New To Mac ... Use Core or Bit Audio?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
grpetz
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:39 pm

New To Mac ... Use Core or Bit Audio?

Post by grpetz » Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:36 pm

Ok. New to Mac. Have a new Macbook Pro running OS X 10.10.1 ... What is the difference between Bit and Core Audio? The PDF file of the Tascam US-1800 recommends using Bit Audio when available because it provides the best stability and playback in a DAW. However, I believe I've seen in an Ableton video to use Core Audio? Is one better for lower latency when running VST instruments, AU or FX plugins? Thank you for helping.

Gary

stoersignal
Posts: 500
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: vienna

Re: New To Mac ... Use Core or Bit Audio?

Post by stoersignal » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:00 pm

seriously, i`ve never heared from bit audio1? are you sure you didn`t understood something wrong?

grpetz
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: New To Mac ... Use Core or Bit Audio?

Post by grpetz » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:09 pm

Here is the link to the PDF for OS X 10.9 by Tascam and you will see their suggestion of using Bit Accurate for audio instead of Core Audio. Now I have been using Core Audio, but I was wondering is there really a performance gain here?

excerpt taken from the PDF --

"The Bit Accurate driver allows for the best stability in playback and
recording within a DAW, but Mac applications that were downloaded
from the Mac App Store are not allowed to use this method. For those
applications, you must select the Core Audio version of the product's
device. "

http://tascam.com/content/downloads/pro ... _revb2.pdf

Tarekith
Posts: 17641
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: New To Mac ... Use Core or Bit Audio?

Post by Tarekith » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:11 pm

Wow, first time I've ever heard of this too, interesting.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: New To Mac ... Use Core or Bit Audio?

Post by Stromkraft » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:31 pm

grpetz wrote:
excerpt taken from the PDF --

"The Bit Accurate driver
Please rename the subject to "New To Mac ... Use Core Audio or Bit Accurate Audio?" Misnomers won't give you proper answers.
Make some music!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: New To Mac ... Use Core or Bit Audio?

Post by Stromkraft » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:36 pm

grpetz wrote:What is the difference between Bit and Core Audio?
I'm not sure Tascam tells a clear story on what is different, but why not try with both if you own this interface or test it? The implication that Core Audio isn't "bit accurate" per se is not something I take very serious. But I just read some discussion from september that indicate that the US-1800 gives some issues with CoreAudio.

My expectation would be that latency would be about the same, but only testing will reveal the truth. However, if the US-1800 likes Bit Accurate then why not use it if possible?

That an interface requires a separate audio system to work well is not a sign of trustability in my eyes. I will keep staying away from Tascam as I've done for the last 25 years.
Last edited by Stromkraft on Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Make some music!

grpetz
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: New To Mac ... Use Core Audio or Bit Accurate Audio?

Post by grpetz » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:37 pm

I just didn't know if there was a "big" reason why Tascam suggested it, I will try both and see how it works. Thanks for the answers and sorry for the subject not being clear enough... hey I'm a newbie to Mac but really enjoying it's OS :D

fishmonkey
Posts: 4216
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: New To Mac ... Use Core or Bit Audio?

Post by fishmonkey » Sun Dec 21, 2014 11:05 am

there is what appears to be a credible description of the differences between "Bit Accurate" and Core Audio drivers here:

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/9852296-post27.html
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

Post Reply