script should work as it is without modification, are you sure you have the right parts? Please check again with the one on my site and follow the steps there.

The metronome could be MIDI-mapped to one of the free pads, save it with your default template.
To open the VST GUI you would need something like Bome's Miditranslator to send keystrokes via the pads.
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

leida
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Grenoble, French alps

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by leida » Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:30 pm

Thanks for your answer.
I will perform new tests this evening.
In fact, when i use the original script (MPK mini), the mpk works in the original mode (with rotative buttons ok)
But when i try to use you specific configuration (MPKmini) with only the configuration file, nothing happens...
What am i doing wrong ?
Cheers
Eric

xpertvision
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:52 am

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by xpertvision » Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:12 pm

solved.
Last edited by xpertvision on Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.

xpertvision
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:52 am

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by xpertvision » Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:57 am

solved.
Last edited by xpertvision on Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

xpertvision
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:52 am

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by xpertvision » Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:18 pm

solved.
Last edited by xpertvision on Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

puzzlefactory
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by puzzlefactory » Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:06 am

I can't seem to get this working with Live 9. Anyone else have this issue? I know the everything changed in Live 9 in relation to user remote scripts, does the script need a rewrite?

mothergarage
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by mothergarage » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:41 am

What has changed in Live 9 is, that the user remote scripts are sorted alphabetically, while before they were at the bottom of the list. Second is that a MPK mini script is included with 9 and gets selected if a Mini is connected. Maybe Live dumps some settings to the Mini.
All this aside the script works as expected. Maybe select the user remote script (you might want to rename the folder it sits in, to identify it in the drop down menu) and upload the presets once more to the Mini.

Hope this helps.
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

puzzlefactory
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by puzzlefactory » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:53 pm

I got it working eventually. Something went seriously wrong with Live. I couldn't start Live without it "not responding" and i kept having to "force quit". In the end i had to delete Live and re-install it. Since then the MPKmini seems to work.

xpertvision
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:52 am

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by xpertvision » Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:11 pm

solved.
Last edited by xpertvision on Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

mothergarage
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by mothergarage » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:09 am

Just read what I posted above...
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

xpertvision
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:52 am

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by xpertvision » Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:46 am

solved.
Last edited by xpertvision on Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

mothergarage
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Akai MPK Mini Script

Post by mothergarage » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:56 am

You should rename the folder you copied to the "User Remote Scripts" folder, the one provided by Ableton will be changed if you update. But this is just to distinguish them. The location of that folder depends on your operating system.

Windows: Users\<Your Username>\App Data\Roaming\Ableton\<Live Version>\Preferences\User Remote Scripts

Mac: Macintosh HD>Users>[yourusername]>Library>Preferences>Ableton>[Live Version]>User Remote Scripts
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

Post Reply