CC control for Solo/Cue button.

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
RobertX
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:58 am
Location: SF | CA | EUA

CC control for Solo/Cue button.

Post by RobertX » Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:03 am

Both Solo/Cue and Speaker On are binary controls, but Solo/Cue doesn't have an editable range, while Speaker On does. Any reason for this?

When the fader is at zero I want to disable the track and enable cueing

Image

Sorry for the retina display graphic that destroyed the world.

Image

madlab
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Re: CC control for Solo/Cue button.

Post by madlab » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:07 am

I don't really see the point unless you have multiple assignments and want to reverse some. Nevertheless, I sometimes find that the way the mute and solo buttons work is a pain when you design a remote interface with Lemur for example.
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

RobertX
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:58 am
Location: SF | CA | EUA

Re: CC control for Solo/Cue button.

Post by RobertX » Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:43 am

I must be doing something wrong with routing then.

I have a UA Twin Solo, routing Master Out to stereo 1/2 and cue to virtual output 7/8. When I cue something, the behavior is as you'd expect it, but if the cue is on and the track is enabled it clips the master output by a fair about. If I disable the cued track's channel, cueing behaves exactly the same except there was no clipping.

My idea was to assign Solo/Cue a 0/0 value to enable it with the fader down, and 1/127 for Speaker On so it's enabled for any position other than down. If Cue/Solo had an editable range I would have gotten away with it.

Image

madlab
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Re: CC control for Solo/Cue button.

Post by madlab » Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:00 am

Don't know the Twin solo but as you mention virtual outputs my guess is this is just a virtual port and the signals to 1-2 and 7-8 are sent to the master output, hence the clipping. Maybe you have some setup on the sondcard interface that would make the master and alternate outputs exclusive ?
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

Post Reply