Live in OS X - Using different desktops possible?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
yentzee
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:54 am

Live in OS X - Using different desktops possible?

Post by yentzee » Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:56 am

Hi!
IS there any way to make use of the desktop feature of OS X (former spaces) so that for example I could have my main window on desktop 1 and plugins at desktop 2?

Cheers,

Jens

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Live in OS X - Using different desktops possible?

Post by ansolas » Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:35 pm

yentzee wrote:Hi!
IS there any way to make use of the desktop feature of OS X (former spaces) so that for example I could have my main window on desktop 1 and plugins at desktop 2?

Cheers,

Jens
I would also love this feature, but as far as I know it is not possible :(

Would be lovely To keep Plugin GUIs open on Spaces :)

yentzee
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:54 am

Re: Live in OS X - Using different desktops possible?

Post by yentzee » Sun Mar 30, 2014 1:24 pm

That's a shame :(

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Live in OS X - Using different desktops possible?

Post by ansolas » Sun Mar 30, 2014 3:35 pm

yentzee wrote:That's a shame :(
indeed :?

Machinesworking
Posts: 11131
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Live in OS X - Using different desktops possible?

Post by Machinesworking » Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:01 pm

It's got to do with the way Live handles plug ins.
Bitwig also exhibits the same behavior, when trying to put plug ins in different desktops the plug ins disapear when in Mission Control.
Digital Performer allows this, I don't know what it means programming wise? it could be that DP will have to be rewritten to ever get sandboxed plug ins etc.

moonpie
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Live in OS X - Using different desktops possible?

Post by moonpie » Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:19 pm

It works with dual screen on Live 8, but you cant pin them. And only appears if abes is selected.

Post Reply