Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
maylortaylor
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:57 pm
Contact:

Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by maylortaylor » Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:34 pm

So i just purchased the UC33 for a great deal and I'm a bit confused on how to program this to use with live.

I want to remapp all of the knobs and faders to my own liking. So basically i dont want to use any preset.

I have the MAudio Enigma software..just curious if anyone can give me a point in the right direction

malenko
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: England

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by malenko » Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:56 pm

I bought mine quite a few years ago now so forgotten how easy it was to programme so i think the best way was to pick a blank general preset and use Live's midi mapping to programme what you want every time and save as a template then add mappings as you go along
Enjoy

yur2die4
Posts: 6428
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:30 pm

Open Live.

Go into Preferences, hit the MIDI tab.

For control surfaces, if the uc33e how's up, change that to None.

Bottom section, turn the uc33e on for Remote.

Exit preferences.

Enter midi map mode.

Tap something, wiggle a knob or fader.

Exit midi map mode.

maylortaylor
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by maylortaylor » Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:02 am

Got it working.

The USB from the UC33 to my mac wasn't being picked up (probably cause of no up to date drivers)

However. once i used a midi cable from the UC33 to my audio interface...it worked like a charm

Thanks for the help!

maylortaylor
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by maylortaylor » Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:44 am

Actually...can one of you guys help me figuring out how to save my presets?

After i map all of my knobs/faders on the UC33, i turn off Ableton, turn off the UC33 and restart both..but now all of the knobs/faders on the UC33 are now sending out different midi info. (different CC or different global channel)

roxxx303
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:14 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by roxxx303 » Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:26 am

maylortaylor wrote:Actually...can one of you guys help me figuring out how to save my presets?

After i map all of my knobs/faders on the UC33, i turn off Ableton, turn off the UC33 and restart both..but now all of the knobs/faders on the UC33 are now sending out different midi info. (different CC or different global channel)
The mappings are stored with the project. So if you start with a blank ableton-live the mappings are gone.
You must load the last project and clone it for new projects. Or you can store it as the default project in the live9-options/settings. Perhaps that helps...

Evengy
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:31 am

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by Evengy » Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:40 am

thats why he should use instant mapping/user remote script or the built in remote scripts. midi mapping is so crap because when i change a few functions in the future or im using an older project i must map again. i hate that ^^

maylortaylor
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by maylortaylor » Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:49 am

Ok i have configured my own remote script for the uc33.

http://mrtunes.ca/blog/472/midi-remote- ... ive-videos

^^^this helped
vvvvso did this

https://www.ableton.com/answers/control ... te-scripts


Inside Ableton, I go to midi-map mode, select the knob/fader inside Abelton i wish to control, turn the desire knob/fader on my controller and it picks up the correct Global Channel & CC.

However <,< the knob/fader inside Ableton only moves slightly...maybe 2/127th of the way if you get that. Any helps?

elementv
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 12:36 am

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by elementv » Fri Aug 23, 2013 6:24 pm

my uc33 took a crap a few years ago because of a bad fader that sounds like what you're experiencing. I wish there was a script with it. i have replace it with a livid alias 8 but using just midi learn now.

maylortaylor
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by maylortaylor » Fri Aug 23, 2013 7:22 pm

I got it working actually..forgot to update this.

I had another device on the same midi channel. Once i switched the device global channel that was causing the conflict and reset ableton, i was fine.

yur2die4
Posts: 6428
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Programming UC33 with Ableton 9

Post by yur2die4 » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:26 pm

Good to hear! I was getting worried. It's always a shame to hear when something doesn't work out for someone.

Post Reply