All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:16 am 

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:29 pm
Posts: 10
And if it is compatible with Ableton Live 8, does the AKAI MPD32 have a sound library? thanks so much for your help?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:55 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Posts: 375
Hahaha. Yes it is compatible with Ableton. No it doesn't come with a sound library. MPD32 is a MIDI controller. MIDI controllers send signals to things that make sounds, to tell the what note to play. You can use the MPD32 to play an Operator, one of the synths included with Ableton. Or you can use it to play a drum rack, instrument rack, sampler, anything that takes MIDI signals.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:37 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Posts: 1710
Location: portland oregon
i can't add too much more to what aioffermann said, except the mpd32 is my favorite controller for LIVE. it takes some adjustment, both in the mpd and in live to get the sensitivity of the pads right. but for me it totally rules!

_________________
cloud>http://soundcloud.com/the-good-robot-me
i love you,please don't die.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:09 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:29 pm
Posts: 10
Thank you guys! But I was also thinking of using Maschine Mikro. If I made a beat on the Maschine, it doesnt just stay in the Maschine program does it? Like I can export it into my song right? And I am looking for a sound library and all that stuff and the maschine just seems fantastic. Also does Maschine work well with Live? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:47 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Posts: 3498
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
You will love Maschine. But I'd very much recommend the regular mkii and not Mikro. Of course, it is all personal choice. The knobs are a really helpful factor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:53 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Posts: 375
Maschine is cool but don't get it yet! Learn more with Live+MPD32. There's alot more to learn than if you're just playing around on the Maschine. Plus once you get to grips with stuff you may realize Push is better for what you're looking for.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:52 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:27 pm
Posts: 636
eddiex wrote:
maschine+ableton=headaches
Nonsense. The MIDI connection issue mentioned here has already been fixed as already mentioned above.

eddiex wrote:
i bought an mpd32....and i have never looked back.
If a MPD and Ableton had a dedicated hardware setup with Maschine's level of integration then there would be no need for Maschine. Using Live and a MPD doesn't come anywhere close to those aspects of Maschine, even with custom scripts, as it will lack the total integration like Maschine which allows you to be mouse-free and even lets you turn off the computer screen if you want to. Part of the beauty and workflow feel of Maschine is the disconnected feel it allows for. It gives you that focused feel by allowing to work so well from a centralized point with minimal deviation. In contrast, Live + MPD (or even APC40/Launchpad) will still force you to click around with the mouse/trackpad quite a bit.

tintala wrote:
Push looks much more dynamic and useful.
Live + Push will be no match for Maschine when it comes to a mouseless hands-on workflow. Push doesn't even compare to Maschine in that department at all because you can't even slice from the Push controller, you can't see waveforms or slices on the Push's LCD, you can't duplicate pads from the Push controller...etc. Not to mention that Push also doesn't even automap to plugins and can't do step automation (Elektron-style step parameter locks), and would still force you to click around with a mouse for a lot of little things like opening/closing plugin windows.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:37 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:02 pm
Posts: 762
Location: South of London
Humnumb, are you paid by NI to constantly spam this same info repeatedly? If not I'd seek some help.

Don't listen to this guy he's a shill.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:24 am 

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:29 pm
Posts: 10
But one of the reasons I want Maschine is the sound library, but I can live without it and the MPD is more within my price range so should I lean twords the MPD32 or the Akai MPD Studio?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:32 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 1324
Agree with everything humnumb said above. Maschine is a no brainer.

What is odd is certain characters popping into every thread mentioning Maschine just to complain about a bug that's already been fixed in the last update.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:27 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Posts: 375
delicioso wrote:
Agree with everything humnumb said above. Maschine is a no brainer.

What is odd is certain characters popping into every thread mentioning Maschine just to complain about a bug that's already been fixed in the last update.


They haven't fixed the fact(?) that all groups send midi through the same channel no matter how you configure Maschine, have they?

EDIT: This isn't sarcasm, I just haven't followed and Maschine news since I returned mine a few months ago.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:52 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Posts: 1710
Location: portland oregon
:D delicioso, actually, this post originally had nothing to do with maschine.
the only reason i have any thing against maschine at all is because i spent some time with it ,pre bug fix, trying to get it to work right with ableton and logic. i don't care what it can do now, i' ve already got a better set up.

_________________
cloud>http://soundcloud.com/the-good-robot-me
i love you,please don't die.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 1324
eddiex wrote:
i don't care what it can do now

Ok. It's just weird you keep popping into every thread to complain about an already fixed bug. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:48 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:27 pm
Posts: 636
aioffermann wrote:
They haven't fixed the fact(?) that all groups send midi through the same channel no matter how you configure Maschine, have they?

Not sure why people keep bringing up misinformation as "facts". It's not true at all that "all groups send midi through the same channel no matter how you configure Maschine". Maschine never had such a problem.

If you read the manual, you would have known about midi batch setup. You can quickly see which channel a group is responding to by checking the midi info on a pad/sound within that group. Right click on the pad and go to sound midi settings, it will show you the channel it's on.

You may also be confused about the fact there is a one channel limitation for midi output in Live due to the way Live handles plug-in midi which has nothing to do with Maschine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the AKAI MPD32 compatible with Ableton Live 8?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:12 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Posts: 375
humnumb wrote:
aioffermann wrote:
They haven't fixed the fact(?) that all groups send midi through the same channel no matter how you configure Maschine, have they?

Not sure why people keep bringing up misinformation as "facts". It's not true at all that "all groups send midi through the same channel no matter how you configure Maschine". Maschine never had such a problem.

If you read the manual, you would have known about midi batch setup. You can quickly see which channel a group is responding to by checking the midi info on a pad/sound within that group. Right click on the pad and go to sound midi settings, it will show you the channel it's on.

You may also be confused about the fact there is a one channel limitation for midi output in Live due to the way Live handles plug-in midi which has nothing to do with Maschine.


There's a reason I put a question mark after "fact", man. I'm not being aggressive, no need for you to be either. However, I will you give you that I've worded that pretty badly. Very badly. Yes it's a fault on Ableton's side. Yes I was referring to Ableton's one-channel limitation with plugins. Yes I know about MIDI batch setup. Yes I read the manual. Yes I always read the manual. And yes this is a discussion about integrating Maschine and Ableton, right? Not a discussion on Maschine standalone use.

EDIT: Again, my wording. I need to take an English class or something. You weren't being aggressive, but turn down the heat a bit man.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group