Rms display in Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
mauronedj
Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:20 pm

Rms display in Live

Post by mauronedj » Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:36 am

Hi to all,
is there a way, with external plugins or max for live device (preferably Max) to open a float window that displays RMS for all the channels in live and update automatically when I add another channel?
Thanks,
Mauro.

kompletemail
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:51 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by kompletemail » Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:12 am

I looked up a couple Max4Live ones but didn't like them..

T-Racks gots a cool one.

http://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/tr ... d-versions

you will have to download the "custom shop" installer thing before getting the plugin on tho page.

fishmonkey
Posts: 4216
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by fishmonkey » Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:42 pm

which T-Racks plug-in shows the levels of multiple tracks at the same time???

Dragonbreath
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:34 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by Dragonbreath » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:32 pm


fishmonkey
Posts: 4216
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by fishmonkey » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:40 pm

the OP is after a metering plug that shows all tracks simultaneously, not just a single track. something along the lines of Ultimate Mixer (the now defunct M4L device).

mauronedj
Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by mauronedj » Tue Jan 14, 2014 12:28 am

fishmonkey wrote:the OP is after a metering plug that shows all tracks simultaneously, not just a single track. something along the lines of Ultimate Mixer (the now defunct M4L device).
Thanks mate for the help :)
I alrrady have Ultimate Mixer but it's a bit overkilled for this task, the cpu wont smile with this..
I hope that somebody know another way to do this :D

invol
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 6:47 am
Location: NYC - Williamsburg, Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by invol » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:50 am

Voxengo SPAN is also freeware on both platforms.
MacPro DualQuad 2.8 GHz 10GB RAM OSX 10.9 • RME Fireface 800 Push Launchpad Virus TI2
Owner: Devotion - Brooklyn's only Ableton Certified Training Center
Author:The Music Producer's Survival Guide
Form Labs on SoundCloud

Michael Hatsis
Posts: 1807
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Here and There
Contact:

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by Michael Hatsis » Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:01 am

also, i think if you are looking to see multiple tracks at the same time. Im pretty sure there is a pay version of span that allows this. also, i think blue cat makes something like this.

Mike

fishmonkey
Posts: 4216
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by fishmonkey » Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:44 am

Span Plus will allow you to see the spectrums of multiple tracks overlaid on each other, and Blue Cat does have some similar plugs that do some multiple track analysis. none of them does what the OP is after though.

kompletemail
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:51 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by kompletemail » Sat Feb 01, 2014 7:12 am

fishmonkey wrote:which T-Racks plug-in shows the levels of multiple tracks at the same time???

the original post wasn't all that clear all it said was update when I add another channel (what ever that mean..)

kompletemail
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:51 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by kompletemail » Sat Feb 01, 2014 7:13 am

span is a pain in the ass

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by pencilrocket » Sat Feb 01, 2014 1:22 pm

making music is pain in the ass
Image

kompletemail
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:51 am

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by kompletemail » Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:23 am

not if you do it wrong

oblique strategies
Posts: 3582
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by oblique strategies » Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:00 am

Float Mixer
Max for Live device

It's a basic mixer, metering, & solo button strip for 20 tracks. The developer states: "You can easily open it up and copy paste to add more tracks"

Check it out:
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/devic ... loat-mixer

mauronedj
Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Rms display in Live

Post by mauronedj » Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:21 pm

oblique strategies wrote:Float Mixer
Max for Live device

It's a basic mixer, metering, & solo button strip for 20 tracks. The developer states: "You can easily open it up and copy paste to add more tracks"

Check it out:
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/devic ... loat-mixer
Really thanks mate, I'm going to edit this to try to fit my workflow and maybe post the result here :)
Cheers.

Post Reply